- Your selections:
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 25 of 50
Bank of English
The Bank of English is a collection of samples of modern English held on computer for analysis of words, meanings, grammar and usage. In linguistics and lexicography such a collection is termed a corpus.A subcorpus of 56 million words from the Bank of English is available to Emory users.Expand
The Bank of English is a collection of samples of modern English held on computer for analysis of words, meanings, grammar and usage. In linguistics and lexicography such a collection is termed a corpus.
A subcorpus of 56 million words from the Bank of English is available to Emory users. In the Woodruff Library, log on to one of the InfoCommons workstations, then go to Start then Programs and select "Non-Web Databases". Select "Bank of English" from the titles listed and the program will launch. Our license limits us to 15 simultaneous users.An online guide to searching the database is available at: http://www.titania.bham.ac.uk/docs/svenguide.html
Subjects: English and American Literature
The Bar Ilan Responsa Project includes numerous works from the Responsa Literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations.Expand
In addition, the database includes the Bible, the Talmud and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; major codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc… Also includes Entsiklopedyah Talmudit. The Online version has a variety of features and advanced search options.10 simultaneous users
Subjects: Jewish Studies
The BBC Shakespeare Plays was a landmark project to stage all 37 of Shakespeare's surviving plays for television. Officially known as The BBC Television Shakespeare, it was a joint production of the BBC and Time-Life Television.Expand
The plays were broadcast over seven seasons between 1979 and 1985. For more information on the series, see the British Film Institute's Screenonline . These online streaming versions include closed captioning for the hearing impaired. Adobe Flash video player is required.
Subjects: English and American Literature
BCC Research is a leading information resource producing high-quality market research reports, conferences and newsletters. The reports cut across numerous industries including environment, healthcare, technology, and engineering.BCC's market research reports explore major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations.Expand
Industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology and novel processing methods are at the forefront of the company's expertise.
Subjects: Business, Economics, Science and Technology
Welcome to the web page for The Lewis H. Beck Center for Electronic Collections & Services, a service of the General Libraries at Emory University. From this site we provide access to the many on-line resources available to the Emory Community and beyond through the Beck Center.Expand
Please feel free to browse these pages and learn more about the Beck Center and its services.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases
This database contains 21 different versions of the English Bible. In addition to 13 complete Bibles, there are five texts that comprise New Testaments only, two that contain just the Gospels, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and New Testament.Expand
The text of each edition is given in full,including all original introductions, prefaces, appendices, indices, notes and tables. Significant figures and illustrations from the Renaissance Bibles have also been included.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion
Bible Odyssey brings academic study of the Bible to a non-technical audience. The contents of the site are based on three categories: people, places, and passages.Expand
Subjects are treated in traditional, peer-reviewed articles, or in other multimedia formats such as videos, images, maps, and timelines.
Subjects: History Ancient -400, Religion
Produced by the Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS), the user-friendly BAS Online Archive was specifically designed for educational institutions for both students and scholars.Expand
The Archive contains not only the editorial content of each issue of Biblical Archaeology Review (1975-2003), Bible Review (1985-2003) and Archaeology Odyssey (1998-2003), but also five books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS): Ancient Israel: From Abraham to the Roman Destruction of the Temple; Aspects of Monotheism: How God is One; Feminist Approaches to the Bible; The Rise of Ancient Israel and The Search for Jesus: Modern Scholarship Looks at the Gospels.
A resource for scholars of Spanish literature, Bibliografía de la Literatura Española is a comprehensive bibliography of all related documentation published in any language.Expand
It covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material.
The collection provides bibliographic information on a wide range of subject areas: literary theory, literary genres, popular literature, Hispanism, bibliographies, and authors. The database features not only editions of their works, but also translated editions and critical studies.4 simultaneous uses; walk-in users allowed
Subjects: Comparative Literature, Spanish
The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BMC) is a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften).Expand
It is designed to serve as a complement to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), which covers primarily periodical and journal articles. In fact, BCM and IMB are fully integrated with each other. BCM coverage goes as far back as the 1958 year of publication.Walk-in users: OK; 3 simultaneous users
Subjects: Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Philosophy, Religion
Recognized as one of the greatest achievements of twentieth-century scholarship, the Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930.Expand
More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US
The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.Expand
The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Chinese Studies, Ethnic Studies, History World, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies, South Asian Studies
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.Expand
It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. As well as providing details of publications, the Bibliography provides links to online catalogues to help you find the items that it lists in research libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA, and it provides links to online text where available. Walk in users allowed; Unlimited simultaneous users.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Theater Studies
Index of published literature about native peoples of North America, including books, journal literature, conference papers, and U.S. & Canadian government documents.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, American Indian Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US
Blurb: The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha.Expand
These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For any materials from 2008 forward, please search Proquest's International Bibliography of Art. BHA's focus is European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.
Subjects: Art and Architecture
A reference database for Latin literature from the Roman Republic through the Imperial Period to Late Antiquity. BTL provides online access to Teubner's Latin text editions and includes the complete texts (other than the prefaces or critical apparatus) works spread over eight centuries (c.Expand
300 B.C.E. to c. 800 A.D./C.E.), from Plautus to Martianus Capella.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.Expand
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Biographies
A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications.Expand
In-depth profiles, thumbnail sketches, and full-text journal articles are included.
Subjects: History US, History World, Biographies, Reference Sources
Includes Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, Current Biography, the Junior Authors & Illustrators Series, the Wilson biographical series on world artists, authors, composers, nobel prize winners, songwriters, musicians, film directors, american reformers.Expand
In addition to this list, Biography Reference Bank contains links to every article on any individual full text articles, abstracts, book review excerpts, and more from the periodicals covered by H.W. Wilson databases.
Subjects: History US, History World, Biographies
Publishes peer-reviewed scientific journals rapidly and makes them freely available online. Includes biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genetics, genomics, medicine, microbiology, nursing, and public health.Expand
Emory's institutional subscription allows authors to publish free of charge in BioMed Central journals. Authors who publish with BioMed Central retain copyright over their work.
Subjects: Anthropology, Medicine, Biological Sciences
Indexes full-text scholarly journals in the fields of biological, ecological and environmental science, and combines contemporary biological articles with scientific news of interest to researchers.Expand
Coverage extends from 2000 through the present. Coverage primarily includes journals from small, independent publishers.
Subjects: Biological Sciences
Encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research. This includes biology, botany, zoology, microbiology, veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering.Expand
Indexes journal articles, technical reports, meetings, reviews, and books.1989 to present
Subjects: Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Health, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Science and Technology
A comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the United States and Canada.Expand
Includes image, video, and sound galleries of behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and songs/calls selected from Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds. An online project of the Cornell University Lab of Ornithology.
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Psychology
Black Drama contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.Expand
Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. When completed, the database will have over 1,200 plays.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies
Indexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States. Black Studies Center includes the online index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a microfiche collection.ExpandIndexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States. Black Studies Center includes the online index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a microfiche collection. This index allows users to search bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. Many of the works were published in black newspapers, and citations from The Chicago Defender are linked to the full-text page article.
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies