Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 2 of 2
These literary manuscripts include presentation volumes, commonplace books, and volumes of household accounts, which give context for the poetry and are valuable sources for social and cultural history.Expand
The project combines facsimile images of all the manuscripts in their entirety, linked to new indexing and to the powerful BCMSV database (Leeds Verse Database), which lists first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content, bibliographic references, MS and record number for over 6,600 poems within the collection.
Some of the poets represented include Mary Campbell, John Dryden, George Herbert, Mary Leapor, Andrew Marvell, Alexander Pope, Hester Pulter, and Jonathan Swift. This resource also includes a wealth of songs, riddles, and popular tags.Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Womens and Gender Studies
The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.Expand
The collection covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, News Sources