Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 36

  1. Archives Unbound, Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)

    Digital collection of documents pertaining to Muhammad Ahmad (Max Sanford) and the Revolutionary Action Movement, a black nationalist group in operation in the mid-1960s.

    The collection contains letters, speeches, and financial records from Ahmad's personal archive, as well as FBI files and other related material.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1962-1999
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound, Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation

    Digital collection of materials that document a broad range of civil rights issues during the George H. W. Bush Administration. The collection includes memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, news summaries, draft legislation, and statements of administration policy from various White House staff offices and White House central correspondence files.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1989-1991 (small amount of materials from 1981-1989)
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound, Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman

    Digital collection of correspondence, financial records, photographs, news clippings, and other records that document the life of civil rights activist Fanny Lou Hamer (1917-1977).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1966-1978
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound, FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC

    Digital collection of FBI files related to civil rights activist James Forman (1928-2005) and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961-1976
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound, Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress

    Digital collection of the papers of the Civil Rights Congress (CRC), a civil rights organization formed in 1946 by a merger of the International Labor Defense and the National Federation of Constitutional Liberties.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1946-1955
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound, Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945

    Digital collection of materials related to civil rights issues from President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Official File. Topics covered include lynching, segregation, race riots, and employment discrimination.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1933-1945
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound, Grassroots Civil Rights & Social Activism: FBI Files on Benjamin J. Davis, Jr.

    Digital collection of FBI Files pertaining to Benjamin J. Davis (1903-1964), an influential African American member of the Communist Party.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1990
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound, Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis and the Communist Workers Party

    Digital collection of documents related to the 1979 "Greensboro Massacre." Materials include files from the FBI, local and state police, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, and the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1979-1981
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound, Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963

    Digital collection of documents related to the integration of the University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa. Materials primarily consist of records from the Department of the Army regarding the confrontation between the Governor of Alabama and the President of the United States, which resulted the federalization of the Alabama National Guard.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound, Liberation Movement in Africa and African America

    Digitized FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and the All African People’s Revolutionary Party.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1970-1985
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound, Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement

    Digital collection of documents related to African American writer Amiri Baraka. Materials include rare works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, over one hundred articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, a small amount of personal correspondence, and oral histories.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1913-1998
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound, Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979

    Digital collection of the records of the United Domestic Workers Union of Atlanta, Georgia, from 1965-1979.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1965-1979
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound, Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement

    Transcriptions of nearly 700 oral histories from the Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection. Topics covered include voting rights, discrimination in housing, school desegregation, racism in hiring, police brutality, and poverty in African American communities.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1967-1973
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  14. Archives Unbound, Republic of New Afrika

    Digital collection of FBI documents related to the Republic of New Afrika (RNA). The RNA was a social movement organization that advocated for the creation of an African American majority country in the southeastern United States, argued that the federal government pay reparations to African American descendants of slaves, and demanded a referendum of all African Americans to allow them to decide their citizenry.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1968-1980
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  15. Archives Unbound, Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party: Papers of James and Esther Cooper Jackson

    Digital collection of the papers of African American communists and civil rights activists James and Esther Cooper Jackson. The collection includes biographical material, correspondence, lectures, notebooks, speeches, and subject files pertaining to the Communist Party and the Southern Negro Youth Congress.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1932-2000
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  16. Archives Unbound: Allied Propaganda in World War II and the British Political Warfare Executive

    This collection presents the complete files of the Political Warfare Executive (PWE) kept at the U.K. National Archives as FO 898 from its instigation to closure in 1946, along with the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee "Breaking the German Will to Resist.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1946
    • New

    Subjects: History World

    Expand
  17. Archives Unbound: Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle

    Digitized collection of FBI surveillance and informant reports, correspondence, news clippings and Justice Department memoranda related to the Black Liberation Army, an underground, black-nationalist organization in operation between 1970 and 1981.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1970-1983
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  18. Archives Unbound: European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930

    The Dutch East Indies experienced the replacement of company rule by Dutch government rule and the complete transformation of Java into a colonial society and the successful extension of colonial rule to Sumatra and the eastern archipelago during the early 20th century.

    The boundaries of the modern state of Indonesia were defined during this time and the process of generally exploitative political, military, and economic integration began. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1930
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  19. Archives Unbound: Industrial Mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918

    The standard reference source on the unprecedented industrial mobilization of an entire economy to fight the war of 1914-1918, this 12 volume set has previously only been available in a few select libraries with which the British government deposited copies.

    It is essential for anyone who wants to study the economics behind World War I, the career of David Lloyd George and the process of state intervention in industry. The history of the Ministry of Munitions is one of the most extraordinary and instructive episodes in modern British history. Within less than three years, David Lloyd George and his successors transformed the face of British industry and created the largest government department the county had ever seen. As many as 1,600,000 men and 800,000 women were employed on protected munitions work on behalf of the Ministry. Control was exercised over the iron, steel, chemical, and engineering industries. Over 15,000 firms were engaged on munitions work. A third of them were controlled establishments', giving precedence to government contracts and employing labor on conditions prescribed by the Ministry. More than 200 factories were either nationalized or specially built for munitions work.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1915-1918
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  20. Archives Unbound: Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan

    Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan delivers essential and unique documentation to support scholarly research on international politics, history and economics, as well as providing a vivid picture of a country's drift toward war and recovery.

    The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social and economic developments throughout the world. This collection of classified files relating to internal and foreign affairs contains thousands of documents from U.S. diplomats, including: Special reports on political and military affairs Studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters Interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials Court proceedings and other legal documents Full texts of letters, instructions and cables sent and received by U.S. personnel Reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers Translations of high-level foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1949
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  21. Archives Unbound: Korea: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963

    This archive documents Korea under Japanese occupation through the postwar period. Japan annexed Korea in 1910, and in the period 1931 to 1945 it ruled Korea by a strict military regime with complete cultural assimilation the order of the day.

    The euphoria following Japan's defeat, and Korea's liberation, in 1945 was short lived as Soviet and American policy makers divided Korea under a joint protectorship. The Korean War, which broke out in 1950, resulted in a strategic stalemate, and the unwillingness of the United Nations to risk a larger conflict with China and perhaps the Soviet Union, ultimately resulted in a 1953 armistice, with Korea divided along roughly prewar lines. Documents from the U.S. Department of State, Division of Far Eastern Affairs, and the U.S. Department of Commerce.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1963
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Korean Studies

    Expand
  22. Archives Unbound: Liberia And The US: Nation-Building In Africa 1864-1918

    This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1864-1918
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  23. Archives Unbound: Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949

    This publication comprises two collections, Records Regarding Bank Investigations and Records Relating to Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, from the records of the Office of the Finance Division and Finance Advisor in the Office of Military Government, U.S.

    Zone (Germany) (OMGUS), during the period 1945-1949.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  24. Archives Unbound: Nazism in Poland: The Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank (1939-1945)

    This collection reproduces the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945.

    The journal is in typed format, in chronological order, covering all aspect of Generalgouvernment (GG) administration from its seat in the royal Wawel castle in Krakau (Kraków). The entries reflect careful, thoughtful consideration of administrative matters, rather than the spontaneous thoughts or feelings usually found in a diary. The journal was typed with meticulous care and divided into 38 volumes. Frank’s time away from his official duties in Poland is accounted for but not described in the journal.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1945
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  25. Archives Unbound: Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration

    This archive is composed of the "Cabinet Conclusion" files from all the debates and transactions for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland, 1921–1972.

    These documents are key to any study of the turbulent history of Britain and Ireland during much of the 20th century. Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921–1972 makes available to researchers the working details of every aspect of local administration in peace and war, as well as covering the re-emergence of the civil strife that was to last for more than 30 years. This unique collection will be an essential addition to the holdings of all libraries supporting international studies, British history and the history of modern Ireland, north and south.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1921-1972
    • New

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand