All Databases

Results 451 - 475 of 831

  1. JapanKnowledge

    JapanKnowledge is a portal to the largest Japanese language online reference collection. It includes encyclopedias (e.g. ニッポニカNipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, 日本人名大辞典Nihon jinmei daijiten, imidas, etc.), dictionaries (Japanese-English, English-Japanese, English-English, 現代用語の基礎知識Gendai yogo no kiso chishiki, 字通Jitsu, 国史大辞典Kokushi daijiten, etc.), and various full-text and multimedia databases (週刊エコノミストShukan Economist, 新編 日本古典文学全集 Shinpen Nihon koten bungaku zenshu, 図解アニメーションZukai animation, , サウンド・ミュージックライブラリsound and music libraries, 映像記録Eizo kiroku, etc.).

    2 simultaneous users; walk-in users allowed

    2 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: ancient to the present

    Subjects: Area Studies, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  2. Jazz Music Library

    Listen via streamed audio to jazz and blues recordings from dozens of labels including Verve, GRP Records, Fantasy, Concord Jazz, Impulse, and Jazzology. Use “Music Online: Listening” (accessible from the Databases @ Emory page) for combined access to Jazz Music Library, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  3. Jerusalem Post

    This is a searchable database of the Palestine Post/Jerusalem Post, the only English language newspaper in Israel that has been published since 1932.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1932-1988

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  4. Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954

    Original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Offers access to six major organizational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History US, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  5. Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database

    The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database provides easy access to resources for finding and using evidence to inform clinical decision-making. This database consists of several JBI databases, including the JBI Library of Systematic reviews, Best Practice Information sheets, Evidence Summaries and Evidence Based Recommended Practices.

    Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Health

    Expand
  6. Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

    This full-text searchable database is a historical survey of literary theory and criticism. It includes articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

    The scope is international with an emphasis is on Western critical theory. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.

    • Coverage: Ancient to Contemporary

    Subjects: Classics, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language

    Expand
  7. Journal Citation Reports

    The Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international.

    The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. JCR Web shows the relationship between citing and cited journals in a clear, easy-to-use framework. JCR Web is available annually in two editions, the Science Edition and the Social Sciences Edition.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: 2001 to date

    Subjects: Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Business, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Mathematics, Library and Information Science, Physical Education and Sports, Political Science, Psychology, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  8. Journals@Ovid

    Provides full-text of journals in clinical medicine, behavioral and social sciences, life sciences, nursing, and physical science. Emory's Health Sciences Center Library has subscribed to many of these in full-text, although users can access bibliographic information for all of the indexed journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1993 to present

    Subjects: Medicine, Physics, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Nursing

    Expand
  9. JSTOR

    JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.

    JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  10. Keesing's Record of World Events Online (Keesings.com)

    Keesing's is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. Keesing's Online offers online access to over 70 years of complete, objective coverage of international events.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1931-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Current Events, Economics, History Modern 1800-, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Reference Sources, Political Science

    Expand
  11. Kikuzo II Visual

    Kikuzo is Asahi Shimbun’s newspaper database, containing over 13 million full-text articles from the Asahi Shimbun, as well as the newspaper’s two weekly magazines, AERA and Shūkan Asahi.

    It also contains the Historical Photo Archive, which includes approximately 10,000 photographs depicting East and Southeast Asia during the 1930s-40s, and Chiezō, Asahi’s dictionary of contemporary Japanese terms.

    • Coverage: 1879-present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  12. King James Bible

    The King James or 'Authorized' edition of the Bible (1611) was the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries, drawing heavily on previous editions and providing the principal influence for many subsequent versions.

    The text is given in full, with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables included.

    • Coverage: 1611

    Subjects: English and American Literature, Religion

    Expand
  13. Landolt-Bornstein

    Collection of physical, engineering, and chemical data tables. Includes:

    • Landolt-Börnstein Database
    • Database on Thermophysical Properties (Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, DDBST)
    • Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases
    • Chemical safety data and reports

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Current

    Subjects: Chemistry, Physics

    Expand
  14. LandScan Global Population Databases

    LandScan is a global population database that shows geographical distribution of population at one-kilometer resolution over an average 24 hour period. The LandScan Global Population Databases are developed at the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

    • Coverage: 2000-2011

    Subjects: Area Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  15. Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online

    This collection consists of 971 Latin American anarchist and labor periodicals. The periodicals in this collection have been organized by country. In addition, each series has been subdivided into periodicals with and periodicals without a known (corporate) author.

    The arrangement is alphabetical throughout.

    Some of the major publications included are La Protesta, La Vanguardia and Acción Obrera (Argentina) ; O Exempio. Jornal do Povo and Battaglia (Brazil); the Chilean Voz del Mar (Chile); and Ariete, Redención Obrera, Revolución Social, El Sindical (Mexico).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1880-1940

    Subjects: Latin American and Caribbean Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  16. Latin American Newsstand

    Latin American Newsstand is a full-text database of over 35 leading newspaper titles from Latin America (including Brazil and Puerto Rico). Also included are regional magazines and wire services.

    Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly so that the database is cross-searchable. Citations are available for articles in all the source publications. Abstracts allow researchers to save time by allowing them to identify the complete articles they need. Full-text articles are also instantly accessible for all of the titles.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 2005-

    Subjects: Area Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  17. Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP)

    Provides access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." A project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC).

    Subjects: Latin American and Caribbean Studies

    Expand
  18. Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)

    LAPTOC provides bibliographical citations to journal articles in over 800 periodicals and journals from 29 Latin American and Caribbean countries. Searching is keyword only from the table of contents for author and title and does not include searching by subject headings.

    • Coverage: 1990 to present

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish

    Expand
  19. Latino Literature

    The most comprehensive collection of Latino Literature yet created. When complete it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.

    Although the collection includes materials from the Nineteenth Century, the vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present.

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, Ethnic Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish

    Expand
  20. Latinobarometro

    The Latinobarómetro is an annual survey conducted amongst 18 countries in Latin America. The survey, which has been conducted since 1995, asks respondents about topics such as globalization, democratic governance and political institutions, "social capital," the environment, and gender issues.

    In addition to including standard questions repeated over time, Latinobarómetro surveys also have particular "themes;" the 1996 survey, for instance, focused on trade and investment and politicians, while the 1998 survey focused on social capital and the 2002 survey focused on the merits of democracy and markets.

    The site is available in both Spanish and English. Aggregated/”topline” results from the data are available via the “Online analysis” section of the site. The underlying data files are available via the “Data Bank.” The data are available in SAS, SPSS, and Stata formats. Users are required to accept certain conditions of use prior to downloading of any data files. Please contact Robert O’Reilly (roreill@emory.edu) for assistance with the data files.

    The site is available in both Spanish and English.  Aggregated/”topline” results from the data are available via the “Online analysis” section of the site.  The underlying data files are available via the “Data Bank.”  The data are available in SAS, SPSS, and Stata formats.  Users are required to accept certain conditions of use prior to downloading of any data files.  Please contact Robert O’Reilly (roreill@emory.edu) for assistance with the data files.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1995-present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Political Science, Sociology

    Expand
  21. Le Grand Robert

    Le Robert product line provides users with access to a wealth of invaluable content and indispensable language tools. Le Robert dictionaries offer a wide variety of tools to students, professionals, or just anyone, looking to learn or master the French language and are equally suited to native or non-native French speaking and immersion students.

    Le Robert dictionaries (Le Petit Robert, Le Robert Junior, Le Grand Robert) are available in French only, except for the bilingual dictionary Le Grand Robert & Collins. Annual subscriptions to these on-line versions are available for schools and educational institutions, businesses and public libraries.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language

    Expand
  22. Left Index

    Provides access to the diversity of literature on leftist politics and socio-economic affairs (communism, anarchism, marxism, etc.). Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: 1990 to present

    Subjects: Ethnic Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  23. Legal Collection

    Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 law journals.

    This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1965-

    Subjects: Law

    Expand
  24. Legal Information Institute

    Hosted by Cornell University Law School--contains an enormous amount of legal information, organized in a very straightforward fashion. "Law by Source or Jurisdiction" lets you look for legal information and the federal, state and foreign level.

    You can also search for legal cases on specific topics under the "Law About..." tab.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Law

    Expand
  25. Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)

    Based on materials from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods, LEME is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript.

    The texts of word entries tell us what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period covered by the Short-title and Wing catalogues. Their lexical insights shaped the history of our living tongue. LEME is not a period dictionary, but a source of contemporary testimony that illustrates word usage. LEME is able to utilize many sources that the Oxford English Dictionary, which covers 1500 years, could not include as a result of its necessary selection of the lexical evidence.

    • Coverage: c 1450 - c 1700

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand