Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 50 of 56

  1. Historical Abstracts [EBSCOhost]

    Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1955 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies

    Expand
  2. House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP)

    Full-text digital copies of British Parliamentary publications including Hansard, official parliamentary debates, and the British sessional papers, the working papers of government.

    Extremely important primary sources for British, European, U.S. and world history.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 18th-19th century

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Economics, Education, Government Information, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, Political Science

    Expand
  3. HRAF World Cultures (eHRAF)

    eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of ethnographic and other documents (including books, journal articles, and dissertations) on all aspects of cultural and social life.

    The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized and searchable by cultures/ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It is great for cross-cultural comparisons of customs and beliefs of groups all over the world.

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  4. Index Islamicus

    Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.

    Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

    CSA
    • Coverage: 1906-Current

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, History World, Political Science, Religion

    Expand
  5. JSTOR

    JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.

    JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  6. Keesing's Record of World Events Online (Keesings.com)

    Keesing's is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. Keesing's Online offers online access to over 70 years of complete, objective coverage of international events.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1931-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Current Events, Economics, History Modern 1800-, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Reference Sources, Political Science

    Expand
  7. Literary Research Guide

    A selective, annotated guide to essential reference sources for the study of British literature, United States literatures, and other literatures in English. The contents include over 1,000 entries, which reference nearly 1,600 additional books, articles, and electronic resources.

    Over 700 reviews are cited.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Theater Studies, Spanish, Multidisciplinary Databases, Linguistics, Library and Information Science, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Journalism, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History US, Jewish Studies, French Literature and Language, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature

    Expand
  8. Literature Criticism Online

    Provides access to editorially selected critical responses of authors, works, and topics from every age and literary discipline. Includes over 200,000 reprinted critical essays, arranged chronologically within each entry to provide a “history” of the critical reception of a work. Literature Criticism is the online version of Gale’s literature criticism print sets:

    • Contemporary Literary Criticism
    • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
    • Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
    • Literature Criticism, 1400-1800
    • Shakespeare Literature Criticism
    • Classical & Medieval Criticism
    • Poetry Criticism
    • Drama Criticism
    • Short Story Criticism
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History US, History World

    Expand
  9. Macmillan Cabinet Papers 1957-1963

    Macmillan Online provides historians and political scientists with direct access to over 30,000 documents from the highest level of the British Government during the Macmillan Administration.

    Covers not only domestic politics but also major foreign policy challenges including the erection of Berlin Wall, the Cuban Missile, Crisis and the dissolution of the British empire. Includes scholarly essays to provide context.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1957-1963

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, Political Science, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  10. MLA International Bibliography

    Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

    EBSCOhost version
    • Coverage: 1926 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  11. Music Index

    Index to periodical articles on music. Coverage is international in scope and includes music of all periods and genres, musical instruments, composers, performers, the music industry, and other music-related topics.

    In addition to comprehensive coverage of periodicals devoted to music, provides selective indexing of journals in related disciplines and of some general titles. The print version of Music Index goes back to 1949.

    • Coverage: 1979 - present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Dance, Music

    Expand
  12. Music Online: Listening

    Offers combined access and cross-searching of 5 different streamed-audio collections. Each collection may also be accessed independently through its own link on the Databases @ Emory page. Contents:

    • American Song
    • Classical Music Library
    • Contemporary World Music
    • Jazz Music Library 
    • Smithsonian Global Sound

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Music

    Expand
  13. Nineteenth Century Collections Online

    Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a full-text database of primary sources from the 19th Century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

    • Emory Libraries has access to four collections in this database:
    • Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
    • British Politics and Society
    • British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
    • European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1916

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music, Theater Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  14. Oxford Bibliographies Online. African Studies

    A major resource which leads users to the most important African Studies literature in a wide variety of topics through extensive scholarly bibliographic essays and lists.

    Includes overviews, reference works, journals, controversies and schools of thought. An excellent way to begin research. Will be regularly updated.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan

    Expand
  15. Oxford Bibliographies Online. African Studies

    A major resource which leads users to the most important African Studies literature in a wide variety of topics through extensive scholarly bibliographic essays and lists.

    Includes overviews, reference works, journals, controversies and schools of thought. An excellent way to begin research. Will be regularly updated.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan

    Expand
  16. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Atlantic History

    The Atlantic History module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field of Atlantic History.

    It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.

    Walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1500 - Present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies

    Expand
  17. Popline

    Includes articles, reports, and books about population studies. Topics include reproductive health, family planning, health policy, AIDS, environmental health, public health, and development.

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Anthropology, Sociology, Health

    Expand
  18. Queen Victoria's Journals

    This full text, full image database covers the 141 surviving volumes of Queen Victoria’s journal and reproduces the pages as high-resolution color images and includes separate photographs of the illustrations and inserts contained within the pages.

    The journals contain household and family concerns, as well as comments on literature and affairs of state and are a valuable primary source for scholars of nineteenth-century British political and social history, as well as for those working on gender studies and autobiographical writing.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1832 - 1901

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Science and Technology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  19. Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007

    An important portal for slavery and abolition studies, this database brings together documents and collections covering the period 1490-2007 from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world.

    Subjects include varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Contains images of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images not available elsewhere plus original essays by leading scholars, and links to other sites. Part 1 of 3 currently available.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1490-2007

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  20. Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006

    Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.**Advanced search by index types: Entire document, article title, author, page number, issue number, document number or keyword**Browse by issue

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1822-2006

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Journalism, News Sources, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology

    Expand
  21. Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

    The TLS Historical Archive is the improved, expanded edition of the TLS Centenary Archive. The new edition enables users to full-text search more than one hundred years of the Times Literary Supplement, allowing them to trace the views of influential opinion makers, such as T.S.

    Eliot, Virginia Woolf, A.N. Wilson, and Christopher Hitchins, and see the responses of their contemporaries.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1902-2006

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Journalism, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  22. Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade

    Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections.

    The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, Latin American and Caribbean Studies

    Expand
  23. UN Human Rights

    Indexes citations to U.N. documents and publications from the UNBIS (United Nations Bibliographic Information System). Also includes full-text of international human rights instruments.

    • Coverage: 1980-1995

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies

    Expand
  24. Voyages: Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

    Provides the most comprehensive source of data on the Atlantic slave trade. Based on the records of almost 35,000 Atlantic slave trade voyages, the database provides information on ships, crew, slave cargo, and routes.

    Information is supplemented by extensive maps and other resources.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1514-1866

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  25. Women in the National Archives

    Women in the National Archives is part of Archives Direct and is comprised of two elements: “A Finding Aid to Women’s Studies Resources in the National Archives at Kew” and “Original Documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire, and Colonial Territories.” The Finding Aid is a detailed analysis, on an item basis, of the holdings of the National Archives on the subject of women from c1559 – 1995.

    The second part of the resource is the collection of original documents, particularly relating to “The Campaign for Women’s Suffrage in Britain, 1903 – 1928” and “The granting of women’s suffrage in Colonial territories, 1930 – 1963.”

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1559 - 1995

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand