Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 11 of 11

  1. BYU Corpora

    The BYU Corpora consist of nine English language corpora (including the Wikipedia Corpus, the TIME Magazine Corpus, and the Corpus of American Soap Operas), one corpus in Spanish, one in Portuguese, and a Google Books (Advanced) interface.  The corpora can be used by researchers for several purposes, including: finding the frequency of words and phrases, tracking changes in language over time, and gaining insight into how people write and think about cultural concepts in different contexts.  In addition to the corpora themselves, the database offers different corpora-based resources.  These allow you to enter and analyze your own text, download large amounts of corpus-based data (e.g.

    word frequency, collocates, and n-grams), and see detailed entries for the top 60,000 words in English. 

    Please note that users will need to create an individual account to access the corpora: it is free and takes about 30 seconds to create.  Students can run up to 200 queries per day and faculty can run up to 400, so long as they are connected from campus or via proxy IP access.  Most importantly, there is no limit to the number of queries run by a given class or department.     

    Subjects: English and American Literature, Government Information, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Sociology, Spanish, Film and Media Studies

    Expand
  2. Communication and Mass Media Complete

    Communication & Mass Media Complete provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with other journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: varies (some from early 20th century)

    Subjects: Film and Media Studies, Journalism

    Expand
  3. Docuseek2 Streaming Video (Docuseek)

    Docuseek2 is an streaming video database covering the films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.

     Users can see licensed content by clicking on the My Movies link at the top of most pages, or search for content, and view it by clicking on the Licensed icon in the search results, or, from the product page, clicking on the View tab.  All individual streaming video titles are also available at the title-level in DiscoverE.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Audio and Video Online, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Computer Science, Current Events, Dance, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, Georgia, Government Information, Health, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies, Jewish Studies, Journalism, Korean Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, News Sources, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  4. Edinburgh University Press Journal Collection

    This journal collection includes 39 journals in the humanities and social sciences.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 2000-Present
    • Trial

    Subjects: Area Studies, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, Film and Media Studies, History World, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion

    Expand
  5. Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

    The Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive contains full runs of key trade and consumer magazines in film, broadcasting, popular music and theater, including Variety and Billboard.

    It contains full color page reproductions and full-text search capability, including within ads.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies per title, ends at 2000

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Film and Media Studies, Music, Theater Studies

    Expand
  6. FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

    Publisher description: [I]ndexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.

    Includes full text access to selected journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1972 - present

    Subjects: Film and Media Studies

    Expand
  7. Film and Television Literature with Full Text

    Film and Television Literature Index covers hundreds of academic journals, trade journals, and popular periodicals pertaining to film, television and the entertainment industry.

    Includes full text access for a number of titles. IMPORTANT NOTE: the older Variety film reviews in the “Variety Film Reviews” module are redacted and often have incorrect publication dates listed. This problem does not affect more recent Variety film reviews in the main portion of the database. For a more complete and accurate collection of older Variety film reviews, use the Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive database.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Film and Media Studies

    Expand
  8. Film Literature Index Online

    The Film Literature Index (FLI) Online indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.

    The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. Coverage after 2001 is available in the print version of the Film Literature Index.

    Endnote filter available for download on website.

    • Coverage: 1976-2001

    Subjects: Film and Media Studies

    Expand
  9. Films on Demand Art & Architecture Subject Collection

    Web-based digital video delivery service that includes streaming videos on the following topics: architecture, art history, photography, and visual studies. Special features include the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and upload to Blackboard (either embed or link to persistent URLs).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Videos on art from ancient to contemporary

    Subjects: Area Studies, Film and Media Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  10. MLA International Bibliography

    Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

    EBSCOhost version
    • Coverage: 1926 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  11. Project Muse

    Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Economics, English and American Literature, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Library and Information Science, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand