Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 11 of 11
Provides in-depth coverage of the Colonial Period, the French & Indian War, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, African-American History, Industrial Revolution, and Genealogy from 18th & 19th Century Newspapers.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.Expand
These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Biographical information, including photographs and illustrations. AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.Expand
The majority of the content comes from Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. However, newly uncovered dictionaries, other reference sources, obituary files, slave narrative collections, internet sites, etc. will be added as the database expands. Maximum of 4 simultaneous users allowed.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Ethnic Studies, History US, Biographies
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.Expand
Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, postcards, maps and ephemera.
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Ethnic Studies, History US
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, they include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.The collection is based upon James P.Expand
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, they include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
The collection is based upon James P. Danky’s African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998). It is cross-searchable with other databases in Readex’s Archive of Americana, including African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
Subjects: African American Studies, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 is being created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.Expand
Full-text access to these newspapers provide primary sources material about life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more.
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources
Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies
Indexes journals, book reviews, and dissertations for American history and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.ExpandEBSCO
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, Jewish Studies, LGBT Studies
Digital archive of subject files from the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) organized in London in 1938 to assist in the resettlement of refugees from Europe.Expand
- Content: 30,100 images
- Source Library: U.S. National Archives
- Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
Subjects: Ethnic Studies, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.Expand
Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index can be searched via an Endnote connection file.
Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.
Subjects: Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Dance, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy
The Auburn Avenue Research Library Finding Aids database consists of guides to archival and manuscript collections held by the Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History, a special library of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System.Expand
The library's primary source materials document the experiences of African-Americans in Atlanta, the Southeastern region, and throughout the nation.
Subjects: African American Studies, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies