Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 3 of 3
The Medieval Family Life database contains the only 5 major letter collections from fifteenth century England, the Paston, Stonor, Cely, Plumpton and Armburgh Papers.Expand
The Paston letters document the life of a gentry family during the War of the Roses. The Celys were a merchant family in the wool trade and collections contains commercial dealings for both the economic and social historians. Plumptons documents continue through to the early 16th century, and Armburgh family material is primarily concerned with a dispute over a family inheritance. It includes both the original medieval manuscripts and transcripts, as well as family trees, a chronology, a glossary, a and an interactive map.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World
This database presents manuscripts of European travel writing dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries culled from libraries around the world. It covers geography, exploration, trade, literature, and the new field of medieval postcolonial studies.Expand
The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East, Asia as well as travel to the Holy Land. The original documents are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English, so supporting secondary texts of translations and editions are included. There is also a gallery of maps and images, a bibliography and chronology, and a slideshow.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Religion
The Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH) is a collection of medieval historical sources (historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature) for the study of Germany, Austria and Switzerland in the Middle Ages.Expand
This database contains all five divisions of the MGH (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates) and is continually expanding with the hope that the entire body of MGH editions will be available digitally by 2016.
Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Archives and Primary Sources