Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 20 of 20

  1. Atlanta Constitution Historical

    Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Atlanta newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue.

    Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1868 - 1945 (Use LexisNexis Academic for 1991- )

    Subjects: Georgia, History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  2. Digital Library of Georgia

    The Digital Library of Georgia is a virtual collection of digitized books, newspapers, images, manuscripts and media with an emphasis on material important to the history and culture of the state of Georgia.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Georgia, History US

    Expand
  3. Digital Sanborn Maps of Georgia, 1867-1950

    The Digital Sanborn Map Collection of Georgia includes large scale fire insurance maps of Georgia produced by the Sanborn Map Company. They are large-scale plans containing data that was originally intended to estimate the potential risk for urban structures.

    This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information includes construction details, ownership and building use. The digital images were processed from microforms at the Library of Congress.

    • Coverage: 1867-1950

    Subjects: Georgia, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  4. Ethnic NewsWatch

    A full-text collection of U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. This database includes both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) indexes.

    • Coverage: 1960 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Current Events, Ethnic Studies, Georgia, History US, Jewish Studies, News Sources, Sociology

    Expand
  5. Georgia Attorney General's Office

    Georgia Attorney General's Office maintains a web site of information on its staff, history, mission, organization, etc. Also provided is the ability to search the opinions of the Attorney General (1994-1997).

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Georgia, Government Information, Law

    Expand
  6. Georgia Census Data Map

    Quick statistical facts about the state and all Georgia counties.

    Subjects: Georgia, Government Information, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  7. Georgia Code

    The unannotated Georgia Code on the Georgia General Assembly's web site is updated through the 2005 extraordinary session. The unannotated Georgia Code, consisting only of Code text and numbering, is in the public domain and may be copied from the web site at the reader's expense and effort without need for permission.

    Subjects: Georgia, Government Information, Law, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  8. Georgia General Assembly

    Georgia Legislative Services provides access to both Georgia House and Senate bills. The database is searchable by keyword, bill number, code section, authors, co-signers, and committee sponsors.

    Also provided are the governor's budget and committee meeting schedules.

    Subjects: Georgia, Government Information, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  9. Georgia Government Publications

    Georgia Government Publications contains scanned images of public documents of departments or agencies within the Georgia state government. Coverage encompasses audit reports, budget documents, monographs, newsletters, periodicals and serials from agencies including agriculture, arts, community affairs, courts, education, human resources, industry and trade, labor, legislature, natural resources and recreation.

    • Coverage: 1994 to present

    Subjects: Georgia, Government Information, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  10. Georgia Historic Books

    The Georgia Historic Books database contains full-text, fully searchable books related to Georgia's history and culture. Most are from the 19th to early 20th century and focus on Georgia history, biography, and literature.

    The database will contain approximately 300 selected books when complete. These have been selected using bibliographies on Georgia history and in consultation with historians, librarians, and other experts on the literature and history of Georgia. The focus of the selection favors history, biography, and literature, but other subject areas related to Georgia are also included. The books may deal with Georgia history as a subject, or they may have been important for the cultural and intellectual development of the state.

    In the database, to see a list of all books currently available, choose the option for "Browse by Title, Author, or Date."

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Georgia, History US

    Expand
  11. Georgia Historic Newspapers

    Currently includes these newspapers: The Cherokee Phoenix, Colored Tribune, and The Dublin Post. Other papers will be added when available.

    Coverage varies from paper to paper.

    • Coverage: 1750-1925

    Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Ethnic Studies, Georgia, History US, News Sources

    Expand
  12. Georgia Legislative Documents

    The Georgia Legislative Documents provide access to three legislative resources: Acts of the General Assembly of the State of Georgia, Journal of the House of Representatives of the State of Georgia, and Journal of the Senate of the State of Georgia.

    The Acts are the actual text of the laws and resolutions as they were voted upon by the General Assembly. The Journals outline the passage of bills and resolutions through each chamber of the General Assembly.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Georgia, Government Information, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  13. Georgia Reference Shelf

    An online collection of ready reference materials pertaining to the state of Georgia, and particularly to its history and culture.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Georgia, Reference Sources

    Expand
  14. georgia.gov

    georgia.gov is the online connection to the State of Georgia. It provides to access information on the many services and programs available in Georgia. In additional to legislative and government agency information, there are links to resources for travel information about the state, local and regional government, and the governor's office.

    Subjects: Georgia, Government Information

    Expand
  15. LexisNexis Academic Universe

    Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Business, Current Events, Economics, Education, Georgia, Health, Journalism, Law, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Political Science, Sociology, Environmental Sciences

    Expand
  16. LexisNexis State Capital

    Provides comprehensive access to state government information, including legislative bills & calendars, regulations & codes, statutes, contact information and more.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Current

    Subjects: Georgia, Political Science, Government Information, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  17. New Georgia Encyclopedia

    The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.

    Multimedia features of the site require the QuickTime player.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Georgia, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  18. Newspaper Source [EBSCO]

    Newspaper Source provides current information from daily feeds from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News and Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service Newspaper Source as well as cover to cover coverage of The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. The database also contains selected full text from more than 180 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Macon Telegraph, Savannah Morning News, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, and The Miami Herald. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1994-

    Subjects: Georgia, News Sources

    Expand
  19. Social Explorer

    Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Its contents include the entire U.S.

    Census from 1790 to 2010, annual updates from the American Community Survey, data on religious congregations for the United States for 2009 (including maps for counties and special census areas, as well as point maps of the actual congregation locations), decennial religious congregation data for 1980-2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002. Users can create reports and maps at various levels of geography, including counties, Census tracts, Census block groups, and ZIP Codes, depending on data availability.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Coverage: 1790-present

    Subjects: African American Studies, Economics, Education, Georgia, History US, Journalism, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  20. Southern Changes Digital Archive

    Southern Changes features social research, cultural analysis, reportage, commentary, reviews, and interviews by a extraordinary list of writers, scholars, public officials, and activists.

    It is available as an open access, free, searchable database providing scholarly researchers and general readers with full-text versions of each issue of Southern Changes over the 25-year period of its pubication. The articles in Southern Changes range across many subjects: racial justice and the freedom struggle, politics and voting rights, educational opportunity, economic democracy, women's rights, environmental justice, critical regional studies, global-regional relations, and popular culture.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1978-2003

    Subjects: African American Studies, Current Events, Georgia, History US

    Expand