Database Results for Your Selections

Results 76 - 100 of 131

  1. Apartheid South Africa

    Apartheid South Africa (ASA) makes available British government files from the National Archives at Kew from the Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period between 1948 and 1966.

    The scope of the file begins with the implementation of apartheid by South Africa’s National Party in 1948. Some of the materials here were previously restricted.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1948-1966

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  2. Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

    ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering journals in health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

    Currently covers over 500 journals from 16 countries.

    • Coverage: 1987-present

    Subjects: Education, Economics, Psychology, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  3. Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew)

    The Adam Matthew Archvie Explorer Cross-searches over 35 Adam Matthew primary source databases. These multiple resources concentrate on English language archival material from the UK and the USA.

    See also these individually listed databases: American West, China: Culture and Society, China: Trade, Politics and Culture, Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966, Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Defining Gender, Eighteenth Century Journals I- V, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America, First World War, Foreign Office Files for China I-III, Foreign Office Files India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 , Global Commodities, India, Raj and Empire, Jewish Life in America, Literary, Manuscripts (Berg), Literary Manuscripts (Leeds), London Low Life, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Mass Observation Online, Medieval Family Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Meiji Japan, Perdita Manuscripts, Rock And Roll, Romanticism, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, The Grand Tour, The Nixon Years, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture, Virginia Company Archives, Women in The National Archives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1580-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  4. Archive of Americana

    Includes  Portal for searching across historical collections from Readex such as America’s Historical Imprints, America’s Historical Newspapers and African American Periodicals.

    • Coverage: 18th, 19th, 20th centuries

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  5. ArchiveGrid

    A research tool that replaces and augments RLG's Archival Resources database. ArchiveGrid attempts to provide a single point of entry to worldwide archival holdings.

    Scholars can search for and view archival and manuscript collection descriptions, locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US

    Expand
  6. Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: Part 1: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940

    Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity, Part 1: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world.

    Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1940-

    Subjects: Law, LGBT Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.

    Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    • Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era
    • Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
    • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
    • Federal Response to Radicalism
    • James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
    • Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
    • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
    • Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection
    • Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848
    • Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949
    • Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
    • East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
    Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound, "Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era

    Digital archive of the early-20th century magazine, Moving Picture World, which set a standard for the broadest possible coverage of silent film, and reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry.

    • Content: 115,972 images
    • Source Library: Library of Congress
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1907-1927

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound, Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63

    Digital archive of formerly classified documents from the U.S. State Department relating to Czechoslovakia. Records include reports on politics and military affairs, statistics, interviews and minutes of meetings, court proceedings, US diplomatic cables, translations of high-level foreign government documents, journals and newspapers.

    • Content: 52,359 pages
    • Source Library: U.S. National Archives
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1963

    Subjects: Government Information, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound, East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950 - 1963

    Digital archive of the records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of East Germany. Documents within the collection provide an in-depth look into the creation of the East German state, living conditions, and its people

    • Content: 34,479 images
    • Source Library: National Archives II, College Park, MD
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1950-1963

    Subjects: Government Information, History US, History World

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound, Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1935-1910

    Digital archive consisting of Board of Foreign Missions records of the Presbyterian Church. The majority of the material consists of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.

    Other primary sources include diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale, and field accounts.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1835-1910

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  14. Archives Unbound, Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s, 1956-1971

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on the following radical groups and their movements to change American government and society: COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI, Abbie Hoffman, Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Muslim Mosque, Inc., Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference

    • Content: 87,391 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1956-1971

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  15. Archives Unbound, Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on African American groups including A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, Cointelpro/Black Nationalist Hate Groups, Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, Highlander Folk School, Ku Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Moorish Science Temple of America, Murder of Lemuel Penn, Muslim Mosque, Inc., NAACP, National Negro Congress, Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, Thurgood Marshall, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey.

    • Content: 88,021 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1920-1984

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  16. Archives Unbound, Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration

    Digital archive of subject files from the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) organized in London in 1938 to assist in the resettlement of refugees from Europe.

    • Content: 30,100 images
    • Source Library: U.S. National Archives
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1938-1947

    Subjects: Ethnic Studies, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  17. Archives Unbound, James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi, 1961-1962

    Digital archive of Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) documentation on James Meredith’s battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Other notable primary sources include Meredith’s correspondence with the NAACP, and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.

    • Content: 8,792 pages
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961-1962

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  18. Archives Unbound: Cambodia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963

    This collection provides a window into the political, social, and economic development of Cambodia, the rapidly maturing “modern” state in the heart of Southeast Asia.

    Traced here is the critical legacy of Prince Norodom Sihanouk (1922-2012), the nation’s controversial and paradoxical leader. Khmer nationalism, loyalty to the monarch, struggle against injustice and corruption, and protection of the Buddhist religion were in the forefront of developments in this period. The archive is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam. The files are arranged according to the classification system of U.S. State Department Records, and they cover a wide range of internal political affairs.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1960-1963
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  19. Archives Unbound: European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929

    German Colonial aspirations in Asia and the Pacific ended with the start of the First World War. Japanese Army forces seized German leased territories in China and the Japanese naval forces occupied the German Pacific colonies.

    The Treaty of Versailles legitimized Japan's aggression and the territories were officially mandated to the Japanese government. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the Japanese mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1929
    • New

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  20. Archives Unbound: German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941

    This collection comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education.

    Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah's Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons. Also included are history, pseudo-history, and fiction.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1909-1941

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  21. Archives Unbound: India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department

    Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation.

    This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  22. Archives Unbound: India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the US State Department, February 1963-1966

    Over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963-1966
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  23. Archives Unbound: Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949

    Digital archive of records from the State Department’s Central Classified Files relating to Indochina, 1945-1949. Documents include State Department correspondence, telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence.

    • Content: 10,715 images
    • Source Library: National Archives (U.S.)
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  24. Archives Unbound: Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975

    Primarily Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnam’s political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnam’s military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1967-1975
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  25. Archives Unbound: Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection

    This collection consists of original documents collected by Jewish communist and committed member of the underground resistance David Diamant over a period of approximately 30 years. They primarily deal with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.

    • Content: 1,235 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand