Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 4 of 4
Legacies of British Slave-ownership provides online access to the Encyclopaedia of British Slave-ownership containing information about every slave-owner in the British Caribbean, Mauritius or the Cape at the moment of abolition in 1833.Expand
Entries include information about the activities, affiliations and legacies of these men and women, with a particular emphasis on the "absentee" owners based in Britain.
The records of the Slave Compensation Commission, set up to manage the distribution of the £20 million compensation, provide a more or less complete census of slave-ownership in the British Empire in the 1830s. The individuals named in these records form the starting point of the Encyclopaedia.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Based on materials from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods, LEME is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript.Expand
The texts of word entries tell us what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period covered by the Short-title and Wing catalogues. Their lexical insights shaped the history of our living tongue. LEME is not a period dictionary, but a source of contemporary testimony that illustrates word usage. LEME is able to utilize many sources that the Oxford English Dictionary, which covers 1500 years, could not include as a result of its necessary selection of the lexical evidence.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religion
A selective, annotated guide to essential reference sources for the study of British literature, United States literatures, and other literatures in English. The contents include over 1,000 entries, which reference nearly 1,600 additional books, articles, and electronic resources.Expand
Over 700 reviews are cited.
Subjects: Theater Studies, Spanish, Multidisciplinary Databases, Linguistics, Library and Information Science, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Journalism, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History US, Jewish Studies, French Literature and Language, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature
London Lowlife is a database of materials focusing on street life in Victorian London. The collection includes fast literature, posters, advertising, playbills, ballads, broadsides, penny fiction, cartoons, chapbooks, street cries, Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens as well as tourist guides, maps and the manuscripts of George Gissing.Expand
There is also a complete collection of Tallis’ Street Views of London.Walk in users: OK
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music