Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 50 of 102

  1. Archives Unbound, Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945

    Digital collection of materials related to civil rights issues from President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Official File. Topics covered include lynching, segregation, race riots, and employment discrimination.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1933-1945

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound, Grassroots Civil Rights & Social Activism: FBI Files on Benjamin J. Davis, Jr.

    Digital collection of FBI Files pertaining to Benjamin J. Davis (1903-1964), an influential African American member of the Communist Party.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1990

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound, Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis and the Communist Workers Party

    Digital collection of documents related to the 1979 "Greensboro Massacre." Materials include files from the FBI, local and state police, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, and the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1979-1981

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound, Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963

    Digital collection of documents related to the integration of the University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa. Materials primarily consist of records from the Department of the Army regarding the confrontation between the Governor of Alabama and the President of the United States, which resulted the federalization of the Alabama National Guard.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound, James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi, 1961-1962

    Digital archive of Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) documentation on James Meredith’s battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Other notable primary sources include Meredith’s correspondence with the NAACP, and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.

    • Content: 8,792 pages
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961-1962

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound, Liberation Movement in Africa and African America

    Digitized FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and the All African People’s Revolutionary Party.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1970-1985

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound, Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement

    Digital collection of documents related to African American writer Amiri Baraka. Materials include rare works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, over one hundred articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, a small amount of personal correspondence, and oral histories.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1913-1998

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound, Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979

    Digital collection of the records of the United Domestic Workers Union of Atlanta, Georgia, from 1965-1979.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1965-1979

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound, Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement

    Transcriptions of nearly 700 oral histories from the Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection. Topics covered include voting rights, discrimination in housing, school desegregation, racism in hiring, police brutality, and poverty in African American communities.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1967-1973

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound, Republic of New Afrika

    Digital collection of FBI documents related to the Republic of New Afrika (RNA). The RNA was a social movement organization that advocated for the creation of an African American majority country in the southeastern United States, argued that the federal government pay reparations to African American descendants of slaves, and demanded a referendum of all African Americans to allow them to decide their citizenry.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1968-1980
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound, Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party: Papers of James and Esther Cooper Jackson

    Digital collection of the papers of African American communists and civil rights activists James and Esther Cooper Jackson. The collection includes biographical material, correspondence, lectures, notebooks, speeches, and subject files pertaining to the Communist Party and the Southern Negro Youth Congress.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1932-2000
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound: Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle

    Digitized collection of FBI surveillance and informant reports, correspondence, news clippings and Justice Department memoranda related to the Black Liberation Army, an underground, black-nationalist organization in operation between 1970 and 1981.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1970-1983

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound: Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project

    Digital collection of newsletters, magazines, newspapers, letters and other assorted literature published by Rastafari organizations between 1971 and 2014.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1971-2014

    Subjects: African American Studies

    Expand
  14. ATLA Religion Database

    Indexes journals, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1949 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, LGBT Studies, Religion

    Expand
  15. Atlanta Daily World Historical

    Atlanta’s oldest continuously publishing black newspaper and the nation's first successful black daily. Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003, available via Black Studies Center.

    For more recent issues see Newsbank Access World News database. http://libcat1.cc.emory.edu:32888/DB=awn

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1931-2003

    Subjects: African American Studies, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  16. Auburn Avenue Research Library Finding Aids

    The Auburn Avenue Research Library Finding Aids database consists of guides to archival and manuscript collections held by the Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History, a special library of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System.

    The library's primary source materials document the experiences of African-Americans in Atlanta, the Southeastern region, and throughout the nation.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  17. Bibliography of American Literature

    Recognized as one of the greatest achievements of twentieth-century scholarship, the Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930.

    More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

    • Coverage: 1776-1930

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US

    Expand
  18. Black Drama

    Black Drama contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

    Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. When completed, the database will have over 1,200 plays.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1850 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  19. Black Literature Index

    Indexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States. Black Studies Center includes the online index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a microfiche collection.

    Indexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States. Black Studies Center includes the online index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a microfiche collection.  This index allows users to search bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. Many of the works were published in black newspapers, and citations from The Chicago Defender are linked to the full-text page article. 
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1827-1940

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  20. Black Studies Center

    Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper.

    The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  21. Black Studies on Disc (Index to Black Periodicals)

    Indexes scholarly and popular periodicals in African American studies. Black Studies on Disc also includes provides access to the cumulative catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

    The Schomburg catalog contains references for African American, African, and African Diasporan studies. The Index to Black Periodicals is available in print. (Woodruff Library Reference AI3 .O4).

    • Coverage: 1988-1999

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  22. Black Thought and Culture

    Black Thought and Culture is a collection of published and unpublished non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, veterans, and other figures.

    Highlights include a unique collection of Black Panther oral histories, a full run of Artist and Influence (Billops-Hatch), and interviews from artists ranging from Romare Bearden to Dizzy Gillespie.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies

    Expand
  23. British Online Archives

    This archive of digitized microfilm has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonized by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia.

    Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1994

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  24. British Records on the Atlantic World, 1700-1900

    This database provides online access to collections on the history of the Atlantic world from the British Archives. It includes materials such as journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers spanning two centuries of Britain's colonial, commercial, missionary and literary relations with Africa and the Americas.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1900

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  25. Cambridge Companions Online

    Cambridge Companions Complete Collection presently contains the Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, classics and culture; more collections in subject areas will be added soon.

    The collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

    4-5 Simultaneous users

    Walk in users: OK; 4-5 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand