All Databases

Results 126 - 150 of 995

  1. Archives Unbound: India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department

    Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation.

    This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound: India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the US State Department, February 1963-1966

    Over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963-1966

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound: Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949

    Digital archive of records from the State Department’s Central Classified Files relating to Indochina, 1945-1949. Documents include State Department correspondence, telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence.

    • Content: 10,715 images
    • Source Library: National Archives (U.S.)
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound: Industrial Mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918

    The standard reference source on the unprecedented industrial mobilization of an entire economy to fight the war of 1914-1918, this 12 volume set has previously only been available in a few select libraries with which the British government deposited copies.

    It is essential for anyone who wants to study the economics behind World War I, the career of David Lloyd George and the process of state intervention in industry. The history of the Ministry of Munitions is one of the most extraordinary and instructive episodes in modern British history. Within less than three years, David Lloyd George and his successors transformed the face of British industry and created the largest government department the county had ever seen. As many as 1,600,000 men and 800,000 women were employed on protected munitions work on behalf of the Ministry. Control was exercised over the iron, steel, chemical, and engineering industries. Over 15,000 firms were engaged on munitions work. A third of them were controlled establishments', giving precedence to government contracts and employing labor on conditions prescribed by the Ministry. More than 200 factories were either nationalized or specially built for munitions work.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1915-1918

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound: Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975

    Primarily Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnam’s political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnam’s military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1967-1975

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound: Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan

    Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan delivers essential and unique documentation to support scholarly research on international politics, history and economics, as well as providing a vivid picture of a country's drift toward war and recovery.

    The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social and economic developments throughout the world. This collection of classified files relating to internal and foreign affairs contains thousands of documents from U.S. diplomats, including: Special reports on political and military affairs Studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters Interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials Court proceedings and other legal documents Full texts of letters, instructions and cables sent and received by U.S. personnel Reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers Translations of high-level foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1949

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound: Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection

    This collection consists of original documents collected by Jewish communist and committed member of the underground resistance David Diamant over a period of approximately 30 years. They primarily deal with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.

    • Content: 1,235 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound: Korea: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963

    This archive documents Korea under Japanese occupation through the postwar period. Japan annexed Korea in 1910, and in the period 1931 to 1945 it ruled Korea by a strict military regime with complete cultural assimilation the order of the day.

    The euphoria following Japan's defeat, and Korea's liberation, in 1945 was short lived as Soviet and American policy makers divided Korea under a joint protectorship. The Korean War, which broke out in 1950, resulted in a strategic stalemate, and the unwillingness of the United Nations to risk a larger conflict with China and perhaps the Soviet Union, ultimately resulted in a 1953 armistice, with Korea divided along roughly prewar lines. Documents from the U.S. Department of State, Division of Far Eastern Affairs, and the U.S. Department of Commerce.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1963

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Korean Studies

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound: La Guerra Civil EspaƱola = The Spanish Civil War Collection

    The Spanish Civil War Collection presents approximately 3,000 rare pamphlets from this tumultuous period, including publications from Spain, Portugal, Latin America and the Philippines, as well as more than 100 German pamphlets published in Spanish.

    Distributed throughout Spain, Germany, Italy, the Soviet Union and North America, these pamphlets represent the opinions and philosophies of the insurgents, anarchists, socialists and communists. They contain a wealth of information on Spanish and international history, ideology, political science, church and state conflicts, nationalism, socialism, fascism and communism.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1939

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History World, Spanish

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound: Laos: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1963-1966

    This archive treats the political affairs of Laos in the 1960s, when the United States supported the government of Souvanna Phouma in the face of North Vietnamese aggression.

    The collection is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam. It offers a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; conference proceedings and international legal documents; full texts of instructions and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; translations of high-level foreign government documents, such as speeches; and memoranda, official reports, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963-1966

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Library and Information Science, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound: Liberia And The US: Nation-Building In Africa 1864-1918

    This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1864-1918

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound: Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949

    This publication comprises two collections, Records Regarding Bank Investigations and Records Relating to Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, from the records of the Office of the Finance Division and Finance Advisor in the Office of Military Government, U.S.

    Zone (Germany) (OMGUS), during the period 1945-1949.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound: Nazism in Poland: The Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank (1939-1945)

    This collection reproduces the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945.

    The journal is in typed format, in chronological order, covering all aspect of Generalgouvernment (GG) administration from its seat in the royal Wawel castle in Krakau (Kraków). The entries reflect careful, thoughtful consideration of administrative matters, rather than the spontaneous thoughts or feelings usually found in a diary. The journal was typed with meticulous care and divided into 38 volumes. Frank’s time away from his official duties in Poland is accounted for but not described in the journal.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1945

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  14. Archives Unbound: Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848 (Journaux de la Revolution de 1848)

    Digital collection of French Revolution newspapers dating from 1848 to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852. Materials in French.

    • Content: 68,151 pages
    • Source Library: The British Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1848-1852

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  15. Archives Unbound: Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration

    This archive is composed of the "Cabinet Conclusion" files from all the debates and transactions for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland, 1921–1972.

    These documents are key to any study of the turbulent history of Britain and Ireland during much of the 20th century. Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921–1972 makes available to researchers the working details of every aspect of local administration in peace and war, as well as covering the re-emergence of the civil strife that was to last for more than 30 years. This unique collection will be an essential addition to the holdings of all libraries supporting international studies, British history and the history of modern Ireland, north and south.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1921-1972

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  16. Archives Unbound: Pakistan from Crown Rule to Republic: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949

    A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949, this collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan. Representative documents with valuable details include the “Economic Survey,” dated April-June 1949, and issued by the Board of Economic Inquiry, West Punjab, Lahore, and “Dacca Newsletter,” dated July 1949.

    The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  17. Archives Unbound: Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939

    The Nationalist-Communist turmoil in China provided an easy opportunity for Japan to further its goals in the 1930s. Japan saw Manchuria as a limitless supply of raw materials, a market for her manufactured goods (now excluded from many Western countries by Depression era tariffs), and as a protective buffer state against the Soviet Union in Siberia.

    Japan invaded Manchuria outright after the Mukden Incident in September 1931. After five months of fighting, the puppet state of Manchukuo was established in 1932, with the last emperor of China, Pu Yi, installed as a puppet ruler. Militarily too weak to directly challenge Japan, China appealed to the League of Nations for help. The League's investigation was published as the Lytton Report, condemning Japan for its incursion into Manchuria, and causing Japan to withdraw from the League of Nations entirely. Appeasement being the predominant policy of the day, no country was willing to take action against Japan beyond tepid censure. The records included in Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department are primarily instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials, often accompanied by enclosures.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1939

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  18. Archives Unbound: Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project

    Digital collection of newsletters, magazines, newspapers, letters and other assorted literature published by Rastafari organizations between 1971 and 2014.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1971-2014

    Subjects: African American Studies

    Expand
  19. Archives Unbound: Records of the Far Eastern Commission, 1945-1952

    All the activities of the multinational Far Eastern Commission (FEC), which oversaw the postwar governing and reconstruction of Japan, are fully documented in this publication.

    The collection includes two distinct sets of records: The first set contains the FEC's official policy statements, or action plans. The commission released statements on practically every aspect of the occupation, ranging from Japan's post-surrender policy to all facets of that country's economic development. The second set contains primary materials upon which policy statements were formulated and includes: reports, photographs, clippings, and position papers for investigation of the economic and political reconstruction of Japan, and the interactions of powerful nations with very different objectives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1952

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  20. Archives Unbound: SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries Hosting (1944-1945)

    SAFEHAVEN was the code name of a project of the Foreign Economic Administration, in cooperation with the State Department and the military services, to block the flow of German capital across neutral boundaries and to identify and observe all German overseas investments.

    During and after World War II the United States Government expended considerable resources on the looted art issue partly through the SAFEHAVEN Programme which aimed to identify, recover, and restitute Nazi looted assets. It was believed that upwards 20% of the art of Europe was looted by the Nazis. The archive records the interest of many people, as well as foreign governments, to know what happened to the assets Holocaust victims placed on deposit in Swiss banks and what happened to all the gold that the Nazis had looted from the central banks of Europe. It provides a full account of the role played during the war by the United States Government in their dealings with the Nazi looted assets.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1944-1945

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  21. Archives Unbound: South Vietnam: Records of the Office of the Defense Attache, 1973-1975

    The Defense Attaché Office (DAO) Saigon was organized and was activated on 28 January 1973. DAO Saigon was a unique organization. It performed the traditional functions of a defense attaché, managed American military affairs in Vietnam after the cease-fire, including the programs for the support of the Republic of Vietnam’s Armed Forces (RVNAF), and furnished housekeeping support to Americans remaining in Vietnam after the ceasefire.

    Aside from the support of the RVNAF, it reported on operational matters and produced intelligence information on which subsequent decisions concerning the Military Assistance Program and American interests in Southeast Asia could be based. The DAO was evacuated from South Vietnam during the fall of Saigon on April 29, 1975. This collection comprises the DAO’s Historian’s Office files, including the official DAO History and the background files used in its compilation. The background files consist of serial reports, program memoranda and correspondence, operational and planning historical reports, intelligence summaries, briefing papers, press releases, and documents on the ceasefire.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1973-1975

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Linguistics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  22. Archives Unbound: State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Japan (1941-1947)

    This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

    The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on Japan.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1947

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  23. Archives Unbound: State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Korea (1941-1947)

    This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

    The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on China.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1947

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  24. Archives Unbound: Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963

    The records in this collection cover the internal and foreign policies, personalities, and events in a pivotal period of Indonesian history. The charismatic leader of Indonesia, Achmed Sukarno, steered his country between the political machinations of the Army Staff and the Indonesian Communist Party (PKI).

    These records consist of essential memoranda, correspondence, telegrams, memoranda of conversations, reports, and news articles and cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Indonesia, Indonesian internal affairs, and Indonesia’s relations with its neighbors.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1960-1963

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Medicine, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  25. Archives Unbound: The Dublin Castle Records 1798-1926

    The Dublin Castle administration in Ireland was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule, from the twelfth century until 1922, based at Dublin Castle.

    Dublin Castle Records, 1798-1926 contains records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922, a crucial period which saw the rise of Parnell and the Land War in 1880 through to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1921. This collection comprises materials from Series CO 904, The National Archives, Kew, UK.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1798-1926

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand