Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 39

  1. Landolt-Bornstein

    Collection of physical, engineering, and chemical data tables. Includes:

    • Landolt-Börnstein Database
    • Database on Thermophysical Properties (Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, DDBST)
    • Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases
    • Chemical safety data and reports

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Current

    Subjects: Chemistry, Physics

    Expand
  2. LandScan Global Population Databases

    LandScan is a global population database that shows geographical distribution of population at one-kilometer resolution over an average 24 hour period. The LandScan Global Population Databases are developed at the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

    • Coverage: 2000-2011

    Subjects: Area Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  3. Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online

    This collection consists of 971 Latin American anarchist and labor periodicals. The periodicals in this collection have been organized by country. In addition, each series has been subdivided into periodicals with and periodicals without a known (corporate) author.

    The arrangement is alphabetical throughout.

    Some of the major publications included are La Protesta, La Vanguardia and Acción Obrera (Argentina) ; O Exempio. Jornal do Povo and Battaglia (Brazil); the Chilean Voz del Mar (Chile); and Ariete, Redención Obrera, Revolución Social, El Sindical (Mexico).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1880-1940

    Subjects: Latin American and Caribbean Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  4. Latin American Newsstand

    Latin American Newsstand is a full-text database of over 35 leading newspaper titles from Latin America (including Brazil and Puerto Rico). Also included are regional magazines and wire services.

    Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly so that the database is cross-searchable. Citations are available for articles in all the source publications. Abstracts allow researchers to save time by allowing them to identify the complete articles they need. Full-text articles are also instantly accessible for all of the titles.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 2005-

    Subjects: Area Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  5. Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP)

    Provides access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." A project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC).

    Subjects: Latin American and Caribbean Studies

    Expand
  6. Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)

    LAPTOC provides bibliographical citations to journal articles in over 800 periodicals and journals from 29 Latin American and Caribbean countries. Searching is keyword only from the table of contents for author and title and does not include searching by subject headings.

    • Coverage: 1990 to present

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish

    Expand
  7. Latino Literature

    The most comprehensive collection of Latino Literature yet created. When complete it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.

    Although the collection includes materials from the Nineteenth Century, the vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present.

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, Ethnic Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish

    Expand
  8. Latinobarometro

    The Latinobarómetro is an annual survey conducted amongst 18 countries in Latin America. The survey, which has been conducted since 1995, asks respondents about topics such as globalization, democratic governance and political institutions, "social capital," the environment, and gender issues.

    In addition to including standard questions repeated over time, Latinobarómetro surveys also have particular "themes;" the 1996 survey, for instance, focused on trade and investment and politicians, while the 1998 survey focused on social capital and the 2002 survey focused on the merits of democracy and markets.

    The site is available in both Spanish and English. Aggregated/”topline” results from the data are available via the “Online analysis” section of the site. The underlying data files are available via the “Data Bank.” The data are available in SAS, SPSS, and Stata formats. Users are required to accept certain conditions of use prior to downloading of any data files. Please contact Robert O’Reilly (roreill@emory.edu) for assistance with the data files.

    The site is available in both Spanish and English.  Aggregated/”topline” results from the data are available via the “Online analysis” section of the site.  The underlying data files are available via the “Data Bank.”  The data are available in SAS, SPSS, and Stata formats.  Users are required to accept certain conditions of use prior to downloading of any data files.  Please contact Robert O’Reilly (roreill@emory.edu) for assistance with the data files.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1995-present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Political Science, Sociology

    Expand
  9. Le Grand Robert

    Le Robert product line provides users with access to a wealth of invaluable content and indispensable language tools. Le Robert dictionaries offer a wide variety of tools to students, professionals, or just anyone, looking to learn or master the French language and are equally suited to native or non-native French speaking and immersion students.

    Le Robert dictionaries (Le Petit Robert, Le Robert Junior, Le Grand Robert) are available in French only, except for the bilingual dictionary Le Grand Robert & Collins. Annual subscriptions to these on-line versions are available for schools and educational institutions, businesses and public libraries.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language

    Expand
  10. Left Index

    Provides access to the diversity of literature on leftist politics and socio-economic affairs (communism, anarchism, marxism, etc.). Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: 1990 to present

    Subjects: Ethnic Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  11. Legal Collection

    Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 law journals.

    This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1965-

    Subjects: Law

    Expand
  12. Legal Information Institute

    Hosted by Cornell University Law School--contains an enormous amount of legal information, organized in a very straightforward fashion. "Law by Source or Jurisdiction" lets you look for legal information and the federal, state and foreign level.

    You can also search for legal cases on specific topics under the "Law About..." tab.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Law

    Expand
  13. Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)

    Based on materials from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods, LEME is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript.

    The texts of word entries tell us what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period covered by the Short-title and Wing catalogues. Their lexical insights shaped the history of our living tongue. LEME is not a period dictionary, but a source of contemporary testimony that illustrates word usage. LEME is able to utilize many sources that the Oxford English Dictionary, which covers 1500 years, could not include as a result of its necessary selection of the lexical evidence.

    • Coverage: c 1450 - c 1700

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  14. Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA)

    The Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA) is the online version of the print Lexikon des Mittelalters, the standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies, published between 1977-1999.

    It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. This database also includes the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages-Online (IEMA), a supplement to the Lexikon.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE

    Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Jewish Studies, Religion

    Expand
  15. LexisNexis Academic Universe

    Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Business, Current Events, Economics, Education, Georgia, Health, Journalism, Law, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Political Science, Sociology, Environmental Sciences

    Expand
  16. LexisNexis Legal (part of LexisNexis Academic)

    Limited version of the full database--option is on the left side of the screen. Useful information can be located under "Legal News," "International Legal Materials" (source for treaties, UN resolutions, and other key international documents), and "Law Reviews" (which indexes a number of key number of legal journals).

    Most of the indexed articles are relatively recent. For articles going further back, you may wish to visit Hein Online.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Law

    Expand
  17. LexisNexis State Capital

    Provides comprehensive access to state government information, including legislative bills & calendars, regulations & codes, statutes, contact information and more.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Current

    Subjects: Georgia, Political Science, Government Information, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  18. LGBT Life

    LGBT Life with full-text provides indexing and abstractsa for more than 400 magazines, journals, books and news sources, and also provides coverage for gray literature such as case studies and speeches.

    Additionally, LGBT Life includes full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database now offers a comprehensive LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms, along with searchable cited references.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: LGBT Studies, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  19. Librarians' Internet Index

    An organized directory of Internet resources selected and evaluated by librarians. Easy to navigate and search.

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  20. Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)

    LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library and information specialists. Currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.

    • Coverage: 1969-present

    Subjects: Library and Information Science

    Expand
  21. Library Literature and Information Science

    A bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.

    Subjects: Library and Information Science

    Expand
  22. Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT)

    This database is comprised of Latin texts with translations in English, French, German, and Italian, chiefly from these corpora: Corpus Christianorum. Series Latina; Corpus Christianorum.

    Continuatio Medievalis; Corpus Christianorum ecclesiasticorum Latinorum; Patrologiae cursus completus. Series Latina; Patrologiae Latinae supplementum; Sources chrtiennes; S. Bernardi opera omnia; and: Biblia sacra juxta vulgatam versionem

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Classical Antiquity (before 200 C.E./A.D.), Patristic Latin literature (200 to 735), Middle Ages (736 - 1500) and Neo-Latin Literature (1501 - 1962)

    Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Religion

    Expand
  23. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

    Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing.

    LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. With coverage extending back to 1966, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.

    • Coverage: 1966-present

    Subjects: Library and Information Science

    Expand
  24. Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges: A Digital Database

    This online database has two main components: A complete primary bibliography of over 2,800 entries, listing Borges' works. The second indexed secondary bibliography includes articles about Borges, interviews, criticism, and news that appeared in the press.

    Currently there are over 5,000 entries. The user-friendly interface features menus in both English and Spanish. It includes thousands of records with cross-references, allowing the user to navigate among different resources.

    The database includes an encyclopedia with 1,000 entries of the most important subjects about which Borges wrote.

    • Coverage: 1923-present

    Subjects: Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish

    Expand
  25. Linguistic Bibliography Online

    The Linguistic Bibliography Online covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world.

    Up-to-date information is guaranteed by the collaboration of some forty contributing specialists from all over the world. With annually over 20.000 records added, the Linguistic Bibliography remains the standard reference work for every scholar of linguistics.

    The online edition contains all entries of the printed volumes as of 1993 and new records are added on a monthly basis.

    Unlimited users; walk-in users allowed
    • Coverage: 1993 to the present

    Subjects: Linguistics

    Expand