Database Results for Your Selections

Results 51 - 75 of 100

  1. JSTOR

    JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.

    JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  2. King James Bible

    The King James or 'Authorized' edition of the Bible (1611) was the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries, drawing heavily on previous editions and providing the principal influence for many subsequent versions.

    The text is given in full, with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables included.

    • Coverage: 1611

    Subjects: English and American Literature, Religion

    Expand
  3. Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)

    Based on materials from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods, LEME is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript.

    The texts of word entries tell us what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period covered by the Short-title and Wing catalogues. Their lexical insights shaped the history of our living tongue. LEME is not a period dictionary, but a source of contemporary testimony that illustrates word usage. LEME is able to utilize many sources that the Oxford English Dictionary, which covers 1500 years, could not include as a result of its necessary selection of the lexical evidence.

    • Coverage: c 1450 - c 1700

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  4. Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA)

    The Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA) is the online version of the print Lexikon des Mittelalters, the standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies, published between 1977-1999.

    It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. This database also includes the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages-Online (IEMA), a supplement to the Lexikon.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE

    Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Jewish Studies, Religion

    Expand
  5. LGBT Life

    LGBT Life with full-text provides indexing and abstractsa for more than 400 magazines, journals, books and news sources, and also provides coverage for gray literature such as case studies and speeches.

    Additionally, LGBT Life includes full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database now offers a comprehensive LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms, along with searchable cited references.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: LGBT Studies, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  6. Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT)

    This database is comprised of Latin texts with translations in English, French, German, and Italian, chiefly from these corpora: Corpus Christianorum. Series Latina; Corpus Christianorum.

    Continuatio Medievalis; Corpus Christianorum ecclesiasticorum Latinorum; Patrologiae cursus completus. Series Latina; Patrologiae Latinae supplementum; Sources chrtiennes; S. Bernardi opera omnia; and: Biblia sacra juxta vulgatam versionem

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Classical Antiquity (before 200 C.E./A.D.), Patristic Latin literature (200 to 735), Middle Ages (736 - 1500) and Neo-Latin Literature (1501 - 1962)

    Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Religion

    Expand
  7. Luther's Works in English (Intelex Past Masters)

    The 55-volume set of Martin Luther's Works, a monumental translation project published jointly by Fortress Press and Concordia Publishing House in 1957, is singular in its value to church historians, Luther scholars, and Christians.

    This truly exquisite offering will put the entire Luther corpus at the command of a few keystrokes and provide the reader with a Luther resource unrivaled in accessibility and convenience. Luther's Works in digital format is indispensable for studies of Luther and invaluable to theologians.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1483-1546

    Subjects: Religion, Area Studies, Biographies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World

    Expand
  8. Luthers Werke

    Martin Luther (1483-1546) is one of the central figures in the development of European cultural and intellectual history. This is as a result of not only his theological influence but also his contribution to the development of New High German.

    The complete Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke is an essential tool for theological, historical, philosophical, linguistic and literary research.

    The complete collection of Luther's writings is one of the largest editions of any individual author ever to have been created. This monumental work, of which the first volume was published in 1883, consists over 117 quarto volumes and is now published in full. The Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke provides an indispensable historical-critical tool for theologians, historians, linguists and literary critics carrying out research into Luther's life and work.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, Religion

    Expand
  9. Medieval Travel Writing

    This database presents manuscripts of European travel writing dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries culled from libraries around the world. It covers geography, exploration, trade, literature, and the new field of medieval postcolonial studies.

    The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East, Asia as well as travel to the Holy Land. The original documents are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English, so supporting secondary texts of translations and editions are included. There is also a gallery of maps and images, a bibliography and chronology, and a slideshow.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1200-1500

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Religion

    Expand
  10. MinistryMatters.com

    MinistryMatters.com is an online resource for church leaders produced by the United Methodist Publishing House. Some articles and videos are freely available; subscribed content includes Bible commentaries, the Outler bicentennial edition of the Works of Wesley, and reference sources including the Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling, the New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible, and resources for preaching and worship.

    Up to 10 users can use the resource simultaneously.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Religion

    Expand
  11. New Testament Abstracts

    An indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 33,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 12,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.

    Each year an additional 2,150 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, nearly 850 current books are also summarized annually.

    Subjects: Religion

    Expand
  12. Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest

    Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy to support research in this interdisciplinary area of study of Europe and Africa.

    Additionally, this collection includes the features that scholars require -- such as detailed subject indexing and metadata, textual analysis tools, personalized user accounts, and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 19th Century

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion

    Expand
  13. Old Testament Abstracts

    This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered.

    All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.

    • Coverage: 1978 - present

    Subjects: Religion

    Expand
  14. Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB)

    Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) is an online version and continuation of the Annual Egyptological (AEB), published in print 1947-2001, as well as Christine Beinlich-Seebers Bibliographie Altagypten 1822-1946.

    OEB uses the Trlit CG Times font for the display of Egyptian Transliteration characters, and recommends the Mozilla Firefox web browser for the correct display of the phonetic Unicode characters. Microsoft Internet Explorer may not display all of the characters correctly.

    • Coverage: 1822-present

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, Dissertations and Theses, History World, Religion

    Expand
  15. Oxford Biblical Studies Online

    This is a comprehensive source for the study of the Bible, biblical history, and the reception history of the Bible. The site combines scholarly texts and reference works with critical tools for Biblical study.

    Popular resources on this site include the full text of the New Oxford Annotated Bible, concordances for the NRSV and NAB translations, the Oxford Bible Commentary, the Oxford Companion to the Bible, several of the Oxford Encyclopedias, the Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible, the Oxford Bible Atlas, and many more resources from Oxford University Press.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Classics, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  16. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Buddhism

    Guide to scholarly literature in the field, subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

    Users can search across other OBO bibliographies, either through articles and citations or just through citations.

    • Coverage: All

    Subjects: Area Studies, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion

    Expand
  17. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Hinduism

    Guide to scholarly literature in the field, subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

    Users can search across other OBO bibliographies, either through articles and citations or just through citations.

    • Coverage: All

    Subjects: Area Studies, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion

    Expand
  18. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Islamic Studies

    Guide to scholarly literature in the field, subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

    Subjects: Religion

    Expand
  19. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Renaissance and Reformation

    The Renaissance and Reformation module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in Renaissance and Reformation studies.

    It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.

    Walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1300 - 1699

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Music, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies

    Expand
  20. Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies

    A guide to scholarly literature in the field, covering major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources. Articles are written by established scholars.

    Users can also search across other OBO bibliographies.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History Ancient -400, Jewish Studies, Religion

    Expand
  21. Oxford Handbooks Online

    Oxford Handbooks Online provides access to electronic editions of Oxford Handbooks for various subjects in literature, philosophy and political science. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

    The handbooks as a whole offer authoritative and trustworthy guides to the scholarship that defines their respective fields.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Business, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Psychology, Reference Sources

    Expand
  22. Oxford Islamic Studies Online

    Provides online access to more than 3,000 articles and electronic resources in English on the Islamic world, includes more than 150 primary source documents with editorial instructions, and has a glossary of Islamic terms.

    Also includes two interpretations and one concordance of the Koran.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 570-2007

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biographies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion

    Expand
  23. Oxford Reference Online

    This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

    Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology

    Expand
  24. Past Masters

    Full-text electronic editions of classic western philosophical, theological and literary authors, from ancient times to the early twentieth century and including personal writings as well as major works.

    All texts available in English translation. Some texts also available in Latin, French, or German.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  25. Patrologiae Graecae

    The Patrologiae Graecae is a collection of the Greek writings from the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. The Patrologiae Graecae Database contains over 160 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Graecae (1857-1866).

    The collection includes both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Religion

    Expand