Results 1 - 7 of 7
Index of links to online worldwide newspapers.
Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002, available via Proquest Historical Newspapers.
This newspaper collection provides cultural perspective and insight to events that shaped the United States in the twentieth century. From the beginnings of the protest movement to end segregation to the ongoing challenges involving affirmative action and racial profiling. Black Newspapers provide a record of social change spanning almost a century from the perspective of those most affected by racism in American life. Covering major events to everyday life, these titles are invaluable research tools for studying American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and art. This collection includes: includes Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1946-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), & Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Provides searchable full text of pamphlets, the op-ed pieces of their day, from two major collections: Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale; and Civil War Pamphlets 1861-1865. Included are biographies, campaign literature, government documents, journals, presidential addresses, sermons, and speeches. Also provides full text of eight major Northern, Southern, and Border State newspapers from the antebellum period through the end of the Civil War: Richmond Dispatch, Charleston Mercury, New Orleans Times Picayune, Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus [Ohio] State Journal, Kentucky [Louisville] Daily Journal, and Memphis Daily Appeal.
- The Historical Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1939)
- The Historical Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
- The Historical Boston Globe (1872 - 1925)
- The Historical Chicago Defender (1905-1975)
- The Historical Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986)
- The Historical Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1995)
- The Historical Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
- The Historical Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1986)
- The Historical New York Amersterdam News (1922-1933)
- The Historical New York Times (1851 - 2005)
- The Historical Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
- The Historical Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1991)
- The Historical Washington Post (1877 - 1992)
ProQuest Newspapers includes the following:
- Christian Science Monitor (1988-)
- Los Angeles Times (1985-)
- New York Times; Late Edition, East Coast (1999-)
- Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition (1984-)
- The Washington Post (1987-)