- Your selections:
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 5 of 5
These literary manuscripts include presentation volumes, commonplace books, and volumes of household accounts, which give context for the poetry and are valuable sources for social and cultural history.Expand
The project combines facsimile images of all the manuscripts in their entirety, linked to new indexing and to the powerful BCMSV database (Leeds Verse Database), which lists first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content, bibliographic references, MS and record number for over 6,600 poems within the collection.
Some of the poets represented include Mary Campbell, John Dryden, George Herbert, Mary Leapor, Andrew Marvell, Alexander Pope, Hester Pulter, and Jonathan Swift. This resource also includes a wealth of songs, riddles, and popular tags.Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Womens and Gender Studies
The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.Expand
The collection covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, News Sources
This database consists of full-text national and regional newspapers from Victorian Britain, digitized from the collection of the British Library. It is the sister product to 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1604-1800).Expand
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources
This collection contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. More than 20,000 pamphlets from seven UK institutions provide an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.Expand
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources
This database provides researchers with six rare English-language journals that published in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape.Expand
The journals are Canton Miscellany, Chinese Miscellany, The Chinese and Japanese Repository of Facts and Events in Science, History, and Arts, Relating to Eastern Asia, and Notes and Queries on China and Japan.
Subjects: Economics, Philosophy, Sociology