Results 1 - 6 of 6
One of the largest electronic collections of full-text American dramatic literature, from the colonial period to the present. The collection will contain more than 2,000 plays by American dramatists when it is complete. At present, American Drama includes 711 plays by dramatists including Thomas Paine, Edward Hitchcock, and James Lawson, as well as such works as Thomas Godfrey's The Prince of Parthia, the first American play performed on an American stage and George Aiken's stage adaptation of Uncle Tom's Cabin, the most popular stage production of the nineteenth century.
Collection of documentary films and newsreel footage in streaming video format, on topics relating to American history. Search and view complete program transcripts to access relevant clips within a documentary or newsreel. In-class viewing and embedding of video in websites, course management systems (e.g. BlackBoard) or other Emory course-related access points is permitted under Emory's subscription to this database.
Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.
Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:
- Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era
- Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
- Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
- Federal Response to Radicalism
- James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
- Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
- Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
- Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection
- Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848
- Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949
- Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
- East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
Digital archive of the early-20th century magazine, Moving Picture World, which set a standard for the broadest possible coverage of silent film, and reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry.
- Content: 115,972 images
- Source Library: Library of Congress
- Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
Indexes an international selection of journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all aspects of art and design since 1900. Photography is covered since its invention in 1839. Subject coverage includes painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing, performance art, installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, and illustration.
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index can be searched via an Endnote connection file.
Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.