Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 50 of 170

  1. Archives Unbound, "Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era

    Digital archive of the early-20th century magazine, Moving Picture World, which set a standard for the broadest possible coverage of silent film, and reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry.

    • Content: 115,972 images
    • Source Library: Library of Congress
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1907-1927

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound, Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63

    Digital archive of formerly classified documents from the U.S. State Department relating to Czechoslovakia. Records include reports on politics and military affairs, statistics, interviews and minutes of meetings, court proceedings, US diplomatic cables, translations of high-level foreign government documents, journals and newspapers.

    • Content: 52,359 pages
    • Source Library: U.S. National Archives
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1963

    Subjects: Government Information, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound, Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1935-1910

    Digital archive consisting of Board of Foreign Missions records of the Presbyterian Church. The majority of the material consists of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.

    Other primary sources include diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale, and field accounts.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1835-1910

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound, Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s, 1956-1971

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on the following radical groups and their movements to change American government and society: COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI, Abbie Hoffman, Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Muslim Mosque, Inc., Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference

    • Content: 87,391 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1956-1971

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound, Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on African American groups including A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, Cointelpro/Black Nationalist Hate Groups, Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, Highlander Folk School, Ku Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Moorish Science Temple of America, Murder of Lemuel Penn, Muslim Mosque, Inc., NAACP, National Negro Congress, Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, Thurgood Marshall, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey.

    • Content: 88,021 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1920-1984

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound, Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration

    Digital archive of subject files from the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) organized in London in 1938 to assist in the resettlement of refugees from Europe.

    • Content: 30,100 images
    • Source Library: U.S. National Archives
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1938-1947

    Subjects: Ethnic Studies, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound, James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi, 1961-1962

    Digital archive of Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) documentation on James Meredith’s battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Other notable primary sources include Meredith’s correspondence with the NAACP, and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.

    • Content: 8,792 pages
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961-1962

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound: Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949

    Digital archive of records from the State Department’s Central Classified Files relating to Indochina, 1945-1949. Documents include State Department correspondence, telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence.

    • Content: 10,715 images
    • Source Library: National Archives (U.S.)
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound: Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection

    This collection consists of original documents collected by Jewish communist and committed member of the underground resistance David Diamant over a period of approximately 30 years. They primarily deal with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.

    • Content: 1,235 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound: Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848 (Journaux de la Revolution de 1848)

    Digital collection of French Revolution newspapers dating from 1848 to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852. Materials in French.

    • Content: 68,151 pages
    • Source Library: The British Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1848-1852

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  13. ArchivesUSA

    ArchivesUSA is a current directory of over 5,500 repositories and more than 161,000 collections of primary source material across the United States. Includes the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) , created by the Library of Congress, covering more than 106,000 collections, as well as the entire National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS).

    Offered as part of Archive Finder.

    • Coverage: 1959 - Present

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  14. Aristoteles Latinus Database

    The critical edition of the Medieval Latin Aristotle including the entire corpus of all known Latin versions and all Medieval Greek-Latin translations, forming the main tools for the study of science and philosophy in the Middle Ages.

    Prepared and supervised by the Artistoteles Latinus Center of the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, ALD Online can be searched on its own or simultaneously with Library of Latin Texts, the Monumenta Germaniae Historica.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Middle Ages to the present

    Subjects: Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy, Religion, Science and Technology, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  15. ARTFL project

    Corpus of texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.

    There is also a Provenal database that includes texts in their original spellings. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  16. ARTstor

    The ARTstor Charter Collection currently contains approximately 300,000 images; by 2006 it is expected to contain 500,000. The Charter Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

    Its richness, scope and variety support the needs of teachers and scholars throughout the arts and humanities. What's in ARTstor?

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History US

    Expand
  17. Atlanta Constitution Historical

    Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Atlanta newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue.

    Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1868 - 1945 (Use LexisNexis Academic for 1991- )

    Subjects: Georgia, History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  18. Atlanta Daily World Historical

    Atlanta’s oldest continuously publishing black newspaper and the nation's first successful black daily. Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003, available via Black Studies Center.

    For more recent issues see Newsbank Access World News database. http://libcat1.cc.emory.edu:32888/DB=awn

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1931-2003

    Subjects: African American Studies, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  19. Black Studies Center

    Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper.

    The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  20. Boston Globe Historical

    Coverage: 1872-1901; when complete, will cover 1872-1922 (Use LexisNexis Academic for recent years of the Boston Globe) Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Boston newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue.

    Coverage: 1872-1901; when complete, will cover 1872-1922 (Use LexisNexis Academic for recent years of the Boston Globe)

    Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Boston newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue. Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually; when complete, the database will cover 1872-1922.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1872-1923

    Subjects: History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  21. British Online Archives

    This archive of digitized microfilm has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonized by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia.

    Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1994

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  22. British Periodicals I

    British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages.

    Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1691-1937

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy

    Expand
  23. British Records on the Atlantic World, 1700-1900

    This database provides online access to collections on the history of the Atlantic world from the British Archives. It includes materials such as journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers spanning two centuries of Britain's colonial, commercial, missionary and literary relations with Africa and the Americas.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1900

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  24. Center for Research Libraries

    The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere.

    Its outstanding collections include more than 500,000 titles, representing CRL's cataloged collections of 3.5 million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries. Most materials from the CRL may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

    CRL can be searched via an Endnote connection file.

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Reference Sources

    Expand
  25. Chicago Defender

    Chicago Defender 1910-1975, available via Proquest Historical Newspapers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1975

    Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand