Results 326 - 350 of 854
Provides a comprehensive listing as well as information, statistics and maps of the known living languages of the world. Also includes information on extinct languages.Expand
A separate Bibliography section indexes articles published by SIL language researchers.
Subjects: Anthropology, American Indian Studies
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on worldwide affairs, and the nine volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series.Expand
First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Subjects: Area Studies, Political Science, Statistics and Demography
Explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. Includes 1,150 articles written by eminent scholars covering major topics in art, government, and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period.Expand
Also covers topics specific to the era, such as apocalypticism, guilds, food riots, royal mistresses and lovers, the Spanish Inquisition, Utopia and others.
Subjects: History World
Full text of monographs, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides from Duke University's Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, and the New York Public Library.Expand
Materials address social, political, gender, and a host of other issues and is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature. Also includes contextual essays by leading scholars.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US, Womens and Gender Studies
Exit Polls: Surveying the American Electorate explores trends in longitudinal variables asked in the national Election Day exit polls from their beginning in 1972 to the present.Expand
The book documents comparable survey items that have appeared in multiple exit polls over time.Walk-in users: OK
Subjects: Political Science
Contains the works of 50 poets comprising 140 volumes of poetry. The authors are all part of the Faber Poetry list and the database enjoys the active support of the publisher and the poets or estates.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature
Factiva lets you quickly search nearly 8,000 publications in 22 languages, including the world's most prestigious publications, local sources and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires.Expand
In addition, Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal. You also can search the content of more than 9,000 Web sites.Factiva lets you quickly search nearly 8,000 publications in 22 languages, including the world's most prestigious publications, local sources and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires. In addition, Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal. You also can search the content of more than 9,000 Web sites.
Subjects: Anthropology, Business, Current Events, Economics, Journalism, News Sources
Faculty of 1000 is a revolutionary new online research service that will comprehensively and systematically highlight and review the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers.Expand
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Health
A historical collection of Federal Register volumes that will eventually cover the years 1936 to 1980, a period not included in LexisNexis or Westlaw. Offers keyword searching and direct access by citation.Expand
Articles can be viewed onscreen in image format, downloaded as PDF documents, or printed.
Subjects: Government Information
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.Expand
Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996.
Subjects: Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, LGBT Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Publisher description: [I]ndexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.Expand
Includes full text access to selected journals.
Subjects: Film and Media Studies
The Film Literature Index (FLI) Online indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.Expand
The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. Coverage after 2001 is available in the print version of the Film Literature Index.
Endnote filter available for download on website.
Subjects: Film and Media Studies
Web-based digital video delivery service that includes streaming videos on the following topics: architecture, art history, photography, and visual studies. Special features include the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and upload to Blackboard (either embed or link to persistent URLs).Expand
Subjects: Area Studies, Film and Media Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases
Appeals, Circuit, Supreme Court decisions, dissenting, concurring opinions, etc., as well as statutes and regulations at the federal and state levels.Expand
A collection of primary source documents focusing on personal experience during the Great War. The collection includes diaries, journals, letters, trench literature, postcards, scrapbooks, albums, photographs, art, ephemera, sheet music, cartoons, propaganda and maps.Expandwalk-in users: OK
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) are full-text Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government from 1941-1996. The Daily Reports include translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.Expand
They focus on political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Currently, Emory has access to the following full-text collections only: Middle East & Africa, Middle East & North Africa, Near East & South Asia Africa (Sub-Sahara), South Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa Eastern Europe, East Europe Soviet Union, and Central Eurasia. For access to other collections, use the index to the microfiche collection: http://libcat1.cc.emory.edu:32888/db=fbis
Subjects: Economics, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science
Coverage of non-U.S. dissertations in DAI (Proquest) is sketchy, and it can be difficult to identify and obtain copies of foreign dissertations. However, the Center for Research Libraries actively collects foreign dissertations and provides them to member institutions through interlibrary loan.Expand
Unfortunately, their collection is not completely indexed in the Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database, so if you need a foreign dissertation that isn't listed there, it's well worth making an interlibrary loan request for it anyway. Please allow extra time -- if the dissertation you need is already at CRL, it will come quickly, but if they need to purchase it, it may take six months to a year.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases
The Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980, is a digitized collection of the British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, specifically, the complete FO 371 and FCO 21 files from The National Archives, Kew.Expand
The files include, among other things, eye-witness accounts and detailed reports on life in China, in depth analysis of the Communist Revolution and all the major figures, and material on the Korean War, the Cold War, US relations and the Cultural Revolution.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History World
Primary source material from the British National Archive. Subjects include Independence movements of India and Pakistan, Partition, Kashmir, Nehru, Independence for Bangladesh, Emergency Rule, Cold War in Afghanistan, and Return of Civilian Rule in Pakistan.Expand
Original formats include diplomatic dispatches, inward and outward telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, accounts of visits and tours, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, letters, leaflets and other ephemera.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies
This database, produced by the nation's leading authority on philanthropy, includes extensive program details for thousands of leading foundations; detailed application guidelines for more than 7,000 grants; and a searchable file of approximately half a million grants.Expand
Subjects: Grants and Funding, Multidisciplinary Databases
A unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology.Expand
Fuente Academica provides full text (including PDF) for more than 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Includes a few titles in Portuguese and English.
Subjects: Comparative Literature, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish
GAcollege411 is a resource freely available on the Web designed to help Georgia high school students and others who are interested in attending college explore careers, prepare for college and learn about financial aid opportunities.Expand
Resources include tools for matching students to careers; detailed information on specific careers; SAT, ACT, and GRE test preparation; tools for comparing Georgia colleges and universities; online forms for loan applications, FAFSA, and Hope Scholarship/Tuition Equalization Grant; and tools for financial planning. Users can create a personal account that allows them to manage all their college and career information and can share their information with school counselors.
GAcollege411 is a collaboration of the GSFC, the University System of Georgia, the Department of Technical and Adult Education, the Foundation for Independent Colleges, the Department of Education, the School Counselors Association, the Office of Treasury and Fiscal Services, Georgia Public Broadcasting, the Professional Standards Commission, and the Georgia Public Library Service.
Subjects: Education, Career and Job Information, Multidisciplinary Databases
A collection of online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.Expand
Subjects: Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Education, Government Information, Grants and Funding, History US, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources
Over 1 million Pages of Primary source documentation drawn from State Department Records, Brazil Popular Groups, Yale University Latin American Collection and other sources.ExpandComplete of sources below. Brazil's Popular Groups, 1966–1986Colección de documentos inéditos relativos al descubrimiento, conquista y organización de las antiguas posesiones españolas de America Y OceaniaColección de documentos inéditos relativos al descubrimiento, conquista y organización de las antiguas posesiones españolas de ultramarConquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492–1825Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918–1941Despatches From U.S. Consuls in Havana, Cuba, 1783–1906Despatches From U.S. Ministers to Cuba, 1902–1906FBI File on the American Churchwomen Killed in El Salvador, December 1980Latin American and Iberian BiographiesLatin American History and Culture: An Archival Record, Series 1: The Yale University Collection of Latin American Manuscripts, Parts 1–7Latin American Independence: Nineteenth Century Political and Official PamphletsMexican and Central American Political and Social EphemeraPapers of Agustín de iturbide, 1799–1880Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Argentina, 1940–1944Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Mexico, 1930–1939Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Affairs, U.S. and Bolivia, 1945–1959Records of the Department
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
GALILEO Quick Search is a federated search engine that allows users to search multiple databases simultaneously. From the GALILEO homepage, users are able to enter a search, select a subject category, and search acraoss multiple resources.Expand
Search results from all resources are then combined and presented in an easy-to-navigate format.
For more information: About GALILEO Quick Search
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases