Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 5 of 5

  1. Archives Unbound: European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929

    German Colonial aspirations in Asia and the Pacific ended with the start of the First World War. Japanese Army forces seized German leased territories in China and the Japanese naval forces occupied the German Pacific colonies.

    The Treaty of Versailles legitimized Japan's aggression and the territories were officially mandated to the Japanese government. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the Japanese mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1929

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound: Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan

    Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan delivers essential and unique documentation to support scholarly research on international politics, history and economics, as well as providing a vivid picture of a country's drift toward war and recovery.

    The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social and economic developments throughout the world. This collection of classified files relating to internal and foreign affairs contains thousands of documents from U.S. diplomats, including: Special reports on political and military affairs Studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters Interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials Court proceedings and other legal documents Full texts of letters, instructions and cables sent and received by U.S. personnel Reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers Translations of high-level foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1949

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound: Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939

    The Nationalist-Communist turmoil in China provided an easy opportunity for Japan to further its goals in the 1930s. Japan saw Manchuria as a limitless supply of raw materials, a market for her manufactured goods (now excluded from many Western countries by Depression era tariffs), and as a protective buffer state against the Soviet Union in Siberia.

    Japan invaded Manchuria outright after the Mukden Incident in September 1931. After five months of fighting, the puppet state of Manchukuo was established in 1932, with the last emperor of China, Pu Yi, installed as a puppet ruler. Militarily too weak to directly challenge Japan, China appealed to the League of Nations for help. The League's investigation was published as the Lytton Report, condemning Japan for its incursion into Manchuria, and causing Japan to withdraw from the League of Nations entirely. Appeasement being the predominant policy of the day, no country was willing to take action against Japan beyond tepid censure. The records included in Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department are primarily instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials, often accompanied by enclosures.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1939

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound: Records of the Far Eastern Commission, 1945-1952

    All the activities of the multinational Far Eastern Commission (FEC), which oversaw the postwar governing and reconstruction of Japan, are fully documented in this publication.

    The collection includes two distinct sets of records: The first set contains the FEC's official policy statements, or action plans. The commission released statements on practically every aspect of the occupation, ranging from Japan's post-surrender policy to all facets of that country's economic development. The second set contains primary materials upon which policy statements were formulated and includes: reports, photographs, clippings, and position papers for investigation of the economic and political reconstruction of Japan, and the interactions of powerful nations with very different objectives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1952

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound: State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Japan (1941-1947)

    This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

    The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on Japan.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1947

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand