Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 22 of 22

  1. Academic Conferences in China in Humanities and Social Sciences

    ACIC includes academic papers (in Chinese or English) from national and international conferences held in China since 1985. As of Feb. 2014, there are over 2.40 million records in the database, including about 250,000 full-text conference papers in humanities and social sciences in either Chinese or English.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1985-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  2. Bibliography of Asian Studies

    The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

    The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.

    • Coverage: 1971 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Chinese Studies, Ethnic Studies, History World, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  3. China Academic Journals

    Provides access to full text articles from Chinese academic journals. This database covers the majority of academic journals published in the PRC, and is produced at the Tsinghua University in Beijing.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1994 to Date

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  4. China Core Newspaper Database

    This database provides abstracts and full text articles from major Chinese newspapers on the subjects of literature, history, arts and philosophy.

    • Coverage: 2000-

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History World, News Sources, Philosophy

    Expand
  5. China Data Online

    China Data Online is a collection of data on economics, demographics, and other such topics.  Data are available for China as a whole and for individual provinces, counties, and cities.  Depending on the topic and geographic area, data are available in annual, quarterly, or monthly increments.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Coverage: 1949 onwards, varying by topic and geographic area

    Subjects: Area Studies, Business, Chinese Studies, Economics, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  6. China Local Gazetteers

    This is a unique database developed just by Wanfang Data. It is a comprehensive collection of Chinese local gazetteers covering all regions of China. As of Feb. 2014, there are over 26,400 volumes of full-text titles in this database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1949-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  7. China Online Journals

    COJ covers 7,608 journal titles published in China, a lot of them are university press. This database collects around 75% of the journals in China while CAJ (China Academic Journals from CNKI) collects similar amounts, the two databases will completely cover all the journals in China.

    There is at least 50% overlaps in these two databases, that’s why a lot of EA libraries in the States hesitate to subscribe COJ when they had already have CAJ. CNKI first opened the market of North America through East View, that’s why Wanfang has this great deal now to compete with CNKI.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1998-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  8. China: Culture and Society

    China: Culture and Society is a digital collection of about 1,200 extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.

    The pamphlets cover speeches, guides, reports, essays, catalogues, magazine articles and other material addressing Chinese history, culture, and everyday life. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. The wide variety of research interests and themes covered by the pamphlets include education, emigration, the foreign presence, missionaries, wars, rebellion, reform, opium, healthcare and language.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  9. China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980a

    This database provides English-language sources relating to China and the West from 1793 to 1980. It covers almost any aspect of Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.

    From this database you can find manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors descriptions of the Boxer War. There are also significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals, such as The Chinese Recorder, Light and Life Magazine and The Land of Sinim: the North China Mission Quarterly Paper.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1793-1980

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  10. Chinese Academy of Social Sciences Yearbooks Online

    This E-Yearbooks database contains the China Economy Yearbook, the China Educational Development Yearbook, the China Environment Yearbook, The China Legal Development yearbook, the China Population and Labor Yearbook, the China Society Yearbook from 2007 to 2009.1-3 Simultaneous usersWalk-in users: OK

    1-3 Simultaneous users; Walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 2007-2009

    Subjects: Area Studies, Business, Chinese Studies, Economics, Education, Law, Sociology

    Expand
  11. Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department┬┐s Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955

    This database contains the records of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs from 1945 to 1955. It provides valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S.

    policy towards Asia and U.S. – China relations during the post-war period.

    • Coverage: 1945-1955

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Government Information, Political Science

    Expand
  12. Chinese Historical Newspapers

    This database includes the English-language newspapers from China from 1932 to 1953.  Papers covers the North China Herald (1850-1941), Canton Times (1917-1920), China Critic, The China Press (1925-1938), the China Weekly Review (1917-1953), the Chinese Recorder (1868-1940), the Chinese Repository (1831-1851), the Peking Daily News (1914-1917), the Peking Gazette (1915-1917), the Peking Leader (1918-1919), the Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), the Shanghai Times (1914-1921).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1832-1953

    Subjects: Business, Chinese Studies, Economics, Education, History World, Journalism, News Sources, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Theater Studies

    Expand
  13. Chinese Recorder and the Protestant Missionary Community in China, 1867-1941

    This database contains The Chinese Recorder from 1867 to 1941.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1867-1941

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Religion

    Expand
  14. Dissertations of China in Humanities and Social Sciences

    Dissertations of China is the most comprehensive collections of dissertations and theses from Chinese research institutions since 1980. As of Feb. 2014, it contains over 2088 million full-text or abstract records, in which nearly 750,000 full-text records are in the subject areas of humanities and social science.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1980-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  15. Duxiu

    Duxiu is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. The Duxiu database provides access to more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, journal articles, conference papers and video clips.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Education, Government Information, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  16. Global Reference Center

    Global Reference Center is an extensive collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content.  It includesEncyclopaedia Universalis (French)Spanish Reference Center (Spanish.eb.com) divided into 2 parts.

    Global Reference Center is an extensive collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content.  It includes

    Encyclopaedia Universalis (French)

    Spanish Reference Center (Spanish.eb.com) divided into 2 parts. Enciclopedia Moderna--(academic level)     and Britannica Escolar --(Elementary/Middle)      

    Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Japan

    Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Korea

    Britannica Concise Encyclopedia (Chinese)

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish, Chinese Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies

    Expand
  17. Han Yu Da Ci Dian & Kangxi Dictionaries

    The two most famous and Comprehensive Chinese dictionaries in China.  The Great Chinese Dictionary includes 22,700 single characters while the Kangxi Dictionary covers 47,043 Chinese characters.  It serves the  needs for classical literature research besides the meaning of each character.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Linguistics

    Expand
  18. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Chinese Studies

    Oxford Bibliographies online in Chinese Studies is a multi-and inter-disciplinary enterprise covering the study of China across all disciplines. It provides an authoritative guide to the key works across the whole field, pointing researchers and practitioners at all levels to the most important scholarship in European languages as well as in Chinese, and giving scholars working in other fields easier access to scholarship on China.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History World

    Expand
  19. People's Daily - Renmin Ribao

    With publication started in June 1946 and a current circulation of 3 million, People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China For the last 70 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world.

    Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis.

    • Coverage: 1946-Present

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, Political Science

    Expand
  20. Policies and Laws of China

    PLOC is a comprehensive collection of full-text Chinese legislation, jurisdictions, cases, official announcements and treaties published after 1949. As of Feb. 2014, there are over 610,000 records in the database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1949-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  21. Scripta Sinica

    Scripta Sinica is a full-text database established for academic research. Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full-text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale.

    More than 400 titles and 350,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care. The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: pre-1949

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Economics, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion

    Expand
  22. Siku Quanshu

    The Siku Quanshu is undisputed as the largest single assembly of classical works in the world. It was compiled by edict of Emperor Qianlong, the Siku Quanshu (complete library of four treasures) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics and so much more.

    It encompasses 3,460 works totaling more than 36,000 volumes and is brought to life like never before in a unique, fully online format. This monumental work is the result of contributions by hundreds of editors and noted scholars and is a great resource for the research of Chinese studies.

    The client program is at http://pid.emory.edu/d7nxk, where you can download the software (setup.exe), the Installation Guide and the User Manual.

    There is no direct-access URL, since the database contains archaic Chinese characters not included in the current Unicode standard.

    Once the client program is installed, open the program and select IP Login to gain access.

    The Installation Guide at http://pid.emory.edu/d7nxk contains information regarding technical requirements (e.g. required language packs).

    System Requirements
    The minimum requirements of the Siku Quanshu (Wenyuange Edition) Online Subscription Services are:

    1. Pentium III 800 or above CPU
    2. 140 MB Hard Drive space (for client program and font i
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand