Database Results for Your Selections
Results 26 - 50 of 73
Emory's gateway for poetry provides Emory faculty and students with access to major collections of poetry in the English language. The Electronic Poetry Portal is a collaboration of the Beck Center for Electronic Collections, Special Collections, and ITD's Academic Technology Group.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature
Indexes international biomedical journals covering public health, toxicology, pharmacology, drug research, health policy and management, psychiatry, psychology, biomedical engineering, alternative medicine, and environmental health.Expand
Subjects: Health, Anthropology, Environmental Sciences, Public Health, Biological Sciences
Primary sources on colonial history, politics, culture and society from 1492 to the 21st century. Thematically divided into sections covering Cultural Contacts, Literature of Empire, the Visible Empire, Religion, Race, Class and Imperialism.Expand
Sources include Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations. Indexing by period, by date, by person and subject.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Religion, Sociology
Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol database includes more than 47,000 articles and 8,300 photographs and images. The resource also includes a Spanish-language dictionary with more than 65,000 entries.Expand
Most articles are brief or of moderate length and discuss people, places, institutions, things, or concepts. Longer articles are divided into separate sections for easier access and more accurate searching. Special features include an atlas that focuses on world countries, maps, and statistics; major world cities; and distribution of languages & religions and also a timelines that outline general history plus art and cultural history.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia (articles and illustrations), as well as the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.Expand
Also provided is an Internet Directory of hypertext links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. An additional encyclopedia, Britannica Intermediate, designed for students in upper elementary grades and high school students is provided as well.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources
This volume of Encyclopaedia Islamica is the first of a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da'irat al-Ma'arif-i Buzurg-i Islami, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.Expand
One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shi'i Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it off ers the western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shi'i Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilisation, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition. (1-3 simultaneous users)1-3 simultaneous users
Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion
Contains 26 volumes of the original text of Encyclopaedia Judaica, updated and with hyperlinks, rare films, photographs, slide shows, music, maps, charts, and tables.Expand
Subjects: Ethnic Studies, Jewish Studies
The Encyclopaedia of Islam combines a familiar look with fast and effective research facilities. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the monumental, printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is now easily available on your computer screen.Expand
Additional search facilities and the Supplement enable the user to efficiently search and combine data from a vast corpus of over 12,000 printed pages— within seconds.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics represents a unique collaboration of a few hundred scholars from around the world and covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic).Expand
The EALL Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches to be as objective and versatile as possible. The online edition is cross-searchable, cross-referenced and regularly updated.
Subjects: Area Studies, Classics, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion
This edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set first published in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.Expand
Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.Expand
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.Expand
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics requires installing a Unicode Hebrew font. We highly recommend the Unicode font SBL Hebrew.
Subjects: Jewish Studies, Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture spans prehistoric times to the present, and treats both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. Entries represent an inclusive, cross-disciplinary approach, written by specialists in history, archaeology, anthropology, geography, politics, economics, the Irish and English languages and literatures, the visual arts and other fields.Expand
Subjects: History World
The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion and culture which until now lacked its own cohesive/discrete reference work.Expand
The Encyclopedia aims to fill the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies
The Encyclopedia of Life is a free collaborative online resource that compiles information about all living species known to science. The project was created by the Field Museum, Harvard University, MacArthur Foundation, Marine Biological Laboratory, Missouri Botanical Garden, Sloan Foundation, and the Smithsonian Institution.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, Science and Technology, Biological Sciences
ELS highlights structures, processes, methods, systems and applications across the biological and biomedical sciences with illustrations, further readings, and video clips.Expand
Includes a dictionary and biographies. Subjects covered include biochemistry, cell biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, microbiology, neuroscience, and bioethics.
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry
Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia.Expand
Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally.
Subjects: Area Studies
Covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. There are articles on artists, genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals.Expand
Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Editor: Colin Larkin.
The second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia, intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.Expand
Preserving the best of the first edition's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers.
The Encyclopedia of Religion in America is a multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life. It explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America, including major world religions and emerging sects, cults, and movements that have originated or flourished in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, from the beginning of European settlement to the present.Expand
It includes coverage of religious life among indigenous peoples; specific aspects of religious life; and the relationship of religion to the political, social, economic, and cultural spheres. Topics include: Church-state issues; Environment and ecology; Gay and lesbian issues; Religion and politics; Religious life of African Americans and Latinos; Religious thought; Role of women; Worship.
Subjects: History US, Religion
With nearly 600 new entries and 1,000 updates, this second editon reflects the far-reaching changes the Middle East has undergone in recent years, making it more relevant and necessary than ever before.Expand
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government.
Subjects: Area Studies, Political Science
Encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis, extended with essays on important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies.Expand
Covers methodologies, paradigms and sources; family, law and politics; body, sexuality and health; economics, education, mobility, and space; practices, interpretations, and representations.Expand
Subjects: Womens and Gender Studies
Contains 4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature
Full text database contains poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from printed sources. While in most cases one version of a poem is given, there are exceptions where significant revisions have been made (Wordsworth's PRELUDE, for example).Expand
Poems excluded are those published in newspapers or journals only, or never published at all; translations into English after 1800; hymns published after 1800; and verse dramas intended for the stage.
Subjects: English and American Literature