Databases @ Emory - Robert W. Woodruff Library - Emory University

Browse Databases

By Subject

By Letter

0-9
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z

By Status

Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 46 of 46

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is a streaming music service with a selection of over 130,000 classical music albums with new albums added monthly. The service offers the complete catalogues of BIS, Chandos, CPO, Hanssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos and selected recordings from over 650 other labels.
CD notes are provided for titles with an “About this recording” link. A downloadable mobile app allows offline listening, though requires further registration.
Subjects: Music
Expand
Naxos Music Library: Jazz
Listen online to streaming music from jazz label Fantasy Jazz (includes Riverside, Presitge, Debut, Stax, Volt, Specialty, Pablo), Naxos, and others.
Over 32,000 artists are represented. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users; please log out before closing the connection.
Subjects: African American Studies, Music
Expand
Naxos Music Library: World
Naxos Music Library: World features music from cultures around the world, centering on the complete Smithsonian Folkways catalog while also providing thousands of additional recordings from labels like Sony, Warner, Arc, Celestial Harmonies, and Naxos World.
Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users; please log out before closing the connection.
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Music
Expand
Naxos Video Library
An extensive streaming library of over 2,700 videos, including mainly opera, classical music performances, ballet, and live concerts; also includes some theater and documentaries.
Extensive subtitles provided. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users: please log out before closing the connection.
Subjects: Anthropology, Film and Media Studies, History World, Music, Theater Studies
Expand
Naxos Works Database
Building on Naxos’s extensive music catalog, Naxos Works provides metadata about works of classical music, including instrumentation, year of composition, composer biographies, etc.
Subjects: Music
Expand
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a full-text database of primary sources from the 19th Century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
- Emory Libraries has access to four collections in this database:
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
- British Politics and Society
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
- Full Text: Yes
- Coverage: 1700-1916
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music, Theater Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Expand
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Music
Guide to scholarly literature in music, subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research, with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
In Advanced Search, users can cross-search all available modules Oxford Bibliographies Online.
Walk-in users: OK
- Coverage: All periods
Subjects: Music
Expand
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Renaissance and Reformation
The Renaissance and Reformation module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in Renaissance and Reformation studies.
It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.
Walk-in users: OK
- Full Text: Yes
- Coverage: 1300 - 1699
Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Music, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies
Expand
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India
Covers Indian music through 2,000 years of history, as well as music of the Indian Subcontinent, including Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Articles include biographies and entries on technical terms, dances styles, instruments, and on styles of music from classical to film-originated.
Published in 2011.
- Full Text: Yes
Subjects: Music
Expand
Oxford History of Western Music
This is the online version of Richard Taruskin’s Oxford History of Western Music, containing the complete text of the 2009 paperback edition (5 volumes), but lacking some of the images due to copyright restrictions. It provides full-text searching and browsing capability, and includes 1,700 links to relevant entries to Grove Music Online. Recommended browsers: specifically designed for functionality on IE8, IE7, Firefox 3, Firefox 2, Safari 3.
- Full Text: Yes
- Coverage: 8th¿20th century
Subjects: Music
Expand
Oxford Music Online
Offers combined access to the Oxford Dictionary of Music (2d ed., 2006), the Oxford Companion to Music (2002), and Grove Music Online. The latter source provides in-depth coverage of music of all styles, periods, and cultures, and comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.
(2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. (2002), plus more recent updates to some articles.
- Full Text: Yes
- Coverage: Print editions published 1992-2006.
Subjects: Music
Expand
Oxford Reference Online
This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.
- Coverage: Varies
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology
Expand
Project Muse
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
- Coverage: Varies
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Economics, English and American Literature, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Library and Information Science, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Expand
Research Library GALILEO Edition (at ProQuest)
Formerly known as Periodical Abstracts. Covers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.
Full-text available starting in 1991.
Note: If you receive the error "ProQuest is unable to authenticate your user account," use the ProQuest cookie cutter to correct it.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
- Full Text: Yes
- Coverage: 1986 to present
Subjects: Book Reviews, Current Events, Dance, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Political Science, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies
Expand
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Compiled by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) is the world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 202 languages from 5,200 journals.
- Coverage: 1969 to present
Subjects: Dance, Film and Performing Arts, Music
Expand
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
Indexes music periodical literature from approximately 1800 to 1950, providing complete indexing of contents including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more.
You can see a list of titles indexed (over 140 so far) and introductory essays about each periodical. "RIPM" is short for the French name of the project, Répertoire international de la presse musicale.
- Coverage: 1800-1950
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Music
Expand
Smithsonian Global Sound
Listen via streamed audio to folk and traditional music from around the world, from Folkways, Smithsonian Folkways, and other labels. Use "Music Online: Listening" (accessible from the Databases @ Emory page) for combined access to Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Jazz Music Library.
Subjects: Music
Expand
South Asian records of the USPG
The documents in this resource come from the archives of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). Some are true archives, arising from the work of the Society in India; some are manuscripts which cover the period when the Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge (SPCK), founded in 1698 was working with the Royal Danish (Lutheran) Mission, founded in 1705.
They chart the history of Anglican Protestant engagement in the South Asia.
- Full Text: Yes
- Coverage: 1770 - 1931
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music, Religion
Expand
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
The TLS Historical Archive is the improved, expanded edition of the TLS Centenary Archive. The new edition enables users to full-text search more than one hundred years of the Times Literary Supplement, allowing them to trace the views of influential opinion makers, such as T.S.
Eliot, Virginia Woolf, A.N. Wilson, and Christopher Hitchins, and see the responses of their contemporaries.
- Full Text: Yes
- Coverage: 1902-2006
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Journalism, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology
Expand
Web of Science (ISI Citation Indexes)
A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., its bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) 1975 to present
Current Chemical Reactions 1986 to present (CCR includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)
Index Chemicus 1996 to present
Science Citation Index Expanded 1955 to present
Social Sciences Citation Index 1956 to present
Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.
- Coverage: varies
Subjects: Psychology, Environmental Sciences, Science and Technology, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Book Reviews, Business, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies
Expand
World History in Video
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage captures longer-term and multiple perspectives, so students can make connections across cultures and over time, incorporating people, places, events, and artifacts from around the world and across the centuries.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Audio and Video Online, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, American Indian Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biographies, Chinese Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Georgia, Government Information, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies, Jewish Studies, Journalism, Korean Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, LGBT Studies, Middle East Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Expand