Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 34

  1. Academic Charts Online (ACO): Music Data and Analysis

    Provides sound-recordings chart data from the U.S. (Billboard) and 8 other countries, plus graphs and analytical tools. Includes full-text articles from selected journals.

    See the Product Tour for orientation.

    • Coverage: 1950s-present

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  2. ACLS Humanities E-Book

    ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

    These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1953-2010

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  3. American Song

    Listen via streamed audio to popular vocal and instrumental music from the United States. Genres include country, folk, bluegrass, American Indian, blues, gospel, Latin, shape-note singing, Tejano, doo-wop, R&B, soul, and more.

    Use “Music Online: Listening” (accessible from the Databases @ Emory page) for combined access to American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  4. Classical Music Library

    Listen via streamed audio to classical music from many labels including EMI, Gaudeamus, Hyperion, LSO Live, and Mode. Use “Music Online: Listening” (accessible from the Databases @ Emory page) for combined access to Classical Music Library, American Song, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  5. Contemporary World Music

    Listen via streamed audio to popular and traditional music from around the world. Use “Music Online: Listening” (accessible from the Databases @ Emory page) for combined access to Contemporary World Music, American Song, Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  6. Credo Reference Unlimited

    Credo Ready-Reference services feature full-text, aggregated content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. Credo Ready-Reference is a user interface that combines content from multiple publishers cross-referencing technology.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Business, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Reference Sources

    Expand
  7. Digital Theatre Plus

    Digital Theatre Plus contains high definition streaming video versions of recent live stage productions by various British theater and opera companies, including the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Royal Court, the Young Vic, and Opera North.

    The database also contains interviews with individuals working in the creative, technical and production arenas, as well as online study guides for some of the plays. Additional content includes streaming video from the Broadway Digital Archive (formerly Broadway Theatre Archive).

    • Coverage: 2012 - present

    Subjects: Dance, Music, Theater Studies

    Expand
  8. Encyclopedia of Popular Music

    Covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. There are articles on artists, genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals.

    Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Editor: Colin Larkin.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1900-present

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  9. Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

    The Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive contains full runs of key trade and consumer magazines in film, broadcasting, popular music and theater, including Variety and Billboard.

    It contains full color page reproductions and full-text search capability, including within ads.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies per title, ends at 2000

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Film and Media Studies, Music, Theater Studies

    Expand
  10. Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

    An encyclopedia of more than 700 articles covering the music of the world's peoples, from the earliest known traditions to current practices. It encompasses articles on geographic areas, nations, and ethnic groups, as well as discussion of trends and issues in scholarship.

    Includes lists of materials, sound recordings, and videos. Audio examples will be available online in a future release and may be accessed on compact disc in the Music and Media Library.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: All periods

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  11. Grove Music Online (through Oxford Music Online)

    One of three titles accessible through Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Online is the primary English-language reference source for music. Over 47,000 articles provide comprehensive coverage of music of all styles, periods, and geographic regions.

    Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. (2002), plus more recent updates to some articles. Allows 2-3 simultaneous users.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Print editions published 1992-2002.

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  12. Humanities & Social Sciences Abstracts

    Includes three separate HW Wilson databases:

    • Humanities Abstracts: a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, 1907 - 1984
    • Social Sciences Abstracts: A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

    Expand
  13. International Index to Music Periodicals

    Indexes articles from more than 430 journals from about 20 countries, and selectively indexes some newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996 except for a selection of journals indexed in their entirety.

    Abstracts are provided for articles published after 1995.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1874 to present

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  14. IPA Sourcea

    Contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of art songs and opera arias. Additional features include spoken-word audio files of selected texts and links to sites relevant to singers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Medieval to present

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  15. Jazz Music Library

    Listen via streamed audio to jazz and blues recordings from dozens of labels including Verve, GRP Records, Fantasy, Concord Jazz, Impulse, and Jazzology. Use “Music Online: Listening” (accessible from the Databases @ Emory page) for combined access to Jazz Music Library, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  16. JSTOR

    JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.

    JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  17. London Lowlife

    London Lowlife is a database of materials focusing on street life in Victorian London. The collection includes fast literature, posters, advertising, playbills, ballads, broadsides, penny fiction, cartoons, chapbooks, street cries, Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens as well as tourist guides, maps and the manuscripts of George Gissing.

    There is also a complete collection of Tallis’ Street Views of London.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1801-1900

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music

    Expand
  18. Met Opera on Demand

    Provides streamed video and audio of performances at the Metropolitan Opera House.  Contains videos from the Live in HD series of movie-theater transmissions, videos shown on public television (1977-2003), and radio broadcast performances dating back to 1936.  All videos subtitled.

    • Coverage: 1936-present

    Subjects: Music, Audio and Video Online, Theater Studies

    Expand
  19. Music Index

    Index to periodical articles on music. Coverage is international in scope and includes music of all periods and genres, musical instruments, composers, performers, the music industry, and other music-related topics.

    In addition to comprehensive coverage of periodicals devoted to music, provides selective indexing of journals in related disciplines and of some general titles. The print version of Music Index goes back to 1949.

    • Coverage: 1979 - present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Dance, Music

    Expand
  20. Music Online: Listening

    Offers combined access and cross-searching of 5 different streamed-audio collections. Each collection may also be accessed independently through its own link on the Databases @ Emory page. Contents:

    • American Song
    • Classical Music Library
    • Contemporary World Music
    • Jazz Music Library 
    • Smithsonian Global Sound

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Music

    Expand
  21. Naxos Music Library

    Listen to music from Naxos and over 100 other CD labels via audio streaming. Western classical music, jazz, world music, and other genres are included. CD notes are provided for titles with an “About this recording” link.

    Emory users encountering access issues, please report the specifics to genmus@libcat1.cc.emory.edu, with “Naxos” in the subject line.  Downloads available only through the “Buy Now” links.

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  22. Naxos Music Library: Jazz

    Listen online to music from Fantasy Jazz (includes Riverside, Presitge, Debut, Stax, Volt, Specialty, Pablo), Naxos, and other CD labels via audio streaming. Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users: please log out before closing the connection.

    Emory users encountering access issues, please report the specific problem to genmus@libcat1.cc.emory.edu, with “Naxos Jazz” in the subject line.

    Subjects: African American Studies, Music

    Expand
  23. Nineteenth Century Collections Online

    Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a full-text database of primary sources from the 19th Century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

    • Emory Libraries has access to four collections in this database:
    • Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
    • British Politics and Society
    • British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
    • European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1916

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music, Theater Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  24. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Music

    Guide to scholarly literature in music, subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research, with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

    In Advanced Search, users can cross-search all available modules Oxford Bibliographies Online.

    Walk-in users: OK
    • Coverage: All periods

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  25. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Renaissance and Reformation

    The Renaissance and Reformation module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in Renaissance and Reformation studies.

    It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.

    Walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1300 - 1699

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Music, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies

    Expand