Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 169

  1. 17th and 18th Century Poetry from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds

    These literary manuscripts include presentation volumes, commonplace books, and volumes of household accounts, which give context for the poetry and are valuable sources for social and cultural history.

    The project combines facsimile images of all the manuscripts in their entirety, linked to new indexing and to the powerful BCMSV database (Leeds Verse Database), which lists first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content, bibliographic references, MS and record number for over 6,600 poems within the collection.

    Some of the poets represented include Mary Campbell, John Dryden, George Herbert, Mary Leapor, Andrew Marvell, Alexander Pope, Hester Pulter, and Jonathan Swift. This resource also includes a wealth of songs, riddles, and popular tags.

    Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: ca. 1600 - 1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  2. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

    The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.

    The collection covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1601-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, News Sources

    Expand
  3. 19th Century British Library Newspapers Digital Archive

    This database consists of full-text national and regional newspapers from Victorian Britain, digitized from the collection of the British Library. It is the sister product to 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1604-1800).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1801-1900

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  4. 19th Century British Pamphlets

    This collection contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. More than 20,000 pamphlets from seven UK institutions provide an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1603-1898 (Mostly 19th Cent.)

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  5. Access to Archives

    Access to Archives (A2A) is part of the UK archives network. The A2A database contains catalogues describing archives held locally in England and Wales and dating from the eighth century to the present day.

    • Coverage: 800 - present

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  6. Accessible Archives

    Provides in-depth coverage of the Colonial Period, the French & Indian War, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, African-American History, Industrial Revolution, and Genealogy from 18th & 19th Century Newspapers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 19th Century

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  7. AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive

    An electronic library containing the Associated Press' current year's photo report and a selection of images from their vast negative and print library dating from the 1840s.

    Today, the Multimedia Archive contains over 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995, and grows daily as hundreds of new photos enter the Multimedia Archive from AP's worldwide picture report. Maximum of 1 simultaneous user allowed.

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  8. African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

    African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, they include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.The collection is based upon James P.

    African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, they include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

    The collection is based upon James P. Danky’s African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998). It is cross-searchable with other databases in Readex’s Archive of Americana, including African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1825-1995

    Subjects: African American Studies, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  9. African-American newspapers, 1827-1998

    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 is being created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.

    Full-text access to these newspapers provide primary sources material about life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1827-1998

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  10. African-American Newspapers: 19th Century

    Electronic full text versions of: Freedom's Journal (1827-1829); The Colored American (1837-1841); The North Star (1847-1851); The National Era (1847-1853); Provincial Freeman (1854-1857); Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-1852); and The Christian Recorder (1861-Apr.

    1862). All are also part of the Accessible Archives database, which includes additional years of some newspapers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 19th Century

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  11. Aluka: Digital Library of Scholarly Resources from and about Africa

    Contains 1) Struggles for Freedom in South Africa Collection of almost 200,000 pages of primary and secondary materials documenting the fight against apartheid collected from around the world, and 2) African Cultural Heritage which provides scholarly descriptions and images (including 3-D models and maps) of important historical and cultural sites on the continent including Timbuktu, Kilwa Kisiwani,, Axum and various rock art sites.

    Both collections are growing.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: varied

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  12. America's Historical Newspapers

    When complete, this database will provide access to over cover-to-cover, fully searchable and browsable facsimile reproductions of over 1000 historic U.S. newspapers from all 50 states.

    In progress; content will continue to be added until digitization is complete. Go to Archive of Americana to search across multiple U.S. historical collections.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1690- (in process; when complete, will cover 1690-1922)

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources

    Expand
  13. American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

    The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection is a comprehensive collection of more than 6,500 American magazines and journals from the AAS, the premier library documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. It is divided into five chronological series, which can be searched simultaneously:

    • Series 1 (1691-1820)
    • Series 2 (1821-1837)
    • Series 3 (1838-1852)
    • Series 4 (1853-1865)
    • Series 5 (1866-1877)

    Subjects covered include art, architecture, music, literature, law, politics, religion, philosophy, science, medicine, family history and ethnic studies.

    Walk-in users: OK; Unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1691 - 1877

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  14. American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I

    Offers fully searchable facsimile images of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collections, subjects range widely from contemporary Civil War accounts, natural disasters, government proclamations, tax bills, and town meeting reports to clipper ship and trade cards, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.

    Go to Archive of Americana to search across multiple U.S. historical collections.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1760-1900

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Government Information

    Expand
  15. American Civil War Letters and Diaries

    American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home.

    This collection includes approximately 100,000 pages of published memoirs, letters and diaries from individuals plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 1,000 sources, the collection provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the war. More than 1,000 biographies will enhance the use of the database.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  16. American History in Video

    Collection of documentary films and newsreel footage in streaming video format, on topics relating to American history. Search and view complete program transcripts to access relevant clips within a documentary or newsreel.

    In-class viewing and embedding of video in websites, course management systems (e.g. BlackBoard) or other Emory course-related access points is permitted under Emory's subscription to this database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1890s-1980s

    Subjects: History US, Journalism, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  17. American Slavery A Composite Autobiography

    American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography includes the life histories of former American slaves and the transcripts of actual slave interviews conducted by individuals working for the Works Progress Administration (WPA) from 1936 to 1938.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies

    Expand
  18. American State Papers

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1789-1838

    Subjects: Government Information, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  19. Ancestry Library Edition-On campus access only

    The Ancestry Library Edition collection (also known as Ancestry Plus or Ancestry.com) is a major source of census and other records of interest to historical, social, and genealogical researchers.

    It includes: U.S. federal census roll images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; U.K. and Ireland census materials; vital and church records; passenger and immigration lists; military records; court, land, and probate records; historical maps; the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage books; WWI draft registration cards; slave narratives; and much more.

    Available on-campus only
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History US, History World, Sociology, Statistics and Demography, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, Government Information

    Expand
  20. Annals of American History (Encyclopaedia Britannica)

    Includes over 90 narrated illustrations and 85 animations, 60 anatomical labeling exercises, 200 multiple choice and drag/drop questions with automatic scoring, interactive models, and video clips of behavior.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1493-2002

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  21. ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers Online

    A digital collection of newspapers published in the Hapsburg Monarchy and Austria. Users can either browse the titles of the newspapers or choose a specific date.

    Among the digitized newspapers there are for example "Wiener Zeitung", "Pester Lloyd", "Prager Tagblatt", and "Reichspost" in German.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1716 to 1936

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  22. Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew)

    The Adam Matthew Archvie Explorer Cross-searches over 35 Adam Matthew primary source databases. These multiple resources concentrate on English language archival material from the UK and the USA.

    See also these individually listed databases: American West, China: Culture and Society, China: Trade, Politics and Culture, Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966, Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Defining Gender, Eighteenth Century Journals I- V, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America, First World War, Foreign Office Files for China I-III, Foreign Office Files India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 , Global Commodities, India, Raj and Empire, Jewish Life in America, Literary, Manuscripts (Berg), Literary Manuscripts (Leeds), London Low Life, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Mass Observation Online, Medieval Family Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Meiji Japan, Perdita Manuscripts, Rock And Roll, Romanticism, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, The Grand Tour, The Nixon Years, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture, Virginia Company Archives, Women in The National Archives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1580-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  23. ArchiveGrid

    A research tool that replaces and augments RLG's Archival Resources database. ArchiveGrid attempts to provide a single point of entry to worldwide archival holdings.

    Scholars can search for and view archival and manuscript collection descriptions, locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US

    Expand
  24. Archives Unbound

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.

    Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    • Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era
    • Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
    • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
    • Federal Response to Radicalism
    • James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
    • Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
    • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
    • Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection
    • Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848
    • Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949
    • Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
    • East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
    Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  25. Archives Unbound, "Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era

    Digital archive of the early-20th century magazine, Moving Picture World, which set a standard for the broadest possible coverage of silent film, and reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry.

    • Content: 115,972 images
    • Source Library: Library of Congress
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1907-1927

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand