- Your selections:
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 26 - 48 of 48
Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper.Expand
The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Black Studies on Disc (Index to Black Periodicals)
Indexes scholarly and popular periodicals in African American studies. Black Studies on Disc also includes provides access to the cumulative catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.Expand
The Schomburg catalog contains references for African American, African, and African Diasporan studies. The Index to Black Periodicals is available in print. (Woodruff Library Reference AI3 .O4).
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies
Black Thought and Culture is a collection of published and unpublished non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, veterans, and other figures.Expand
Highlights include a unique collection of Black Panther oral histories, a full run of Artist and Influence (Billops-Hatch), and interviews from artists ranging from Romare Bearden to Dizzy Gillespie.
Subjects: African American Studies
Scholarly books in the sciences, social sciences and humanities, including edited books and Annual Reviews, are now indexed in Web of Science via Book Citation Index.Expand
Authors can see who’s citing their work and researchers can see what other literature is being referenced potential collaborators. Fully indexes editorially selected books in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Access Book Citation Index by going to Web of Science and choose Book Citation Index under search limits.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Science and Technology
Book Collection: Nonfiction is a cross-curricular research database that contains abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,800 popular nonfiction books for youth on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills, and more.Expand
It provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers such as Allosaurus Publishers, Bess Press, Inc., Branden Publishing, Capstone Press, Compass Point Books, Fulcrum Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds, Inc., Morning Glory Press, Oliver Press, Rourke Publishing, LLC and Stackpole Books.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases
Book Review Digest Plus has select full text with entries drawn from over 8,000 periodicals covered by other Wilson databases. With coverage back to 1983, Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews.Expand
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Book Reviews
Books in Print is a bibliographic database with more than 5 million in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, book, audio book, and video titles. Some titles also include reviews.Expand
Also included is complete publisher information including contacts with addresses on over 200,000 publishers, distributors, and wholesalers.
Subjects: Library and Information Science, Book Reviews, Reference Sources
Full text, references, updates, and graphics from sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.Expand
Subjects: Nursing, Medicine
Coverage: 1872-1901; when complete, will cover 1872-1922 (Use LexisNexis Academic for recent years of the Boston Globe) Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Boston newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue.Expand
Coverage: 1872-1901; when complete, will cover 1872-1922 (Use LexisNexis Academic for recent years of the Boston Globe)
Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Boston newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue. Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually; when complete, the database will cover 1872-1922.
Subjects: History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources
The online archive includes around 2,750 pamphlets, from the Oliveira Lima Library housed at Catholic University. Most of the pamphlets relate specifically to Brazil.Expand
Significant coverage is given to history, politics and literature. Additional content covers social and economic conditions, agriculture and trade, travel and immigration, law and diplomacy, religion, women's rights, medicine, public health, foreign and international relations, geography, Pan-Americanism, positivism, the First World War, the Portuguese and Spanish empires, and more. More than 90% of the pamphlets are in Portuguese, with additional content in English, French, Spanish, German, Italian and Latin. The majority were published in Brazil or Portugal
Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Multi-media reference with over 500 entries on the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of the official institutionalized religions as well as their role in daily life and public discourse.Expand
It helps to map out and define the networks and connections created by various religions in contemporary societies, and provides models for understanding these complex phenomena.
Scholarly interdisciplinary reference work on the religion of Hinduism in its divergent and common forms. Articles are organized thematically in sections and alphabetically within sections.Expand
The index offers an alphabetically organized listing of all topics.
Brill's New Jacoby (BNJ) is a collection of commentary on the fragments of 856 Greek historians whose works have survived only in fragments. BNJ supersedes F. Jacoby's monumental 18 volume, Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker, Parts I-III.Expand
Each author has the Greek text with facing English translation; new, critical commentary; a brief encyclopedia-style entry, and a select bibliography.
Subjects: Classics, Biological Sciences
Full-text articles on all aspects of the ancient world, including persons, places, institutions, events, artifacts, technical terms, ideas and concepts, and interaction between Greek and Roman culture with others (Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, etc.).Expand
Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and black-and white photographs. Brill's New Pauly Online includes the entire text of Metzler's Der Neue Pauly and also all volumes of the English language Brill's New Pauly.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.Expand
Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research. With so much material now being published on the world wide web in either un-reviewed form, or in fee-based services, the IHR has shown its commitment to promoting the study of history by publishing these priceless resources for their historical value, cross-searchable, in one place and free of charge.
Highlights include sources relating to national and local government (excluding Parliament), and the development of British law. Sources relating to the churches, religious houses and other religious groups. Records of commerce and trade, taxation, population and property. Sources relating to art and architecture, science and the history of ideas. Historical and topographical sources relating to specific places. Parliamentary history: Sources relating to proceedings and legislation in the two Houses of Parliament at Westminster and sources for metropolitan London and other urban centres.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-
BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service) aims to aid researchers interested in British Official Publications over the period 1688 -1995 by providing a Web-based bibliographic database (including Parliamentary papers).Expand
The BOPCRIS database enables researchers to search and browse for relevant documents, read abstracts, and view detailed consistent subject indexing of key documents so they can assess whether they need to see the full document. The database also offers digitized full-text versions of a limited number of documents.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-
This archive of digitized microfilm has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonized by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia.Expand
Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources
British Parliamentary Papers Index
Indexes House of Commons Sessional Papers, House of Lords Sessional Papers, and Hansard's Debates.Expand
Subjects: Government Information
British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages.Expand
Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy
This database provides online access to collections on the history of the Atlantic world from the British Archives. It includes materials such as journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers spanning two centuries of Britain's colonial, commercial, missionary and literary relations with Africa and the Americas.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Brockelmann Online consists of both original print volumes of Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes.Expand
It is full-text searchable. The “Brockelmann” has become an indispensible research tool for the Islamic world in general and the Middle East in particular. Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. The multi-volume reference work is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature.
Subjects: Area Studies, Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-
The BuildingGreen Suite of online tools provides information related tosustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality.Expand
The BuildingGreen Suite includes GreenSpec Directory, Environmental Building News newsletter, and the High Performance Buildings Database of green building and LEED case studies. Each article, product listing, and case study is cross-listedamong the suite products and includes related content and information sources.
Subjects: Environmental Sciences
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.Expand
Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.