Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 10 of 10
Bank of English
The Bank of English is a collection of samples of modern English held on computer for analysis of words, meanings, grammar and usage. In linguistics and lexicography such a collection is termed a corpus.A subcorpus of 56 million words from the Bank of English is available to Emory users.Expand
The Bank of English is a collection of samples of modern English held on computer for analysis of words, meanings, grammar and usage. In linguistics and lexicography such a collection is termed a corpus.
A subcorpus of 56 million words from the Bank of English is available to Emory users. In the Woodruff Library, log on to one of the InfoCommons workstations, then go to Start then Programs and select "Non-Web Databases". Select "Bank of English" from the titles listed and the program will launch. Our license limits us to 15 simultaneous users.An online guide to searching the database is available at: http://www.titania.bham.ac.uk/docs/svenguide.html
Subjects: English and American Literature
The BBC Shakespeare Plays was a landmark project to stage all 37 of Shakespeare's surviving plays for television. Officially known as The BBC Television Shakespeare, it was a joint production of the BBC and Time-Life Television.Expand
The plays were broadcast over seven seasons between 1979 and 1985. For more information on the series, see the British Film Institute's Screenonline . These online streaming versions include closed captioning for the hearing impaired. Adobe Flash video player is required.
Subjects: English and American Literature
The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BMC) is a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften).Expand
It is designed to serve as a complement to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), which covers primarily periodical and journal articles. In fact, BCM and IMB are fully integrated with each other. BCM coverage goes as far back as the 1958 year of publication.Walk-in users: OK; 3 simultaneous users
Subjects: Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Philosophy, Religion
Recognized as one of the greatest achievements of twentieth-century scholarship, the Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930.Expand
More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.Expand
It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. As well as providing details of publications, the Bibliography provides links to online catalogues to help you find the items that it lists in research libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA, and it provides links to online text where available. Walk in users allowed; Unlimited simultaneous users.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Theater Studies
Black Drama contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.Expand
Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. When completed, the database will have over 1,200 plays.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies
Indexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States. Black Studies Center includes the online index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a microfiche collection.ExpandIndexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States. Black Studies Center includes the online index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a microfiche collection. This index allows users to search bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. Many of the works were published in black newspapers, and citations from The Chicago Defender are linked to the full-text page article.
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies
This archive of digitized microfilm has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonized by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia.Expand
Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources
British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages.Expand
Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy
The BYU Corpora consist of nine English language corpora (including the Wikipedia Corpus, the TIME Magazine Corpus, and the Corpus of American Soap Operas), one corpus in Spanish, one in Portuguese, and a Google Books (Advanced) interface. The corpora can be used by researchers for several purposes, including: finding the frequency of words and phrases, tracking changes in language over time, and gaining insight into how people write and think about cultural concepts in different contexts. In addition to the corpora themselves, the database offers different corpora-based resources. These allow you to enter and analyze your own text, download large amounts of corpus-based data (e.g.Expand
word frequency, collocates, and n-grams), and see detailed entries for the top 60,000 words in English.Please note that users will need to create an individual account to access the corpora: it is free and takes about 30 seconds to create. Students can run up to 200 queries per day and faculty can run up to 400, so long as they are connected from campus or via proxy IP access. Most importantly, there is no limit to the number of queries run by a given class or department.
Subjects: English and American Literature, Government Information, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Sociology, Spanish, Film and Media Studies