- Your selections:
- Archives And Primary Sources
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 51 - 75 of 174
Chicago Defender 1910-1975, available via Proquest Historical Newspapers.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources
Digital reproductions of every page of every issue - cover to cover - of the renowned Chicago newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue.Expand
Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need.Note: Use LexisNexis Academic or Factiva for recent years of the Chicago Tribune
Subjects: History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources
China: Culture and Society is a digital collection of about 1,200 extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.Expand
The pamphlets cover speeches, guides, reports, essays, catalogues, magazine articles and other material addressing Chinese history, culture, and everyday life. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. The wide variety of research interests and themes covered by the pamphlets include education, emigration, the foreign presence, missionaries, wars, rebellion, reform, opium, healthcare and language.
Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources
This database provides English-language sources relating to China and the West from 1793 to 1980. It covers almost any aspect of Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.Expand
From this database you can find manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors descriptions of the Boxer War. There are also significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals, such as The Chinese Recorder, Light and Life Magazine and The Land of Sinim: the North China Mission Quarterly Paper.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-
Digital reproductions of every page of every issue - cover to cover - of the major daily newspaper, noted for its unbiased, national and international news coverage.Expand
Includes news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue. Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need.Note: If you receive the error "ProQuest is unable to authenticate your user account," use the ProQuest cookie cutter to correct it.
Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources
Approximately 310,000 digitized newspaper pages, dating from 1900 to 1910.Expand
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources
Contains all the information about the American Civil War printed in the Illustrated London News from 1861-1865, including illustrations, as well as social, political, and technological history.Expand
Text and illustrations are searchable by keyword or date, and illustrations are searchable by subject as well.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources
The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot gathers collected, uncollected, and unpublished prose, and includes all of Eliot's collected essays, reviews, lectures, commentaries from The Criterion, and letters to editors, including more than 700 uncollected and 150 unpublished pieces from 1905 to 1965..Expand
The result of a multi-year collaboration among Eliot's Estate, Faber and Faber Ltd., Johns Hopkins University Press, the Beck Digital Center of Emory University, and the Institute of English Studies, University of London, this eight-volume critical edition dramatically expands access to material that has been restricted or inaccessible in private and institutional collections for almost fifty years.
Other highlights include essays from his student years at Smith Academy and Harvard and his graduate work at Harvard and Oxford, including his doctoral dissertation; unsigned, unidentified essays published in the New Statesman and the Monist; essays and reviews published in the Egoist, Athenaeum, TLS, Dial, Art and Letters; his Clark and Turnbull lectures on metaphysical poetry, Norton Lectures, Page-Barbour Lectures, Boutwood Lectures; unpublished essays, lectures, addresses from various archives; and transcripts of broadcasts, speeches, endorsements, and memorial tributes.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature
The documents of Confidential Print: Latin America are the full text records of the British Foreign Office which cover the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s.Expand
Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, amongst other topics, the files in this title form a vital resource for any scholar of Latin American history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Confidential Print North America is a digital collection of British Foreign and Colonial Office files from the National Archives at Kew. Documents include reports, dispatches, weekly political summaries, and monthly economic reports pertaining to the United States, Canada, the Caribbean and Central America.Expand
The database is indexed and is full-text searchable. It forms part of the Adam Matthew's Archives Direct collection of British National Archives records.
Subjects: Government Information, American Indian Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, Archives and Primary Sources
The Political Reference Suite includes online versions of a number of well-known CQ reference publications (some cumulative), such as the Political Handbook of the World, Congress and the Nation, Washington Information Directory, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and several others.Expand
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Subjects: Government Information, History Modern 1800-, Law, Political Science, Archives and Primary Sources, Reference Sources
The database features the entire corpus of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which is the definitive edition of Karl Barth s works in German, comprising 42 volumes of theological writings, lectures, letters, sermons, and interviews.Expand
Also included is Barth's magnum opus, the 14-volume Kirchliche Dogmatik.
Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources
The Digital Library of Georgia is a virtual collection of digitized books, newspapers, images, manuscripts and media with an emphasis on material important to the history and culture of the state of Georgia.Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Georgia, History US
The Digital National Security Archive contains numerous searchable full-text collections of declassified documents in areas of U.S. foreign policy and intelligence.Expand
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Political Science, History US
The Digital Sanborn Map Collection of Georgia includes large scale fire insurance maps of Georgia produced by the Sanborn Map Company. They are large-scale plans containing data that was originally intended to estimate the potential risk for urban structures.Expand
This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information includes construction details, ownership and building use. The digital images were processed from microforms at the Library of Congress.
Subjects: Georgia, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources
Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography, this database, when complete, will contain a digitized version of more than 36,000 works published in this country between 1639 and 1800.Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Government Information, History US, News Sources
The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database is based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B.Expand
Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Content is being released in monthly segments through July 2007. When complete, the database will provide comprehensive full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Government Information, History US
Early American Newspapers Digital (SEE America's Historical Newspapers)
Early American Newspapers Digital (SEE America's Historical Newspapers)Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US
From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online (EEBO) will contain over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, Multidisciplinary Databases
The Economist Historical Archive ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.Expand
In 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is a unrivalled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries. This is an ongoing archive.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Economics, History Modern 1800-, History World, Political Science
Digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, Eighteenth Century Collections Online allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Philosophy, Religion
This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.Expand
Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology
Primary sources on colonial history, politics, culture and society from 1492 to the 21st century. Thematically divided into sections covering Cultural Contacts, Literature of Empire, the Visible Empire, Religion, Race, Class and Imperialism.Expand
Sources include Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations. Indexing by period, by date, by person and subject.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Religion, Sociology
The Encyclopaedia of Islam combines a familiar look with fast and effective research facilities. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the monumental, printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is now easily available on your computer screen.Expand
Additional search facilities and the Supplement enable the user to efficiently search and combine data from a vast corpus of over 12,000 printed pages— within seconds.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion
HeinOnline allows you to search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, Full Reprint along with its "Index of Cases" and "Index Chart." This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865.Expand
It represents reprints of 275 separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. The English Reports, Full Reprint contains over 100,000 cases reprinted verbatim and spans the years 1220 to 1867.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World