Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 29

  1. AccessScience Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

    Award-winning reference tool providing easy access to authoritative and up-to-date information across all major areas of science and technology.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Physics, Psychology, Reference Sources, Science and Technology

    Expand
  2. Biography in Context

    A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications.

    In-depth profiles, thumbnail sketches, and full-text journal articles are included.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1980-present

    Subjects: History US, History World, Biographies, Reference Sources

    Expand
  3. Books in Print

    Books in Print is a bibliographic database with more than 5 million in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, book, audio book, and video titles.  Some titles also include reviews.

    Also included is complete publisher information including contacts with addresses on over 200,000 publishers, distributors, and wholesalers.

    Subjects: Library and Information Science, Book Reviews, Reference Sources

    Expand
  4. Cambridge Histories Online

    Cambridge Histories Online provides immediate full-text access to more than 300 volumes published since 1960 across 15 subject areas. Users can create accounts and save searches, place bookmarks, and adjust search results.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies, African American Studies, Area Studies, Classics, Economics, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Theater Studies

    Expand
  5. Center for Research Libraries

    The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere.

    Its outstanding collections include more than 500,000 titles, representing CRL's cataloged collections of 3.5 million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries. Most materials from the CRL may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

    CRL can be searched via an Endnote connection file.

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Reference Sources

    Expand
  6. Chicago Manual of Style Online

    A style guide for American English published by the University of Chicago Press.   It deals with aspects of editorial practice, from American English grammar and usage to proper citation style, used in document preparation.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Dissertations and Theses, Reference Sources

    Expand
  7. CQ Political Reference Suite

    The Political Reference Suite includes online versions of a number of well-known CQ reference publications (some cumulative), such as the Political Handbook of the World, Congress and the Nation, Washington Information Directory, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and several others.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Government Information, History Modern 1800-, Law, Political Science, Archives and Primary Sources, Reference Sources

    Expand
  8. Credo Reference Unlimited

    Credo Ready-Reference services feature full-text, aggregated content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. Credo Ready-Reference is a user interface that combines content from multiple publishers cross-referencing technology.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Business, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Reference Sources

    Expand
  9. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

    Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia (articles and illustrations), as well as the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.

    Also provided is an Internet Directory of hypertext links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. An additional encyclopedia, Britannica Intermediate, designed for students in upper elementary grades and high school students is provided as well.

    • Coverage: Current Edition

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  10. Gale Virtual Reference Library

    A collection of online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Education, Government Information, Grants and Funding, History US, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  11. Georgia Libraries Journal List (GOLD)

    The Georgia Libraries Journal List (GOLD) is a title listing of periodical publications owned by libraries throughout the state of Georgia. Information in this database is provided by participating libraries and "GOLD: The Georgia Online Database" produced by OCLC.

    Note: Holdings listed do not reflect 100% of the journals owned by participating institutions.

    • Coverage: Current

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  12. Georgia Reference Shelf

    An online collection of ready reference materials pertaining to the state of Georgia, and particularly to its history and culture.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Georgia, Reference Sources

    Expand
  13. Global Books in Print

    Global Books in Print is a bibliographic database with more than 9 million English and Spanish-language titles from the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, South Africa, and New Zealand.

    Titles include in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, book, e-book, audio book, and video titles. Some titles also include reviews and author bios. Also included is complete publisher information including contacts with addresses on over 300,000 publishers, distributors, and wholesalers world-wide.

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  14. Keesing's Record of World Events Online (Keesings.com)

    Keesing's is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. Keesing's Online offers online access to over 70 years of complete, objective coverage of international events.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1931-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Current Events, Economics, History Modern 1800-, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Reference Sources, Political Science

    Expand
  15. Literature Online

    A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources.

    Tutorial available.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 8th century - present

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, Reference Sources, Spanish

    Expand
  16. MEDLINE

    The National Library of Medicine's premier database indexing literature in biomedicine, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

    1966-present
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1966-present

    Subjects: Medicine, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Anthropology, Health, Public Health, Psychology, Reference Sources

    Expand
  17. MEDLINEplus (at National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health)

    MEDLINEplus, a service of the National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health, provides resources on common diseases and conditions, a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, directories for locating hospitals and doctors, information on prescription and non-prescription drugs, and more information of interest to the public.

    Subjects: Health, Reference Sources

    Expand
  18. Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary

    Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary is available as part of Encyclopaedia Britannica Online. It is a general, English-language dictionary that includes definitions (with the most recent meaning listed last), examples of use, pronunciations, etymologies, and synonyms.

    Hyper-text "hot-links" are provided to related words.

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  19. New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

    The publication of the New Dictionary of the History of Ideas marks the return of a reference work that is an essential tool to make the often complex history of "what we think" accessible to students and general readers.

    The original 1974 Dictionary of the History of Ideas has long been admired as a landmark document encapsulating the thinking of an era. This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History US, History World, Philosophy, Reference Sources

    Expand
  20. Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

    A searchable database of the full-text of the second edition of the Oxford English Dictionary.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  21. Oxford Handbooks Online

    Oxford Handbooks Online provides access to electronic editions of Oxford Handbooks for various subjects in literature, philosophy and political science. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

    The handbooks as a whole offer authoritative and trustworthy guides to the scholarship that defines their respective fields.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Business, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Reference Sources

    Expand
  22. Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO)

    Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual (English) Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish dictionaries. Also includes unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Reference Sources, Spanish

    Expand
  23. Oxford Reference Online

    This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

    Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology

    Expand
  24. Reference Universe

    Reference Universe is designed to be used in conjunction with a library's print reference collection. It provides the ability to search the article titles and back-of-the-book indexes to over 4,200 subject encyclopedias and reference works from 250 publishers, with links directly to EUCLID to indicate which of the titles Emory owns.

    It also links to online versions of the sources, if available, and to reviews of the works indexed. The Browse feature permits exploration by publisher, title, subject heading, index terms, and Library of Congress call number.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Biographies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  25. Serials Directory

    The Serials Directory provides access to current bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. It contains over 184,000 U.S.

    and international titles, including newspapers; historical data for an additional 20,000 titles; data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide, including email and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand