Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 3 of 3

  1. Academic Conferences in China in Humanities and Social Sciences

    ACIC includes academic papers (in Chinese or English) from national and international conferences held in China since 1985. As of Feb. 2014, there are over 2.40 million records in the database, including about 250,000 full-text conference papers in humanities and social sciences in either Chinese or English.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1985-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound: Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939

    The Nationalist-Communist turmoil in China provided an easy opportunity for Japan to further its goals in the 1930s. Japan saw Manchuria as a limitless supply of raw materials, a market for her manufactured goods (now excluded from many Western countries by Depression era tariffs), and as a protective buffer state against the Soviet Union in Siberia.

    Japan invaded Manchuria outright after the Mukden Incident in September 1931. After five months of fighting, the puppet state of Manchukuo was established in 1932, with the last emperor of China, Pu Yi, installed as a puppet ruler. Militarily too weak to directly challenge Japan, China appealed to the League of Nations for help. The League's investigation was published as the Lytton Report, condemning Japan for its incursion into Manchuria, and causing Japan to withdraw from the League of Nations entirely. Appeasement being the predominant policy of the day, no country was willing to take action against Japan beyond tepid censure. The records included in Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department are primarily instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials, often accompanied by enclosures.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1939

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound: State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Korea (1941-1947)

    This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

    The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on China.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1947

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand