Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 30

  1. ACLS Humanities E-Book

    ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

    These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1953-2010

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  2. America History and Life [EBSCOhost]

    Indexes journals, book reviews, and dissertations for American history and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

    EBSCO
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1964 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, Jewish Studies, LGBT Studies

    Expand
  3. American Jewish Historical Newspapers

    Back files of major American Jewish historical newspapers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1857-1990

    Subjects: History US, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.

    Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    • Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era
    • Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
    • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
    • Federal Response to Radicalism
    • James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
    • Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
    • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
    • Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection
    • Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848
    • Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949
    • Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
    • East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
    Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound, Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration

    Digital archive of subject files from the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) organized in London in 1938 to assist in the resettlement of refugees from Europe.

    • Content: 30,100 images
    • Source Library: U.S. National Archives
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1938-1947

    Subjects: Ethnic Studies, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound: Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection

    This collection consists of original documents collected by Jewish communist and committed member of the underground resistance David Diamant over a period of approximately 30 years. They primarily deal with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.

    • Content: 1,235 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  7. Bar Ilan Responsa Project

    The Bar Ilan Responsa Project includes numerous works from the Responsa Literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations.

    In addition, the database includes the Bible, the Talmud and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; major codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc… Also includes Entsiklopedyah Talmudit. The Online version has a variety of features and advanced search options.

    10 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Jewish Studies

    Expand
  8. Encyclopaedia Judaica

    Contains 26 volumes of the original text of Encyclopaedia Judaica, updated and with hyperlinks, rare films, photographs, slide shows, music, maps, charts, and tables.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Ethnic Studies, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  9. Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online

    The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.

    The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics requires installing a Unicode Hebrew font. We highly recommend the Unicode font SBL Hebrew.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Beginning to present

    Subjects: Jewish Studies, Linguistics

    Expand
  10. Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World

    The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion and culture which until now lacked its own cohesive/discrete reference work.

    The Encyclopedia aims to fill the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  11. Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971

    When complete, this database will provide access to more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Coverage will include Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.

    In progress, content will continue to be added until digitization is complete.

    Walk-in users: OK; Unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Coverage varies by newspaper

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Ethnic Studies, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  12. Ethnic NewsWatch

    A full-text collection of U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. This database includes both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) indexes.

    • Coverage: 1960 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Current Events, Ethnic Studies, Georgia, History US, Jewish Studies, News Sources, Sociology

    Expand
  13. Historical Abstracts [EBSCOhost]

    Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1955 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies

    Expand
  14. Index to Hebrew Periodicals (English Interfaces)

    Indexes articles from Hebrew periodicals, collections and some monographs. Has content in Hebrew and English most of which is not indexed in RAMBI.

    • Coverage: 1977 to date

    Subjects: Jewish Studies

    Expand
  15. Index to Hebrew Periodicals (Hebrew Interface)

    Indexes articles from Hebrew periodicals, collections and some monographs. Has content in Hebrew and English most of which is not indexed in RAMBI.

    • Coverage: 1977 to date

    Subjects: Jewish Studies

    Expand
  16. Index to Jewish Periodicals

    Index to Jewish Periodicals provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 popular and scholarly journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

    Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.

    • Coverage: 1988-present

    Subjects: Jewish Studies, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  17. Jerusalem Post

    This is a searchable database of the Palestine Post/Jerusalem Post, the only English language newspaper in Israel that has been published since 1932.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1932-1988

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  18. Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954

    Original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Offers access to six major organizational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History US, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  19. Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA)

    The Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA) is the online version of the print Lexikon des Mittelalters, the standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies, published between 1977-1999.

    It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. This database also includes the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages-Online (IEMA), a supplement to the Lexikon.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE

    Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Jewish Studies, Religion

    Expand
  20. Literary Research Guide

    A selective, annotated guide to essential reference sources for the study of British literature, United States literatures, and other literatures in English. The contents include over 1,000 entries, which reference nearly 1,600 additional books, articles, and electronic resources.

    Over 700 reviews are cited.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Theater Studies, Spanish, Multidisciplinary Databases, Linguistics, Library and Information Science, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Journalism, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History US, Jewish Studies, French Literature and Language, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature

    Expand
  21. Maagarim

    Database of the Historical dictionary of the Hebrew language. The nine-million-word corpus draws on Hebrew sources from the rabbinic period (2nd century BCE) through the geonic period (11th century CE).

    It is essentially a concordance, and enables retrieval of citations by roots, lemmata and declined forms as well as specific texts by title, author, date and literary genre.

    Subjects: Area Studies, Jewish Studies, Linguistics

    Expand
  22. MLA International Bibliography

    Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

    EBSCOhost version
    • Coverage: 1926 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  23. Music Online: Listening

    Offers combined access and cross-searching of 5 different streamed-audio collections. Each collection may also be accessed independently through its own link on the Databases @ Emory page. Contents:

    • American Song
    • Classical Music Library
    • Contemporary World Music
    • Jazz Music Library 
    • Smithsonian Global Sound

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Music

    Expand
  24. North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories

    Personal narratives of immigrants to the United States and Canada, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral history interviews, beginning around 1840 and extending to the present but focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980.

    Provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants countries of origin. Also includes selected emigrant guides and advice books for immigrants, political cartoons, and audio and video.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: ca. 1840 to present

    Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, Jewish Studies, Womens and Gender Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  25. Otzar HaHochma Online

    Otzar HaHochma Online is a database of digitized books covering a variety of topics in Jewish Studies.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Various

    Subjects: Jewish Studies

    Expand