Results 1 - 2 of 2
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. In combination with the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three dictionaries provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.
The DOE draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.
- DOE font is required to display the pages properly; this can be downloaded here: http://www.doe.utoronto.ca/resources/DOE.ttf
Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews. This database reproduces the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut and is equivalent to the annual Archaoligische Bibliographie (Woodruff Library Z5132 .A65). It covers Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion. To enter the database, please check the "with IP acess" box and then click the start button.