- Your selections:
- English And American Literature
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 51 - 75 of 116
Brings together five individual ProQuest German literature resources: Goethes Werke, Schillers Werke, Kafkas Werke, Brechts Werke and Die Deutsche Lyrik. Each author database is searchable and contains complete works in full-text format.Expand
The Deutsche Lyrik covers German poetry from the 15th-20th-centuries, including all volumes published within Reclam's Universal-Bibliothek since 1945.
Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature
Published from 1830 to 1898, Godey’s was the most popular 19th century women’s magazine. Known for its illustrations, including hand-colored fashion plates, and literary works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, and other celebrated authors of the day.Expand
Part of the Accessible Archives database.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, Womens and Gender Studies
This is the first-ever full color facsimile of the Hengwrt Chaucer manuscript (National Library of Wales Peniarth 392 D), one of the most important of all English literary manuscripts.Expand
The superb digital photography of these images is joined with the transcriptions of the text, collations with the other crucial early manuscript of the Tales(the Ellesmere Chaucer, in the Huntington Library), complete descriptions and analytical discussions to give a full set of materials for studying this important manuscript.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450
Includes information about Latin Americans in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.Expand
Topics include politics and government, business, economic development and policy issues, gender studies, environmental issues, history, anthropology, religion, art, literature, drama, and film. HAPI indexes journals about Latin America that are written in the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian.
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish
Includes three separate HW Wilson databases:
- Humanities Abstracts: a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, 1907 - 1984
- Social Sciences Abstracts: A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.Expand
Subjects: Dance, English and American Literature, Multidisciplinary Databases
Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, History Modern 1800-, History Modern 1800-, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Religion, Theater Studies
The Arts and Humanities service of Intute offers an easy-to-use and powerful tool for discovering the best Internet resources for education and research in Creative Arts and Humanities.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, History World
This full-text searchable database is a historical survey of literary theory and criticism. It includes articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.Expand
The scope is international with an emphasis is on Western critical theory. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Subjects: Classics, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language
JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.Expand
JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies
The King James or 'Authorized' edition of the Bible (1611) was the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries, drawing heavily on previous editions and providing the principal influence for many subsequent versions.Expand
The text is given in full, with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables included.
Subjects: English and American Literature, Religion
Based on materials from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods, LEME is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript.Expand
The texts of word entries tell us what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period covered by the Short-title and Wing catalogues. Their lexical insights shaped the history of our living tongue. LEME is not a period dictionary, but a source of contemporary testimony that illustrates word usage. LEME is able to utilize many sources that the Oxford English Dictionary, which covers 1500 years, could not include as a result of its necessary selection of the lexical evidence.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religion
Indexes journals, books, technical reports and dissertations covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.Expand
Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Subjects: Anthropology, English and American Literature, Linguistics, Psychology, Spanish
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.Expand
Literary Reference Center includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 300 literary journals; book reviews; 25,000 classic and contemporary poems; 11,000 classic and contemporary short stories; full text of over 7,500 classic novels; author interviews; and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.
Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language
A selective, annotated guide to essential reference sources for the study of British literature, United States literatures, and other literatures in English. The contents include over 1,000 entries, which reference nearly 1,600 additional books, articles, and electronic resources.Expand
Over 700 reviews are cited.
Subjects: Theater Studies, Spanish, Multidisciplinary Databases, Linguistics, Library and Information Science, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Journalism, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History US, Jewish Studies, French Literature and Language, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature
Provides access to editorially selected critical responses of authors, works, and topics from every age and literary discipline. Includes over 200,000 reprinted critical essays, arranged chronologically within each entry to provide a “history” of the critical reception of a work. Literature Criticism is the online version of Gale’s literature criticism print sets:Expand
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
- Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
- Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
- Literature Criticism, 1400-1800
- Shakespeare Literature Criticism
- Classical & Medieval Criticism
- Poetry Criticism
- Drama Criticism
- Short Story Criticism
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History US, History World
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources.Expand
Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, Reference Sources, Spanish
Literature Online Reference Edition is a collection of literary reference and criticism resources, including biographies, author bibliographies, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), essays from New Essays on the American Novel, and full-text articles from 103 literature journals.Expand
Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes articles from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and much more.Expand
Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Spanish, Biographies
London Lowlife is a database of materials focusing on street life in Victorian London. The collection includes fast literature, posters, advertising, playbills, ballads, broadsides, penny fiction, cartoons, chapbooks, street cries, Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens as well as tourist guides, maps and the manuscripts of George Gissing.Expand
There is also a complete collection of Tallis’ Street Views of London.Walk in users: OK
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music
The Medieval Family Life database contains the only 5 major letter collections from fifteenth century England, the Paston, Stonor, Cely, Plumpton and Armburgh Papers.Expand
The Paston letters document the life of a gentry family during the War of the Roses. The Celys were a merchant family in the wool trade and collections contains commercial dealings for both the economic and social historians. Plumptons documents continue through to the early 16th century, and Armburgh family material is primarily concerned with a dispute over a family inheritance. It includes both the original medieval manuscripts and transcripts, as well as family trees, a chronology, a glossary, a and an interactive map.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World
Designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature, History World
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.ExpandEBSCOhost version
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a full-text database of primary sources from the 19th Century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.Expand
- Emory Libraries has access to four collections in this database:
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
- British Politics and Society
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music, Theater Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Nineteenth-Century Fiction represents the landmarks of the period, portraying the genre in all its energy and variety, from Gothic horror to social satire, from moral earnestness to aestheticism, from masculine adventure to feminist polemic.Expand
Nineteenth-Century Fiction also contains examples of other genres or sub-genres such as the 'Silver Fork' school, historical fiction, the 'novel of ideas', children's stories and the 'New Woman' novel. In addition to the better-known novels, the collection covers many neglected or little-known works, most of them out of print or difficult to find.
Subjects: English and American Literature