Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 7 of 7

  1. Bibliography of Asian Studies

    The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

    The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.

    • Coverage: 1971 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History World, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  2. JapanKnowledge

    JapanKnowledge is a portal to the largest Japanese language online reference collection. It includes encyclopedias (e.g. ニッポニカNipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, 日本人名大辞典Nihon jinmei daijiten, imidas, etc.), dictionaries (Japanese-English, English-Japanese, English-English, 現代用語の基礎知識Gendai yogo no kiso chishiki, 字通Jitsu, 国史大辞典Kokushi daijiten, etc.), and various full-text and multimedia databases (週刊エコノミストShukan Economist, 新編 日本古典文学全集 Shinpen Nihon koten bungaku zenshu, 図解アニメーションZukai animation, , サウンド・ミュージックライブラリsound and music libraries, 映像記録Eizo kiroku, etc.).

    2 simultaneous users; walk-in users allowed

    2 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: ancient to the present

    Subjects: Area Studies, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  3. Kikuzo II Visual

    Kikuzo is Asahi Shimbun’s newspaper database, containing over 13 million full-text articles from the Asahi Shimbun, as well as the newspaper’s two weekly magazines, AERA and Shūkan Asahi.

    It also contains the Historical Photo Archive, which includes approximately 10,000 photographs depicting East and Southeast Asia during the 1930s-40s, and Chiezō, Asahi’s dictionary of contemporary Japanese terms.

    • Coverage: 1879-present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  4. Magazineplus

    Provides over 3.3 million bibliographic references to articles from more than 7,600 Japanese scholarly periodicals from 1975 to the present. It covers subject areas including the humanities, social sciences, medical science and science and technology.

    Note: Magazineplus requires that a user's browser be configured to display a Japanese character set. Remote access is not possible at this time for Magazineplus.

    • Coverage: 1975-present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies

    Expand
  5. Maisaku

    Maisaku is a database containing articles from the Mainichi Shimbun dating back to 1872. Also included are the results of the newspaper’s opinion polls dating from 1945.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1872-present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  6. Meiji Japan

    A collection of the personal and professional papers of Edward Sylvester Morse, a zoologist and author of various works related to Japan. Having initially traveled to Japan in 1877 to study brachiopods, Morse introduced modern aspects of biology and zoology to Japan and developed an interest in Japanese ethnology and archaelogy, collecting pottery and artifacts and keeping detailed notes on his observations of daily life.

    The papers, digitized by the Peabody Essex Museum, include his diaries, travel journals, correspondence, lectures, drawings, and numerous other types of documents.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1858-1925

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  7. Yomidas Rekishikan

    Yomidas Rekishikan contains more than 10 million articles from the Yomiuri Shimbun, articles from the English-language publication Daily Yomiuri, as well as a biographical database and abstract index.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1874 - present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies, News Sources

    Expand