Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 44

  1. Aluka: Digital Library of Scholarly Resources from and about Africa

    Contains 1) Struggles for Freedom in South Africa Collection of almost 200,000 pages of primary and secondary materials documenting the fight against apartheid collected from around the world, and 2) African Cultural Heritage which provides scholarly descriptions and images (including 3-D models and maps) of important historical and cultural sites on the continent including Timbuktu, Kilwa Kisiwani,, Axum and various rock art sites.

    Both collections are growing.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: varied

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  2. Annee Philologique

    An international bibliography that contains citations for Greek and Roman studies. The database covers all aspects of classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, mythology, science, numismatics, and other subjects.

    Its scope is the period from 2000 BC to 800 AD.

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Philosophy

    Expand
  3. Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew)

    The Adam Matthew Archvie Explorer Cross-searches over 35 Adam Matthew primary source databases. These multiple resources concentrate on English language archival material from the UK and the USA.

    See also these individually listed databases: American West, China: Culture and Society, China: Trade, Politics and Culture, Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966, Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Defining Gender, Eighteenth Century Journals I- V, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America, First World War, Foreign Office Files for China I-III, Foreign Office Files India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 , Global Commodities, India, Raj and Empire, Jewish Life in America, Literary, Manuscripts (Berg), Literary Manuscripts (Leeds), London Low Life, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Mass Observation Online, Medieval Family Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Meiji Japan, Perdita Manuscripts, Rock And Roll, Romanticism, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, The Grand Tour, The Nixon Years, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture, Virginia Company Archives, Women in The National Archives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1580-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  4. Arkyves

    Arkyves is a portal for open access images and texts related to the History of culture. Visual and textual documents are contributed by the Dutch Rijksmuseum,the Netherlands Institute for Art History, the Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbüttel, and the University Libraries of Milan, Utrecht and Glasgow.

    All visual and textual sources are made accessible with the help of the multilingual vocabulary for cultural content of the Iconclass system. By using this system it has been made possible to find and retrieve images from various sources on a specific theme, topic or subject.

    • Coverage: 15th-17th century
    • Trial

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800

    Expand
  5. Art Index Retrospective

    A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to ArtIndex volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. International in scope, coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks,and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian,German, Spanish, and Dutch.

    Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

    • Coverage: 1929 - 1984

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand
  6. Art Source (formerly Art Full Text) and Art Index Retrospective

    Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.Art Index Retrospective™: 1929 -1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.

    Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

    Art Index Retrospective™: 1929 -1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Full text- 1929-current; Abstracts- 1984 to current

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand
  7. Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance

    Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance is a full-text searchable collection of 90 treatises on art and architecture from the period 1470 to 1775, and is structured around Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists.

    • Coverage: 1470 to 1775

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800

    Expand
  8. ARTbibliographies Modern

    Indexes an international selection of journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all aspects of art and design since 1900.

    Photography is covered since its invention in 1839. Subject coverage includes painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing, performance art, installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, and illustration.

    • Coverage: 1974 to present

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand
  9. Artnet

    Artnet searches two databases (Fine and Decorative Art Price archives) from over 500 international auction houses . The Fine Art database lists sales since 1985 and ranges from Old Masters to Contemporary Art., including painting drawings, sculpture, prints, photography, media, and 20th Century Design.

    The Decorative Art Price database lists sales since 2000 and ranges from American Furniture to Russian Silver to rugs, ceramics, clocks, watches, porcelain and more.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  10. Arts & Humanities Citation Index

    The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

    Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.

    Arts and Humanities Citation Index can be searched via an Endnote connection file.

    Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.

    • Coverage: 1975 to present

    Subjects: Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Dance, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy

    Expand
  11. Arts in the United States

    Arts of the United States, a joint project between the Lamar Dodd Art School, University of Georgia and the University of Georgia and Yale University Libraries, contains over 4,000 images of works important to the study of the history of art in the United States.

    The pieces, dating from the 17th century through the 20th, include architecture, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, and stage and costume design as well as Native American art and artifacts. Although the majority of artists represented in the database are American, significant works created by non-native artists while in the United States are included.

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand
  12. ARTstor

    The ARTstor Charter Collection currently contains approximately 300,000 images; by 2006 it is expected to contain 500,000. The Charter Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

    Its richness, scope and variety support the needs of teachers and scholars throughout the arts and humanities. What's in ARTstor?

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History US

    Expand
  13. Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

    Indexes journals published in the fields of architecture, architectural history and design, archaeology, interior design, furniture and decoration, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and city planning.

    • Coverage: 1860 to present

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand
  14. Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale

    The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BMC) is a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften).

    It is designed to serve as a complement to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), which covers primarily periodical and journal articles. In fact, BCM and IMB are fully integrated with each other. BCM coverage goes as far back as the 1958 year of publication.

    Walk-in users: OK; 3 simultaneous users
    • Coverage: 400-1500

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  15. Bibliography of the History of Art

    Blurb: The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha.

    These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For any materials from 2008 forward, please search Proquest's International Bibliography of Art. BHA's focus is European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.

    • Coverage: 1973 to 2007

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand
  16. Brill's New Pauly

    Full-text articles on all aspects of the ancient world, including persons, places, institutions, events, artifacts, technical terms, ideas and concepts, and interaction between Greek and Roman culture with others (Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, etc.).

    Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and black-and white photographs. Brill's New Pauly Online includes the entire text of Metzler's Der Neue Pauly and also all volumes of the English language Brill's New Pauly.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics

    Expand
  17. British Periodicals I

    British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages.

    Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1691-1937

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy

    Expand
  18. Cambridge Collections Online

    Cambridge Companions Complete Collection presently contains the Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, classics and culture; more collections in subject areas will be added soon.

    The collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

    4-5 Simultaneous users

    Walk in users: OK; 4-5 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  19. DYABOLA: A Database of the Ancient World

    Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews. This database reproduces the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut and is equivalent to the annual Archaoligische Bibliographie (Woodruff Library Z5132 .A65).

    It covers Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion. To enter the database, please check the "with IP acess" box and then click the start button.

    • Coverage: 1956-1999

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  20. Eighteenth Century Journals

    This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.

    Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1685-1815

    Subjects: Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  21. Grand Tour

    The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century (1701-1800). This database contains primary source letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps that illustrate the everyday issues of transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex, as well as European political and religious life.

    The architecture, street life and urban planning of cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva are highlighted.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1701-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  22. Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

    Includes information about Latin Americans in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

    Topics include politics and government, business, economic development and policy issues, gender studies, environmental issues, history, anthropology, religion, art, literature, drama, and film. HAPI indexes journals about Latin America that are written in the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian.

    • Coverage: 1970 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish

    Expand
  23. Humanities & Social Sciences Abstracts

    Includes three separate HW Wilson databases:

    • Humanities Abstracts: a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, 1907 - 1984
    • Social Sciences Abstracts: A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

    Expand
  24. Humanities International Complete

    Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1975 - present

    Subjects: African American Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, History Modern 1800-, History Modern 1800-, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Religion, Theater Studies

    Expand
  25. Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals

    Indexes entire journal contents -- articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements -- of nearly all art periodicals that were published in the United States during the 19th century.

    Includes information on popular culture and industry, as well as artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration, and collecting.

    • Coverage: 1800-1900

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand