- Your selections:
- ETHNIC STUDIES
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 26 - 48 of 48
A full-text collection of U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. This database includes both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) indexes.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Current Events, Ethnic Studies, Georgia, History US, Jewish Studies, News Sources, Sociology
Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Current Events, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, LGBT Studies, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies
Currently includes these newspapers: The Cherokee Phoenix, Colored Tribune, and The Dublin Post. Other papers will be added when available.Expand
Coverage varies from paper to paper.
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Ethnic Studies, Georgia, History US, News Sources
A selective bibliography on Latin America. Indexes journals, books and book chapters, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Comparative Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish
Compilation of Spanish-language newspapers – some published in both Spanish and English - printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Can be searched simultaneously with other historical newspapers via the America's Historical Newspapers database.Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Ethnic Studies, History US, Journalism, News Sources
Includes information about Latin Americans in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.Expand
Topics include politics and government, business, economic development and policy issues, gender studies, environmental issues, history, anthropology, religion, art, literature, drama, and film. HAPI indexes journals about Latin America that are written in the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian.
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish
Index to Jewish Periodicals provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 popular and scholarly journals devoted to Jewish affairs.Expand
Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
Subjects: Jewish Studies, Ethnic Studies
¡Informe! offers single-search access to the full text of more than 420 Spanish-language and bilingual products, covering a wide range of subjects, from current events to academic disciplines.Expand
Subjects: Ethnic Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish
The Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international.Expand
The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. JCR Web shows the relationship between citing and cited journals in a clear, easy-to-use framework. JCR Web is available annually in two editions, the Science Edition and the Social Sciences Edition.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Subjects: Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Business, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Mathematics, Library and Information Science, Physical Education and Sports, Political Science, Psychology, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies, Institutional Productivity and Research Analytics
JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.Expand
JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Middle East Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
The most comprehensive collection of Latino Literature yet created. When complete it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.Expand
Although the collection includes materials from the Nineteenth Century, the vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present.
Subjects: Comparative Literature, Ethnic Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish
Provides access to the diversity of literature on leftist politics and socio-economic affairs (communism, anarchism, marxism, etc.). Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.Expand
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Subjects: Ethnic Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.ExpandEBSCOhost version
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Naxos Music Library: World features music from cultures around the world, centering on the complete Smithsonian Folkways catalog while also providing thousands of additional recordings from labels like Sony, Warner, Arc, Celestial Harmonies, and Naxos World.Expand
Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users; please log out before closing the connection.
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Music
Personal narratives of immigrants to the United States and Canada, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral history interviews, beginning around 1840 and extending to the present but focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980.Expand
Provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants countries of origin. Also includes selected emigrant guides and advice books for immigrants, political cartoons, and audio and video.
Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, Jewish Studies, Womens and Gender Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
The database contains over 240 plays by 48 playwrights. Including a wealth of dramatic material, some of which was previously unpublished, overlooked, or inaccessible, this collection includes plays produced by the Native American Theatre Ensemble (NATE), Spiderwoman Theater, Toronto’s Native Earth Performing Arts, Seattle’s Red Eagle Soaring, and New York’s Coatlicue Theater Company. The collection includes American Indian and First Nation playwrights from groups including Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Hawaiian/Samoan, Comanche, Cree, Navaho, and Rappahannock.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, American Indian Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History US, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
The Oxford African American Studies Center is an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. The site is comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.Expand
Core texts includes: Africana, The Encyclopedia of African American History; Black Women in America, and The African American National Biography. In addition, the site includes over 300 carefully edited primary source documents with commentaries, approximately 2,300 images and over 300 charts, tables, graphs, maps, and timelines.
Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editor-in-chief.Walk in users: OK; 5 simultaneous users
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies
The Atlantic History module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field of Atlantic History.Expand
It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.Walk-in users: OK
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
This newspaper collection provides cultural perspective and insight to events that shaped the United States in the twentieth century. From the beginnings of the protest movement to end segregation to the ongoing challenges involving affirmative action and racial profiling.Expand
Black Newspapers provide a record of social change spanning almost a century from the perspective of those most affected by racism in American life. Covering major events to everyday life, these titles are invaluable research tools for studying American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and art. This collection includes: includes Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1946-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), & Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, News Sources
The Index to Articles on Jewish Studies - is a selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish Studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. RAMBI is based largely on the collections of the National Library of Israel.Expand
Articles listed in RAMBI are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers. RAMBI refers to articles in Hebrew, Latin or Cyrillic letters. The database is updated on a daily basis.
Subjects: Ethnic Studies, Jewish Studies
A digital collection of poetry written by important African American poets of the twentieth century. Includes over 6,000 poems.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases
Victorian Popular Culture describes popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930 and shows how interconnected these worlds were.Expand
The first section, ‘Sensation, Magic & Spiritualism’, explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of séances and psychic phenomena in Britain and America. The second section, ‘Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks’ focuses on the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, America and Europe in the 19th and early 20th century. The third section, “Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment”, features material on music halls; theatre (legitimate and illegitimate); pantomime; pleasure gardens; exhibitions; and scientific institutions. The fourth section explores the pivotal era in entertainment history when previously static images came to life and moved for the first time.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.Expand
The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage captures longer-term and multiple perspectives, so students can make connections across cultures and over time, incorporating people, places, events, and artifacts from around the world and across the centuries.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Audio and Video Online, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, American Indian Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biographies, Chinese Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Georgia, Government Information, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies, Jewish Studies, Journalism, Korean Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, LGBT Studies, Middle East Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies