Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 6 of 6

  1. Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew)

    The Adam Matthew Archvie Explorer Cross-searches over 35 Adam Matthew primary source databases. These multiple resources concentrate on English language archival material from the UK and the USA.

    See also these individually listed databases: American West, China: Culture and Society, China: Trade, Politics and Culture, Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966, Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Defining Gender, Eighteenth Century Journals I- V, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America, First World War, Foreign Office Files for China I-III, Foreign Office Files India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 , Global Commodities, India, Raj and Empire, Jewish Life in America, Literary, Manuscripts (Berg), Literary Manuscripts (Leeds), London Low Life, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Mass Observation Online, Medieval Family Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Meiji Japan, Perdita Manuscripts, Rock And Roll, Romanticism, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, The Grand Tour, The Nixon Years, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture, Virginia Company Archives, Women in The National Archives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1580-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  2. Bibliography of Asian Studies

    The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

    The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.

    • Coverage: 1971 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History World, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  3. Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan

    Primary source material from the British National Archive. Subjects include Independence movements of India and Pakistan, Partition, Kashmir, Nehru, Independence for Bangladesh, Emergency Rule, Cold War in Afghanistan, and Return of Civilian Rule in Pakistan.

    Original formats include diplomatic dispatches, inward and outward telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, accounts of visits and tours, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, letters, leaflets and other ephemera.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1947-1980

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  4. Historical Times of India

    The Times of India was founded in 1838 to serve the British residents of West India. It is now the highest circulating English language newspaper in the world, and it now serves to represent the citizens of India.

    This historical database includes the Times’ full coverage of the British Raj, Independence, and Partition. An additional year of content will be added to this database annually.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1838-2001

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  5. India, Raj and Empire

    Manuscript Collections from the National Library of Scotland documenting this history from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947.

    Sources range from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras. There are original Indian manuscripts containing histories and literary works, as well as accounts of wars, discussions of Indian Nationalism and papers of tea and coffee planters.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1615-1947

    Subjects: Area Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  6. World Newspaper Archive: South Asian Newspapers

    The collection will provide more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922. Titles were published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

    Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1864-1922

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, South Asian Studies

    Expand