Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 15 of 15

  1. Early American Fiction 1789-1850

    A collection of 440 full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1789-1850

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  2. Early American Fiction 1789-1875

    When complete, Early American Fiction 1789-1875 will extend the coverage of the first Early American Fiction collection by twenty-five years (1851-1875) and will incorporate the full text of more than 250 additional titles and over 60 new authors, including Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Herman Melville and Thomas Bailey Aldrich, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.

    Early American Fiction 1789-1875 will include more than 750 works of fiction by more than 130 authors.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1789-1875

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  3. Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)

    The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database is based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B.

    Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Content is being released in monthly segments through July 2007. When complete, the database will provide comprehensive full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.

    • Coverage: 1801-1819

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Government Information, History US

    Expand
  4. Early English Books Online

    From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online (EEBO) will contain over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  5. Early English Prose Fiction

    Contains 211 works in English prose by writers from the British Isles from the period 1500-1700.

    • Coverage: 1518-1700

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  6. Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare

    Eleven major editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1591-1911

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  7. Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO

    Digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, Eighteenth Century Collections Online allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1701-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  8. Eighteenth Century Journals

    This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.

    Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1685-1815

    Subjects: Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  9. Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780)

    96 complete works in English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles. Includes a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, and two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1780

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  10. Electronic Poetry Portal

    Emory's gateway for poetry provides Emory faculty and students with access to major collections of poetry in the English language. The Electronic Poetry Portal is a collaboration of the Beck Center for Electronic Collections, Special Collections, and ITD's Academic Technology Group.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  11. English Drama

    Contains 4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.

    • Coverage: 1280-1915

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  12. English Poetry

    Full text database contains poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from printed sources. While in most cases one version of a poem is given, there are exceptions where significant revisions have been made (Wordsworth's PRELUDE, for example).

    Poems excluded are those published in newspapers or journals only, or never published at all; translations into English after 1800; hymns published after 1800; and verse dramas intended for the stage.

    • Coverage: 600 A.D. - 1900 A.D.

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  13. English Poetry, Second Edition

    Contains more than 183,000 poems, comprising essentially the complete canon of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 printed sources, the collection represents the work of more than 2,700 poets.

    The collection aims to encompass the complete published corpus of all of the poets listed in New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature active between 1100 and 1900. English Poetry, Second Edition also includes poetry written in English during the same period by authors from Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and other parts of the world, together with the work of additional English poets missing from NCBEL.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 600-1999

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  14. English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)

    The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is a vast database designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800.

    • Coverage: 1473 to 1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US

    Expand
  15. Essay and General Literature Index

    Indexes essays and other writings contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on humanities and social sciences literature, including the areas of archaeology, architecture, art, children's literature, classical studies, classics, drama, economics, fiction, film, folklore, gender studies, history, linguistics, literature criticism, music, poetry, political science, popular culture, religion, and women's studies.

    • Coverage: 1985 to present

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand