- Your selections:
- African American Studies
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 51 - 73 of 73
Offers combined access and cross-searching of 5 different streamed-audio collections. Each collection may also be accessed independently through its own link on the Databases @ Emory page. Contents:Expand
- American Song
- Classical Music Library
- Contemporary World Music
- Jazz Music Library
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Music
Listen online to music from Fantasy Jazz (includes Riverside, Presitge, Debut, Stax, Volt, Specialty, Pablo), Naxos, and other CD labels via audio streaming. Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users: please log out before closing the connection.ExpandEmory users encountering access issues, please report the specific problem to firstname.lastname@example.org, with “Naxos Jazz” in the subject line.
Subjects: African American Studies, Music
New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993, available via Proquest Historical Newspapers.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources
The Oxford African American Studies Center is an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. The site is comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.Expand
Core texts includes: Africana, The Encyclopedia of African American History; Black Women in America, and The African American National Biography. In addition, the site includes over 300 carefully edited primary source documents with commentaries, approximately 2,300 images and over 300 charts, tables, graphs, maps, and timelines.
Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editor-in-chief.Walk in users: OK; 5 simultaneous users
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies
American literature is characterized by the many cultures, religions, and ethnicities that have contributed to the larger American literary tradition and invites trans-disciplinary collaboration.Expand
Oxford Bibliographies in American Literature provides authoritative essays and citations for guidance.
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US
The Atlantic History module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field of Atlantic History.Expand
It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.Walk-in users: OK
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
An electronic index to millions of articles published in 4,079 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. PIO is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 200 years.Expand
PIO currently indexes over 13 million articles since the eighteenth century and every article in each journal is indexed. Over two centuries of scholarly publication in 40 languages and dialects are indexed, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, History US, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Womens and Gender Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002, available via Proquest Historical Newspapers.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources
This newspaper collection provides cultural perspective and insight to events that shaped the United States in the twentieth century. From the beginnings of the protest movement to end segregation to the ongoing challenges involving affirmative action and racial profiling.Expand
Black Newspapers provide a record of social change spanning almost a century from the perspective of those most affected by racism in American life. Covering major events to everyday life, these titles are invaluable research tools for studying American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and art. This collection includes: includes Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1946-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), & Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, News Sources
Provides searchable full text of pamphlets, the op-ed pieces of their day, from two major collections: Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P.Expand
Chase & John P. Hale; and Civil War Pamphlets 1861-1865. Included are biographies, campaign literature, government documents, journals, presidential addresses, sermons, and speeches. Also provides full text of eight major Northern, Southern, and Border State newspapers from the antebellum period through the end of the Civil War: Richmond Dispatch, Charleston Mercury, New Orleans Times Picayune, Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus [Ohio] State Journal, Kentucky [Louisville] Daily Journal, and Memphis Daily Appeal.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, African American Studies, History US, History Modern 1800-, News Sources
This database, focusing on the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, includes archival material—manuscript, typescript and ephemera—from key libraries in Britain and America, such as Bowling Green State, Berkeley, Sussex, National Archives at Kew, and the Rock Source Archive.Expand
Other features are video clips, visual sources, and chronologies. Topics covered include popular culture (TV, music & movies), the Vietnam War, and movements from Civil Rights to Women’s Liberation.Keyword Search supports the Boolean operators AND, OR and AND NOT between keywords.
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Modern 1800-, History US, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Womens and Gender Studies
Sabin Americana 1500-1926 is a fully searchable online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.Expand
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. The resource currently contains an estimated 36,400 titles, 44,000 volumes totaling almost 9,500,000 pages. The genesis for this database is the noted bibliography compiled by Joseph Sabin: Bibliotheca Americana - a Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time.
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases
An important portal for slavery and abolition studies, this database brings together documents and collections covering the period 1490-2007 from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world.Expand
Subjects include varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Contains images of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images not available elsewhere plus original essays by leading scholars, and links to other sites. Part 1 of 3 currently available.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Its contents include the entire U.S.Expand
Census from 1790 to 2010, annual updates from the American Community Survey, data on religious congregations for the United States for 2009 (including maps for counties and special census areas, as well as point maps of the actual congregation locations), decennial religious congregation data for 1980-2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002. Users can create reports and maps at various levels of geography, including counties, Census tracts, Census block groups, and ZIP Codes, depending on data availability.Walk in users: OK
Subjects: African American Studies, Economics, Education, Georgia, History US, Journalism, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Statistics and Demography
Covers major international literature (journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers) in sociology and related disciplines.ExpandAvailable through CSA Illumina
Subjects: Sociology, African American Studies, Anthropology, Education, Health
Southern Changes features social research, cultural analysis, reportage, commentary, reviews, and interviews by a extraordinary list of writers, scholars, public officials, and activists.Expand
It is available as an open access, free, searchable database providing scholarly researchers and general readers with full-text versions of each issue of Southern Changes over the 25-year period of its pubication. The articles in Southern Changes range across many subjects: racial justice and the freedom struggle, politics and voting rights, educational opportunity, economic democracy, women's rights, environmental justice, critical regional studies, global-regional relations, and popular culture.
Subjects: African American Studies, Current Events, Georgia, History US
THOMAS is the Library of Congress' portal to U.S. legislative information and includes access to bills, resolutions, the Congressional Record, schedules, treaties, presidential nominations and committee information.For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information
The TLS Historical Archive is the improved, expanded edition of the TLS Centenary Archive. The new edition enables users to full-text search more than one hundred years of the Times Literary Supplement, allowing them to trace the views of influential opinion makers, such as T.S.Expand
Eliot, Virginia Woolf, A.N. Wilson, and Christopher Hitchins, and see the responses of their contemporaries.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Journalism, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade
Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections.Expand
The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
A digital collection of poetry written by important African American poets of the twentieth century. Includes over 6,000 poems.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases
Provides the most comprehensive source of data on the Atlantic slave trade. Based on the records of almost 35,000 Atlantic slave trade voyages, the database provides information on ships, crew, slave cargo, and routes.Expand
Information is supplemented by extensive maps and other resources.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Statistics and Demography
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.Expand
Nearly 800 sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, History US, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, LGBT Studies, Sociology, Spanish, Womens and Gender Studies
Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published between 1800 and 1922. A project of the Center for Research Libraries.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, News Sources