Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 56

  1. Academic Search Complete

    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

    In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Dates vary. Some content goes as far back as 1865

    Subjects: African American Studies, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, News Sources, Multidisciplinary Databases, History World, LGBT Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, Economics, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Current Events, Dance, Classics, Mathematics, Comparative Literature, Science and Technology, Physics, Book Reviews

    Expand
  2. Access UN

    Provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents, publications, and periodicals. Also indexes bilateral and multilateral treaties in the UN Treaty Series.For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1946-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Political Science, Government Information

    Expand
  3. ACLS Humanities E-Book

    ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

    These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1953-2010

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  4. Africa Bibliography

    Covering mainly the social sciences, humanities, development studies and environmental studies, this database is a compilation based on the annual Africa Bibliography, one of the most important and extensive bibliographic resources for Africa (entire continent).

    It includes articles, books, book chapters and essays. Provides indexing for African-related materials in over 600 journals. Emphasis on English language materials.

    • Coverage: 1984-

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, History World

    Expand
  5. Africa-Wide: NiPAD

    Combines African Studies and South African Studies databases to provide access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa. African Studies includes a wide range of information sources (books, journals, radio and television programs, newspapers, etc.) from Africa, Europe, and the USA.

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, French Literature and Language, History World

    Expand
  6. African American Biographical Database

    Biographical information, including photographs and illustrations. AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.

    The majority of the content comes from Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. However, newly uncovered dictionaries, other reference sources, obituary files, slave narrative collections, internet sites, etc. will be added as the database expands. Maximum of 4 simultaneous users allowed.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1790 to 1950

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Ethnic Studies, History US, Biographies

    Expand
  7. African Writers Series

    African Writers Series is a full text electronic version of the Heinemann's African Writers Series founded in 1962 to publish works by black African writers for an African readership.

    This series provides seminal works from the canon of African literature of the twentieth century, covering such authors as Steve Biko, Ama Ata Aidoo, and Buchi Emecheta. Texts are fully searchable and richly indexed. Author biographies are included.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1962-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature

    Expand
  8. AGRICOLA

    AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.

    • Coverage: 1970 to present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Environmental Sciences

    Expand
  9. All Africa.com

    Current news from over 125 African media outlets, including newspapers, news agencies and publications all over the African continent. Also includes selected African-related reports, speeches, press releases and announcements from governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.

    Includes the archive of the Africa News Service back to 1997.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1997-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  10. Aluka: Digital Library of Scholarly Resources from and about Africa

    Contains 1) Struggles for Freedom in South Africa Collection of almost 200,000 pages of primary and secondary materials documenting the fight against apartheid collected from around the world, and 2) African Cultural Heritage which provides scholarly descriptions and images (including 3-D models and maps) of important historical and cultural sites on the continent including Timbuktu, Kilwa Kisiwani,, Axum and various rock art sites.

    Both collections are growing.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: varied

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  11. Anthropology Plus

    The primary database for searching the anthropological literature, Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute.

    It indexes over 1000 anthropology journals as well as reports, edited monographs, and obituaries in the four fields (social/cultural, physical/biological, linguistic, archaeology) of anthropology and other related disciplines.

    • Coverage: Late 19th Century to present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Health, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Neuroscience Animal Behavior

    Expand
  12. Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew)

    The Adam Matthew Archvie Explorer Cross-searches over 35 Adam Matthew primary source databases. These multiple resources concentrate on English language archival material from the UK and the USA.

    See also these individually listed databases: American West, China: Culture and Society, China: Trade, Politics and Culture, Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966, Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Defining Gender, Eighteenth Century Journals I- V, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America, First World War, Foreign Office Files for China I-III, Foreign Office Files India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 , Global Commodities, India, Raj and Empire, Jewish Life in America, Literary, Manuscripts (Berg), Literary Manuscripts (Leeds), London Low Life, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Mass Observation Online, Medieval Family Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Meiji Japan, Perdita Manuscripts, Rock And Roll, Romanticism, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, The Grand Tour, The Nixon Years, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture, Virginia Company Archives, Women in The National Archives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1580-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.

    Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    • Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era
    • Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
    • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
    • Federal Response to Radicalism
    • James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
    • Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
    • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
    • Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection
    • Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848
    • Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949
    • Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
    • East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
    Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  14. Archives Unbound, Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1935-1910

    Digital archive consisting of Board of Foreign Missions records of the Presbyterian Church. The majority of the material consists of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.

    Other primary sources include diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale, and field accounts.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1835-1910

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  15. ATLA Religion Database

    Indexes journals, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1949 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, LGBT Studies, Religion

    Expand
  16. Black Drama

    Black Drama contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

    Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. When completed, the database will have over 1,200 plays.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1850 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  17. British Online Archives

    This archive of digitized microfilm has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonized by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia.

    Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1994

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  18. British Records on the Atlantic World, 1700-1900

    This database provides online access to collections on the history of the Atlantic world from the British Archives. It includes materials such as journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers spanning two centuries of Britain's colonial, commercial, missionary and literary relations with Africa and the Americas.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1900

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  19. Cambridge Collections Online

    Cambridge Companions Complete Collection presently contains the Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, classics and culture; more collections in subject areas will be added soon.

    The collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

    4-5 Simultaneous users

    Walk in users: OK; 4-5 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  20. Digital National Security Archive

    The Digital National Security Archive contains numerous searchable full-text collections of declassified documents in areas of U.S. foreign policy and intelligence.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Political Science, History US

    Expand
  21. EIU Portal

    Access all of Emory's Economist Intelligence Unit databases from a single point: Viewswire, Industrywire, and the Country Reports and Newsletters databases. The Economist Intelligence Unit is the world's leading provider of country intelligence, providing up-to-date, reliable and impartial analysis on worldwide market trends and business strategies.

    A good source of information for current developments and trends in political, social and economic affairs across the world.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Business, Economics, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  22. EIU ViewsWire

    This Economist Intelligence Unit service provides daily highlights of key economic, political and business developments worldwide. In addition to updates to the EIU Country Reports, EIU Viewswire includes summaries of regulatory, trade, industry, and investment analysis.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Business, Economics, News Sources, Political Science, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  23. Empire Online

    Primary sources on colonial history, politics, culture and society from 1492 to the 21st century. Thematically divided into sections covering Cultural Contacts, Literature of Empire, the Visible Empire, Religion, Race, Class and Imperialism.

    Sources include Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations. Indexing by period, by date, by person and subject.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1492-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Religion, Sociology

    Expand
  24. Ethnographic Video Online

    Collection of documentary films in streaming video format for the visual study of human culture and behavior. Includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.

    Wherever possible, videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other context-enhancing, full-text materials. Publishing partners include the leading video content providers in the discipline, including Documentary Educational Resources (DER). Includes searchable transcripts that run alongside each video as well as rich functionality that lets users create, annotate, and organize clips and include links to other content. In-class viewing and embedding of video in websites, course management systems (e.g. BlackBoard) or other Emory course-related access points is permitted under Emory’s subscription to this database. Unlimited simultaneous users; walk-in users allowed

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology

    Expand
  25. Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange

    The Global Commodities database provides primary source materials arranged around fifteen major trade goods from world history such as chocolate, coffee, cotton, and opium.

    Each commodity is documented through a wide range of manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, objects and rare books so that the scholar can explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed. The project touches on themes of exploration and discovery; imperialism and colonialism; trade wars; translocation and economic geography; slavery; taste; and the evolution of global branding. The resource complements and integrates with the Empire Online database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 10,000 BC = present (most entries from 1500-1950)

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand