Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 3 of 3

  1. Defining Gender, 1450-1910

    Defining Gender is a collection of original source materials from British and European archives. Documents from 21 libraries are thematically organized by areas: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.

    The documents were selected by 18 academic, consultant editors, who have contributed essays to the area sections, which relate directly to the source material. Manuscripts, printed works, and illustrations address key issues from both feminine and masculine perspectives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1450 - 1910

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, English and American Literature

  2. Dictionary of Renaissance Latin from Prose Sources

    This Lexique de la prose latine de la Renaissance is the first dictionary of Renaissance Latin and continues on from the Dictionnaire latin-français of F.

    Gaffiot. However, it comprises 8500 words, more than 7000 of which are not mentioned by Gaffiot, while others are employed with different meanings.
    It is based upon a reading of a very large number of texts by 150 authors from Western and Central Europe, including Budé, Calvin, Erasmus, Ficino, Lipsius, Luther, Melanchthon, More, Petrarch, Pica della Mirandola, Politian, Valla, Vives, and Zwingli. The compiler has paid particular attention to variety in the source texts, which cover literature, correspondence, history, law, philosophy, theology, and science.

    • Coverage: 1300-1800
    • Trial

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Early Modern 1450-1800

  3. Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker im WWW

    This is the electronic version of a series published in book form since 1981. It includes classics of fiction, poetry, philosophy, history, and literary criticism written by German authors.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Religion, Comparative Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Philosophy, Political Science