- Your selections:
- History, World
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 126 - 139 of 139
The Nixon Years is a digital collection of Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) Files 7 and 82 from the British National Archives at Kew. It covers Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administrations achievements, and his use of executive powers culminating in Watergate from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective.Expand
Documents in the collection are full-text searchable and are indexed by notable people, places, and topics. It forms part of the Adam Matthew's Archives Direct collection of British National Archives records.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Government Information, History US, History World
The TLS Historical Archive is the improved, expanded edition of the TLS Centenary Archive. The new edition enables users to full-text search more than one hundred years of the Times Literary Supplement, allowing them to trace the views of influential opinion makers, such as T.S.Expand
Eliot, Virginia Woolf, A.N. Wilson, and Christopher Hitchins, and see the responses of their contemporaries.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Journalism, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology
This database contains primary source accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Documents span from 1818-1970 and cover topics such as architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; natural history; politics; race; religion; science; and war.Expand
Maps explore destinations and travel routes. All documents come from the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library (Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University).
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Womens and Gender Studies
This collection includes comprehensive information relating to treaties and international agreements entered into by members of the United Nations.Expand
Subjects: Government Information, History World
Victorian Popular Culture describes popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930 and shows how interconnected these worlds were.Expand
The first section, ‘Sensation, Magic & Spiritualism’, explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of séances and psychic phenomena in Britain and America. The second section, ‘Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks’ focuses on the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, America and Europe in the 19th and early 20th century. The third section, “Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment”, features material on music halls; theatre (legitimate and illegitimate); pantomime; pleasure gardens; exhibitions; and scientific institutions. The fourth section explores the pivotal era in entertainment history when previously static images came to life and moved for the first time.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Includes the complete Ferrar Papers held in Magdalene College, Cambridge; transcripts by David R. Ransome of documents relating to the Virginia Company; and Susan Kingsbury’s Records of the Virginia Company of London (1906-35).Expand
Documents the founding, economic development, and ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, relations among colonists and Native Americans, and the Ferrar family’s interest in the settlement of North America.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World
Brief annotations are given for links in categories such as humanities metapages, humanities centers and programs, humanities discussion groups and newsgroups, courses, and conferences.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, History World
A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.Expand
Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., its bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) 1975 to present
Current Chemical Reactions 1986 to present (CCR includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)
Index Chemicus 1996 to present
Science Citation Index Expanded 1955 to present
Social Sciences Citation Index 1956 to present
Subjects: Psychology, Environmental Sciences, Science and Technology, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Book Reviews, Business, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies
Wen yuan ge Si ku quan shu dian zi ban, or Si Ku Quan Shu
The Si Ku Quan Shu, or Complete Library in Four Branches of Literature, is the most comprehensive collection of Chinese scholarship from antiquity to the 18th century.Expand
Its contents cover a wide range of subjects, including the classics, history, literature, philosophy, geography, politics, rules and regulations, economics, society, astronomy, science, technology and medicine. Note: This database is on a stand-alone CD-ROM.
Subjects: History World, Philosophy, Religion, Science and Technology
Contains primary source materials on women’s international activism since 1840 including conference proceedings, books, pamphlets, photographs, videos, articles from newspapers and journals, correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs.Expand
Some scholarly articles that comment on the collection are also included.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, History US, Political Science, Womens and Gender Studies
Women in the National Archives is part of Archives Direct and is comprised of two elements: “A Finding Aid to Women’s Studies Resources in the National Archives at Kew” and “Original Documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire, and Colonial Territories.” The Finding Aid is a detailed analysis, on an item basis, of the holdings of the National Archives on the subject of women from c1559 – 1995.Expand
The second part of the resource is the collection of original documents, particularly relating to “The Campaign for Women’s Suffrage in Britain, 1903 – 1928” and “The granting of women’s suffrage in Colonial territories, 1930 – 1963.”
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Womens and Gender Studies
A comprehensive biographical database of European and American peoples from De Gruyter.Expand
Subjects: Biographies, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Reference Sources
World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for more than 130 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964.Expand
These hand-selected information sources cover a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
Subjects: History World
The collection will provide more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922. Titles were published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.Expand
Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).
Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, South Asian Studies