Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 11 of 11

  1. Eighteenth Century Journals

    This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.

    Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1685-1815

    Subjects: Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  2. EIU Portal

    Access all of Emory's Economist Intelligence Unit databases from a single point: Viewswire, Industrywire, and the Country Reports and Newsletters databases. The Economist Intelligence Unit is the world's leading provider of country intelligence, providing up-to-date, reliable and impartial analysis on worldwide market trends and business strategies.

    A good source of information for current developments and trends in political, social and economic affairs across the world.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Business, Economics, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  3. EIU ViewsWire

    This Economist Intelligence Unit service provides daily highlights of key economic, political and business developments worldwide. In addition to updates to the EIU Country Reports, EIU Viewswire includes summaries of regulatory, trade, industry, and investment analysis.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Business, Economics, News Sources, Political Science, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  4. ELDIS Gateway to Development Information

    Includes research reports, working papers, discussion papers, conference papers, statistics, case studies, policy briefings, etc. related to development that concentrate on information covering countries in the Southern Hemisphere (also includes items on other regions if the information could be applied to Southern-based research).

    The editors select and abstract full-text online documents from more than 4,500 different publishers focusing on materials which are of strategic, policy or practical interest for development practitioners. The database includes country profiles as well as 30 subject-focused guides. All documents are available free of charge.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Development Studies, Political Science, Sociology

    Expand
  5. ELDIS Gateway to Development Information

    Includes research reports, working papers, discussion papers, conference papers, statistics, case studies, policy briefings, etc. related to development that concentrate on information covering countries in the Southern Hemisphere (also includes items on other regions if the information could be applied to Southern-based research).

    The editors select and abstract full-text online documents from more than 4,500 different publishers focusing on materials which are of strategic, policy or practical interest for development practitioners. The database includes country profiles as well as 30 subject-focused guides. All documents are available free of charge.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Development Studies, Political Science, Sociology

    Expand
  6. Empire Online

    Primary sources on colonial history, politics, culture and society from 1492 to the 21st century. Thematically divided into sections covering Cultural Contacts, Literature of Empire, the Visible Empire, Religion, Race, Class and Imperialism.

    Sources include Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations. Indexing by period, by date, by person and subject.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1492-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Religion, Sociology

    Expand
  7. Encyclopaedia Islamica

    This volume of Encyclopaedia Islamica is the first of a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da'irat al-Ma'arif-i Buzurg-i Islami, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.

    One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shi'i Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it off ers the western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shi'i Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilisation, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition. (1-3 simultaneous users)

    1-3 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 7th century to present

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion

    Expand
  8. Encyclopaedia of Islam: Second Edition

    The Encyclopaedia of Islam combines a familiar look with fast and effective research facilities. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the monumental, printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is now easily available on your computer screen.

    Additional search facilities and the Supplement enable the user to efficiently search and combine data from a vast corpus of over 12,000 printed pages— within seconds.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion

    Expand
  9. Encyclopedia of Modern Asia

    Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia.

    Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies

    Expand
  10. Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa

    With nearly 600 new entries and 1,000 updates, this second editon reflects the far-reaching changes the Middle East has undergone in recent years, making it more relevant and necessary than ever before.

    Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government.

    Subjects: Area Studies, Political Science

    Expand
  11. Europa World Plus

    Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on worldwide affairs, and the nine volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series.

    First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Political Science, Statistics and Demography

    Expand