Results 1 - 4 of 4
Defining Gender is a collection of original source materials from British and European archives. Documents from 21 libraries are thematically organized by areas: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body. The documents were selected by 18 academic, consultant editors, who have contributed essays to the area sections, which relate directly to the source material. Manuscripts, printed works, and illustrations address key issues from both feminine and masculine perspectives.
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the world's most influential literary figures. It includes the Gale series:
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook
This database is also cross-searchable with the Gale Literature Criticism Online database.
A complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. Produced by the Dictionary of Old English Project, Centre for Medieval Studies, University of Toronto
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. In combination with the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three dictionaries provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.
The DOE draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.
- DOE font is required to display the pages properly; this can be downloaded here: http://www.doe.utoronto.ca/resources/DOE.ttf