Results 251 - 275 of 881
A complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. Produced by the Dictionary of Old English Project, Centre for Medieval Studies, University of TorontoExpand
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, English and American Literature
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. In combination with the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three dictionaries provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.The DOE draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.Expand
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. In combination with the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three dictionaries provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.
The DOE draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.
- DOE font is required to display the pages properly; this can be downloaded here: http://www.doe.utoronto.ca/resources/DOE.ttf
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Religion
The database features the entire corpus of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which is the definitive edition of Karl Barth s works in German, comprising 42 volumes of theological writings, lectures, letters, sermons, and interviews.Expand
Also included is Barth's magnum opus, the 14-volume Kirchliche Dogmatik.
Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources
The Digital Library of Georgia is a virtual collection of digitized books, newspapers, images, manuscripts and media with an emphasis on material important to the history and culture of the state of Georgia.Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Georgia, History US
The Digital Loeb Classical Library is an online version of the Loeb Classical Library series. This series offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings.Expand
There are more than 500 discrete volumes spanning from Homer (700 BCE) to Bede (700 CE). Most major classical authors are covered and new editions are added each year.
Subjects: Classics, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Religion
The Digital National Security Archive contains numerous searchable full-text collections of declassified documents in areas of U.S. foreign policy and intelligence.Expand
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Political Science, History US
The Digital Sanborn Map Collection of Georgia includes large scale fire insurance maps of Georgia produced by the Sanborn Map Company. They are large-scale plans containing data that was originally intended to estimate the potential risk for urban structures.Expand
This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information includes construction details, ownership and building use. The digital images were processed from microforms at the Library of Congress.
Subjects: Georgia, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources
This is the electronic version of a series published in book form since 1981. It includes classics of fiction, poetry, philosophy, history, and literary criticism written by German authors.Expand
Subjects: Religion, Comparative Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Philosophy, Political Science
Digitalia is full text source with an interface in English and Spanish that offers a large catalog of e-book titles from Spanish publishers and selected magazines in digital format.Expand
Publishers included in the database include Anthropos, Universidad de Alicante, Universidad de Zaragoza and the Universidade da Coruna. The database is divided into collections for Art, General Reference Works, Geography & Anthropology, History, Language & Literature, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.
Serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world.Expand
This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images.
Subjects: Classics, LGBT Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video.Expand
The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Education, History US, Political Science
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.Expand
Please note that some dissertations are unavailable as full-text due to author restrictions.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Spanish, Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations of China is the most comprehensive collections of dissertations and theses from Chinese research institutions since 1980. As of Feb. 2014, it contains over 2088 million full-text or abstract records, in which nearly 750,000 full-text records are in the subject areas of humanities and social science.Expand
Subjects: Chinese Studies
Drama Online contains hundreds contemporary and classic plays in print, streaming video, and audio. It also contains an accompanying collection of theory and criticism, as well as search functionality and tools to support performance.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature, Theater Studies
Duxiu is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. The Duxiu database provides access to more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, journal articles, conference papers and video clips.Expand
Subjects: Chinese Studies, Education, Government Information, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies
Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews. This database reproduces the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut and is equivalent to the annual Archaoligische Bibliographie (Woodruff Library Z5132 .A65).Expand
It covers Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion. To enter the database, please check the "with IP acess" box and then click the start button.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Philosophy, Religion
E-Books Index includes records for more than 450,000 eBooks that have been cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including titles available from NetLibrary and other providers.Expand
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases
This online version of the Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis contains 70,000 reactions and 4,000 of the most frequently consulted reagents used in organic synthesis.Expand
It is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions, etc. and allows full text searches. The database includes properties, preparations, example reactions, and key literature references.
Subjects: Chemistry, Science and Technology
E-Korean Studies is an integrated and comprehensive service whose objective is to make electronic resources in the field of Korean studies accessible worldwide.Expand
It is a product of the six database vendors led by Panmun Academic Services. These companies are Korean Studies Information Co., Ltd., Nurimedia Co., Ltd., DongBang Media Co., Ltd., Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd., Zininzin Co., Ltd. and LawnB.
It covers all academic disciplines, including arts and humanities, social sciences, etc. with various sources of content, including monographs, periodicals and newspapers, dissertations and research reports.
Subjects: Korean Studies, Area Studies, Political Science, Sociology
A collection of 440 full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature
When complete, Early American Fiction 1789-1875 will extend the coverage of the first Early American Fiction collection by twenty-five years (1851-1875) and will incorporate the full text of more than 250 additional titles and over 60 new authors, including Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Herman Melville and Thomas Bailey Aldrich, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.Expand
Early American Fiction 1789-1875 will include more than 750 works of fiction by more than 130 authors.
Subjects: English and American Literature
Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography, this database, when complete, will contain a digitized version of more than 36,000 works published in this country between 1639 and 1800.Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Government Information, History US, News Sources
The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database is based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B.Expand
Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Content is being released in monthly segments through July 2007. When complete, the database will provide comprehensive full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Government Information, History US
Early American Newspapers Digital (SEE America's Historical Newspapers)
Early American Newspapers Digital (SEE America's Historical Newspapers)Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US
From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online (EEBO) will contain over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, Multidisciplinary Databases