Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 48 of 48

  1. Humanities International Complete

    Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1975 - present

    Subjects: African American Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, History Modern 1800-, History Modern 1800-, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Religion, Theater Studies

    Expand
  2. Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals

    Indexes entire journal contents -- articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements -- of nearly all art periodicals that were published in the United States during the 19th century.

    Includes information on popular culture and industry, as well as artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration, and collecting.

    • Coverage: 1800-1900

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand
  3. International Bibliography of Art (see also BHA)

    International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and indexes core journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.

    The IBA’s focus is European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.

    • Coverage: 2008-present

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  4. Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

    Indexes journals covering the cultural aspects of the Renaissance in Europe from 1300-1700. It will eventually include all aspects of the Renaissance and Middle Ages (400-1500).

    • Coverage: 1843 to present

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  5. JSTOR

    JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.

    JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  6. Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)

    Based on materials from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods, LEME is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript.

    The texts of word entries tell us what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period covered by the Short-title and Wing catalogues. Their lexical insights shaped the history of our living tongue. LEME is not a period dictionary, but a source of contemporary testimony that illustrates word usage. LEME is able to utilize many sources that the Oxford English Dictionary, which covers 1500 years, could not include as a result of its necessary selection of the lexical evidence.

    • Coverage: c 1450 - c 1700

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  7. London Lowlife

    London Lowlife is a database of materials focusing on street life in Victorian London. The collection includes fast literature, posters, advertising, playbills, ballads, broadsides, penny fiction, cartoons, chapbooks, street cries, Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens as well as tourist guides, maps and the manuscripts of George Gissing.

    There is also a complete collection of Tallis’ Street Views of London.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1801-1900

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music

    Expand
  8. Medieval Travel Writing

    This database presents manuscripts of European travel writing dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries culled from libraries around the world. It covers geography, exploration, trade, literature, and the new field of medieval postcolonial studies.

    The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East, Asia as well as travel to the Holy Land. The original documents are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English, so supporting secondary texts of translations and editions are included. There is also a gallery of maps and images, a bibliography and chronology, and a slideshow.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1200-1500

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Religion

    Expand
  9. Naxos Video Library

    Streaming video of music concerts and documentaries, plus some theater and fine arts programs. Includes classical concerts, jazz, opera, ballet, lectures, and master classes.

    Users may create personal playlists.

    Expand

    Videos streamed at 700 Kbps or 2 Mbps, viewable as full screen, 2/3 screen or 1/4 screen. Subtitles and libretti included where available.

    • Coverage: 20th-21st century
    • Trial

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Audio and Video Online, Music, Theater Studies

    Expand
  10. Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB)

    Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) is an online version and continuation of the Annual Egyptological (AEB), published in print 1947-2001, as well as Christine Beinlich-Seebers Bibliographie Altagypten 1822-1946.

    OEB uses the Trlit CG Times font for the display of Egyptian Transliteration characters, and recommends the Mozilla Firefox web browser for the correct display of the phonetic Unicode characters. Microsoft Internet Explorer may not display all of the characters correctly.

    • Coverage: 1822-present

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, Dissertations and Theses, History World, Religion

    Expand
  11. Oxford Art Online (incl. Grove Art, Benezit's, etc.)

    Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online (an encyclopedia of over 40,000 articles covering art, artists, and all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, as well as digital images of the most frequently studied works of art), The Oxford Companion to Western Art (entries with reliable coverage of artists and their work), Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (entries by art historians, philosophers, and theorists), and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Print edition published in 1996

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand
  12. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Art History

    A guide to scholarly literature in the field, covering major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources. Articles are written by established scholars.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Art and Architecture

    Expand
  13. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Renaissance and Reformation

    The Renaissance and Reformation module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in Renaissance and Reformation studies.

    It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.

    Walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1300 - 1699

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Music, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies

    Expand
  14. Oxford Islamic Studies Online

    Provides online access to more than 3,000 articles and electronic resources in English on the Islamic world, includes more than 150 primary source documents with editorial instructions, and has a glossary of Islamic terms.

    Also includes two interpretations and one concordance of the Koran.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 570-2007

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biographies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion

    Expand
  15. Oxford Reference Online

    This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

    Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology

    Expand
  16. Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700

    This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. Perdita means "lost woman" and the purpose of the project has been to find early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form.

    Over 230 entries have been selected and digitized. In addition to the digital facsimiles, the site includes biographical and bibliographical information and essays by specialists in the field.

    • Coverage: 1500-1700

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Philosophy, Religion, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  17. Project Muse

    Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Economics, English and American Literature, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Library and Information Science, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  18. Queen Victoria's Journals

    This full text, full image database covers the 141 surviving volumes of Queen Victoria’s journal and reproduces the pages as high-resolution color images and includes separate photographs of the illustrations and inserts contained within the pages.

    The journals contain household and family concerns, as well as comments on literature and affairs of state and are a valuable primary source for scholars of nineteenth-century British political and social history, as well as for those working on gender studies and autobiographical writing.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1832 - 1901

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Science and Technology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  19. Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest

    This database, focusing on the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, includes archival material—manuscript, typescript and ephemera—from key libraries in Britain and America, such as Bowling Green State, Berkeley, Sussex, National Archives at Kew, and the Rock Source Archive.

    Other features are video clips, visual sources, and chronologies. Topics covered include popular culture (TV, music & movies), the Vietnam War, and movements from Civil Rights to Women’s Liberation.

    Keyword Search supports the Boolean operators AND, OR and AND NOT between keywords.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1950-1975

    Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Modern 1800-, History US, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  20. Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006

    Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.**Advanced search by index types: Entire document, article title, author, page number, issue number, document number or keyword**Browse by issue

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1822-2006

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Journalism, News Sources, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology

    Expand
  21. Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)

    The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is a Latin dictionary that covers all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. The work, sponsored by the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München), continues to expand the coverage.

    • Coverage: c. 800 B.C.E. to c. 600 A.D./C.E.

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450

    Expand
  22. Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

    The TLS Historical Archive is the improved, expanded edition of the TLS Centenary Archive. The new edition enables users to full-text search more than one hundred years of the Times Literary Supplement, allowing them to trace the views of influential opinion makers, such as T.S.

    Eliot, Virginia Woolf, A.N. Wilson, and Christopher Hitchins, and see the responses of their contemporaries.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1902-2006

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Journalism, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  23. Vogue Archive

    The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1892-present

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand