- Your selections:
- History, World
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 51 - 75 of 125
When complete, this database will provide access to more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Coverage will include Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.Expand
In progress, content will continue to be added until digitization is complete.Walk-in users: OK; Unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Ethnic Studies, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, News Sources
Explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. Includes 1,150 articles written by eminent scholars covering major topics in art, government, and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period.Expand
Also covers topics specific to the era, such as apocalypticism, guilds, food riots, royal mistresses and lovers, the Spanish Inquisition, Utopia and others.
Subjects: History World
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.Expand
Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996.
Subjects: Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, LGBT Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
A collection of primary source documents focusing on personal experience during the Great War. The collection includes diaries, journals, letters, trench literature, postcards, scrapbooks, albums, photographs, art, ephemera, sheet music, cartoons, propaganda and maps.Expandwalk-in users: OK
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) are full-text Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government from 1941-1996. The Daily Reports include translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.Expand
They focus on political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Currently, Emory has access to the following full-text collections only: Middle East & Africa, Middle East & North Africa, Near East & South Asia Africa (Sub-Sahara), South Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa Eastern Europe, East Europe Soviet Union, and Central Eurasia. For access to other collections, use the index to the microfiche collection: http://libcat1.cc.emory.edu:32888/db=fbis
Subjects: Economics, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science
The Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980, is a digitized collection of the British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, specifically, the complete FO 371 and FCO 21 files from The National Archives, Kew.Expand
The files include, among other things, eye-witness accounts and detailed reports on life in China, in depth analysis of the Communist Revolution and all the major figures, and material on the Korean War, the Cold War, US relations and the Cultural Revolution.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History World
Primary source material from the British National Archive. Subjects include Independence movements of India and Pakistan, Partition, Kashmir, Nehru, Independence for Bangladesh, Emergency Rule, Cold War in Afghanistan, and Return of Civilian Rule in Pakistan.Expand
Original formats include diplomatic dispatches, inward and outward telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, accounts of visits and tours, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, letters, leaflets and other ephemera.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies
A collection of online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.Expand
Subjects: Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Education, Government Information, Grants and Funding, History US, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources
The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages. This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works.Expand
The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages.
This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Womens and Gender Studies
The Global Commodities database provides primary source materials arranged around fifteen major trade goods from world history such as chocolate, coffee, cotton, and opium.Expand
Each commodity is documented through a wide range of manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, objects and rare books so that the scholar can explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed. The project touches on themes of exploration and discovery; imperialism and colonialism; trade wars; translocation and economic geography; slavery; taste; and the evolution of global branding. The resource complements and integrates with the Empire Online database.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases
Goldsmiths'-Kress (SEE Making of the Modern World) For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science
The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century (1701-1800). This database contains primary source letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps that illustrate the everyday issues of transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex, as well as European political and religious life.Expand
The architecture, street life and urban planning of cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva are highlighted.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World
A selective bibliography on Latin America. Indexes journals, books and book chapters, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Comparative Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish
Includes information about Latin Americans in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.Expand
Topics include politics and government, business, economic development and policy issues, gender studies, environmental issues, history, anthropology, religion, art, literature, drama, and film. HAPI indexes journals about Latin America that are written in the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian.
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies
The Times of India was founded in 1838 to serve the British residents of West India. It is now the highest circulating English language newspaper in the world, and it now serves to represent the citizens of India.Expand
This historical database includes the Times’ full coverage of the British Raj, Independence, and Partition. An additional year of content will be added to this database annually.
Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, South Asian Studies
Provides the capability to search, browse, and retrieve full text of articles from recent years of core history journals, including American
Historical Review, Journal of American History, and William and Mary Quarterly.Expand
Also includes web links and digitized primary sources of interest to historians. The History Cooperative is a nonprofit collaborative venture of the American Historical Association, Organization of American Historians, and other preeminent historical organizations.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology and medicine, allied historical fields.Expand
Integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, The Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Subjects: Classics, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Medicine, Science and Technology
History Reference Center is a full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.Expand
The database features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, as well as full text for more than 120 history periodicals. Further, the database contains 59,640 historical documents; more than 50,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Subjects: History World
Full-text digital copies of British Parliamentary publications including Hansard, official parliamentary debates, and the British sessional papers, the working papers of government.Expand
Extremely important primary sources for British, European, U.S. and world history.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Economics, Education, Government Information, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, Political Science
Includes three separate HW Wilson databases:
- Humanities Abstracts: a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, 1907 - 1984
- Social Sciences Abstracts: A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.Expand
Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.CSA
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, History World, Political Science, Religion
Manuscript Collections from the National Library of Scotland documenting this history from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947.Expand
Sources range from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras. There are original Indian manuscripts containing histories and literary works, as well as accounts of wars, discussions of Indian Nationalism and papers of tea and coffee planters.
Subjects: Area Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion, South Asian Studies
International Historical Statistics provides access to 490 tables, covering data on 211 countries and territories collected between 1750-2010. Includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania.Expand
Within each region are chapters on population and vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport & communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Each section has a full description of the sources used to compile the statistics; all statistical tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files with the ability to remove sections and merge tables.
Subjects: Area Studies, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Multidisciplinary Databases, Statistics and Demography
The Arts and Humanities service of Intute offers an easy-to-use and powerful tool for discovering the best Internet resources for education and research in Creative Arts and Humanities.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, History World