Results 201 - 225 of 1,010
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.Expand
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Biographies
A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications.Expand
In-depth profiles, thumbnail sketches, and full-text journal articles are included.
Subjects: History US, History World, Biographies, Reference Sources
Includes Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, Current Biography, the Junior Authors & Illustrators Series, the Wilson biographical series on world artists, authors, composers, nobel prize winners, songwriters, musicians, film directors, american reformers.Expand
In addition to this list, Biography Reference Bank contains links to every article on any individual full text articles, abstracts, book review excerpts, and more from the periodicals covered by H.W. Wilson databases.
Subjects: History US, History World, Biographies
Publishes peer-reviewed scientific journals rapidly and makes them freely available online. Includes biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genetics, genomics, medicine, microbiology, nursing, and public health.Expand
Emory's institutional subscription allows authors to publish free of charge in BioMed Central journals. Authors who publish with BioMed Central retain copyright over their work.
Subjects: Anthropology, Medicine, Biological Sciences
Indexes full-text scholarly journals in the fields of biological, ecological and environmental science, and combines contemporary biological articles with scientific news of interest to researchers.Expand
Coverage extends from 2000 through the present. Coverage primarily includes journals from small, independent publishers.
Subjects: Biological Sciences
Encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research. This includes biology, botany, zoology, microbiology, veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering.Expand
Indexes journal articles, technical reports, meetings, reviews, and books.1989 to present
Subjects: Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Health, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Science and Technology
A comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the United States and Canada.Expand
Includes image, video, and sound galleries of behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and songs/calls selected from Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds. An online project of the Cornell University Lab of Ornithology.
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Psychology
Contains books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera by individuals of African or African American descent. This collection is a subset of Afro-Americana Imprints.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies
Black Drama contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.Expand
Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. When completed, the database will have over 1,200 plays.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies
Indexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States. Black Studies Center includes the online index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a microfiche collection.ExpandIndexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States. Black Studies Center includes the online index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a microfiche collection. This index allows users to search bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. Many of the works were published in black newspapers, and citations from The Chicago Defender are linked to the full-text page article.
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies
Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper.Expand
The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Black Studies on Disc (Index to Black Periodicals)
Indexes scholarly and popular periodicals in African American studies. Black Studies on Disc also includes provides access to the cumulative catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.Expand
The Schomburg catalog contains references for African American, African, and African Diasporan studies. The Index to Black Periodicals is available in print. (Woodruff Library Reference AI3 .O4).
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies
Black Thought and Culture is a collection of published and unpublished non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, veterans, and other figures.Expand
Highlights include a unique collection of Black Panther oral histories, a full run of Artist and Influence (Billops-Hatch), and interviews from artists ranging from Romare Bearden to Dizzy Gillespie.
Subjects: African American Studies
Scholarly books in the sciences, social sciences and humanities, including edited books and Annual Reviews, are now indexed in Web of Science via Book Citation Index.Expand
Authors can see who’s citing their work and researchers can see what other literature is being referenced potential collaborators. Fully indexes editorially selected books in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Access Book Citation Index by going to Web of Science and choose Book Citation Index under search limits.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Science and Technology
Book Collection: Nonfiction is a cross-curricular research database that contains abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,800 popular nonfiction books for youth on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills, and more.Expand
It provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers such as Allosaurus Publishers, Bess Press, Inc., Branden Publishing, Capstone Press, Compass Point Books, Fulcrum Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds, Inc., Morning Glory Press, Oliver Press, Rourke Publishing, LLC and Stackpole Books.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases
Book Review Digest Plus has select full text with entries drawn from over 8,000 periodicals covered by other Wilson databases. With coverage back to 1983, Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews.Expand
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Book Reviews
Full text, references, updates, and graphics from sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.Expand
Subjects: Nursing, Medicine
Coverage: 1872-1901; when complete, will cover 1872-1922 (Use LexisNexis Academic for recent years of the Boston Globe) Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Boston newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue.Expand
Coverage: 1872-1901; when complete, will cover 1872-1922 (Use LexisNexis Academic for recent years of the Boston Globe)
Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Boston newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue. Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually; when complete, the database will cover 1872-1922.
Subjects: History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources
The online archive includes around 2,750 pamphlets, from the Oliveira Lima Library housed at Catholic University. Most of the pamphlets relate specifically to Brazil.Expand
Significant coverage is given to history, politics and literature. Additional content covers social and economic conditions, agriculture and trade, travel and immigration, law and diplomacy, religion, women's rights, medicine, public health, foreign and international relations, geography, Pan-Americanism, positivism, the First World War, the Portuguese and Spanish empires, and more. More than 90% of the pamphlets are in Portuguese, with additional content in English, French, Spanish, German, Italian and Latin. The majority were published in Brazil or Portugal.
Part I includes approximately 2,750 pamphlets, defined as monographs of fifty or fewer pages, representing more than 80,000 digitized pages of speeches, flyers, official decrees, sermons, poems, plays, concert and theatre programs, funeral orations, letters to editors, individual newspaper and magazine articles, and separata of newspaper and magazine articles. Covering a date range from 1800 to the mid twentieth century, many of these pamphlets represent the only known copy in the world.
Part II “Monographs” features approximately one million pages of primary sources on Brazilian history from colony to republic, as well as the political and economic dimensions of Brazil and the Portuguese e
Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Multi-media reference with over 500 entries on the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of the official institutionalized religions as well as their role in daily life and public discourse.Expand
It helps to map out and define the networks and connections created by various religions in contemporary societies, and provides models for understanding these complex phenomena.
Scholarly interdisciplinary reference work on the religion of Hinduism in its divergent and common forms. Articles are organized thematically in sections and alphabetically within sections.Expand
The index offers an alphabetically organized listing of all topics.
Brill's New Jacoby (BNJ) is a collection of commentary on the fragments of 856 Greek historians whose works have survived only in fragments. BNJ supersedes F. Jacoby's monumental 18 volume, Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker, Parts I-III.Expand
Each author has the Greek text with facing English translation; new, critical commentary; a brief encyclopedia-style entry, and a select bibliography.
Subjects: Classics, Biological Sciences
Full-text articles on all aspects of the ancient world, including persons, places, institutions, events, artifacts, technical terms, ideas and concepts, and interaction between Greek and Roman culture with others (Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, etc.).Expand
Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and black-and white photographs. Brill's New Pauly Online includes the entire text of Metzler's Der Neue Pauly and also all volumes of the English language Brill's New Pauly.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.Expand
Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research. With so much material now being published on the world wide web in either un-reviewed form, or in fee-based services, the IHR has shown its commitment to promoting the study of history by publishing these priceless resources for their historical value, cross-searchable, in one place and free of charge.
Highlights include sources relating to national and local government (excluding Parliament), and the development of British law. Sources relating to the churches, religious houses and other religious groups. Records of commerce and trade, taxation, population and property. Sources relating to art and architecture, science and the history of ideas. Historical and topographical sources relating to specific places. Parliamentary history: Sources relating to proceedings and legislation in the two Houses of Parliament at Westminster and sources for metropolitan London and other urban centres.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-
BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service) aims to aid researchers interested in British Official Publications over the period 1688 -1995 by providing a Web-based bibliographic database (including Parliamentary papers).Expand
The BOPCRIS database enables researchers to search and browse for relevant documents, read abstracts, and view detailed consistent subject indexing of key documents so they can assess whether they need to see the full document. The database also offers digitized full-text versions of a limited number of documents.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-