Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 50 of 82

  1. Defining Gender, 1450-1910

    Defining Gender is a collection of original source materials from British and European archives. Documents from 21 libraries are thematically organized by areas: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.

    The documents were selected by 18 academic, consultant editors, who have contributed essays to the area sections, which relate directly to the source material. Manuscripts, printed works, and illustrations address key issues from both feminine and masculine perspectives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1450 - 1910

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, English and American Literature

    Expand
  2. Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker im WWW

    This is the electronic version of a series published in book form since 1981. It includes classics of fiction, poetry, philosophy, history, and literary criticism written by German authors.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Religion, Comparative Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Philosophy, Political Science

    Expand
  3. Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO

    Digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, Eighteenth Century Collections Online allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1701-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  4. Eighteenth Century Journals

    This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.

    Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1685-1815

    Subjects: Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  5. Encyclopaedia Islamica

    This volume of Encyclopaedia Islamica is the first of a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da'irat al-Ma'arif-i Buzurg-i Islami, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.

    One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shi'i Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it off ers the western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shi'i Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilisation, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition. (1-3 simultaneous users)

    1-3 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 7th century to present

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion

    Expand
  6. Encyclopaedia of Islam: Second Edition

    The Encyclopaedia of Islam combines a familiar look with fast and effective research facilities. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the monumental, printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is now easily available on your computer screen.

    Additional search facilities and the Supplement enable the user to efficiently search and combine data from a vast corpus of over 12,000 printed pages— within seconds.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion

    Expand
  7. Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World

    The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion and culture which until now lacked its own cohesive/discrete reference work.

    The Encyclopedia aims to fill the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  8. English Reports, Full Reprint

    HeinOnline allows you to search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, Full Reprint along with its "Index of Cases" and "Index Chart." This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865.

    It represents reprints of 275 separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. The English Reports, Full Reprint contains over 100,000 cases reprinted verbatim and spans the years 1220 to 1867.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1220 to 1865

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World

    Expand
  9. English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)

    The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is a vast database designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800.

    • Coverage: 1473 to 1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US

    Expand
  10. Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

    Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.

    Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936 to 1980

    Subjects: Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, LGBT Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  11. Gallica

    An encyclopedic digital library composed from collections held at the Bibliothque Nationale of France. Contents are mainly rare and primary source materials and out-of-print and hard to access documents which are in the public domain.

    Holdings include printed materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music, dictionaries, etc.), graphic materials (engravings, maps, photographs, etc.) and sound recordings. Mainly in French.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Middle Ages to Early 20th Century

    Subjects: Area Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, News Sources, Science and Technology

    Expand
  12. GenderWatch

    Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Current Events, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, LGBT Studies, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  13. Gerritsen Collection -- Women's History Online

    The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages. This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works.

    The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages.

    This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1543-1945

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  14. Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange

    The Global Commodities database provides primary source materials arranged around fifteen major trade goods from world history such as chocolate, coffee, cotton, and opium.

    Each commodity is documented through a wide range of manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, objects and rare books so that the scholar can explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed. The project touches on themes of exploration and discovery; imperialism and colonialism; trade wars; translocation and economic geography; slavery; taste; and the evolution of global branding. The resource complements and integrates with the Empire Online database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 10,000 BC = present (most entries from 1500-1950)

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  15. Goldsmiths'-Kress (SEE Making of the Modern World)

    Goldsmiths'-Kress (SEE Making of the Modern World) For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science

    Expand
  16. Grand Tour

    The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century (1701-1800). This database contains primary source letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps that illustrate the everyday issues of transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex, as well as European political and religious life.

    The architecture, street life and urban planning of cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva are highlighted.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1701-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  17. Handbook of Latin American Studies

    A selective bibliography on Latin America. Indexes journals, books and book chapters, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities.

    • Coverage: 1935 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Comparative Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish

    Expand
  18. Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

    Includes information about Latin Americans in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

    Topics include politics and government, business, economic development and policy issues, gender studies, environmental issues, history, anthropology, religion, art, literature, drama, and film. HAPI indexes journals about Latin America that are written in the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian.

    • Coverage: 1970 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish

    Expand
  19. Historical Abstracts [EBSCOhost]

    Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1955 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies

    Expand
  20. History Cooperative

    Provides the capability to search, browse, and retrieve full text of articles from recent years of core history journals, including American
    Historical Review, Journal of American History
    , and William and Mary Quarterly.

    Also includes web links and digitized primary sources of interest to historians. The History Cooperative is a nonprofit collaborative venture of the American Historical Association, Organization of American Historians, and other preeminent historical organizations.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  21. House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP)

    Full-text digital copies of British Parliamentary publications including Hansard, official parliamentary debates, and the British sessional papers, the working papers of government.

    Extremely important primary sources for British, European, U.S. and world history.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 18th-19th century

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Economics, Education, Government Information, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, Political Science

    Expand
  22. Humanities & Social Sciences Abstracts

    Includes three separate HW Wilson databases:

    • Humanities Abstracts: a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, 1907 - 1984
    • Social Sciences Abstracts: A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

    Expand
  23. India, Raj and Empire

    Manuscript Collections from the National Library of Scotland documenting this history from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947.

    Sources range from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras. There are original Indian manuscripts containing histories and literary works, as well as accounts of wars, discussions of Indian Nationalism and papers of tea and coffee planters.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1615-1947

    Subjects: Area Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  24. International Historical Statistics

    International Historical Statistics provides access to 490 tables, covering data on 211 countries and territories collected between 1750-2010. Includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania.

    Within each region are chapters on population and vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport & communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Each section has a full description of the sources used to compile the statistics; all statistical tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files with the ability to remove sections and merge tables.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Multidisciplinary Databases, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  25. Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

    Indexes journals covering the cultural aspects of the Renaissance in Europe from 1300-1700. It will eventually include all aspects of the Renaissance and Middle Ages (400-1500).

    • Coverage: 1843 to present

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand